We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and efficient with friendly staff”
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Herbert Hotel
Ranked #78 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and efficient with friendly staff”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Location is everything.. that and a meticulously clean (yet very small) room. I did, however miss having any drawer space whatsoever. The closet really could have some shelving for clothes- that would go along way for staying more than a few days. All in all, not a bad experience.. but bring your own pillows.

Room Tip: Stay on the inside room away from Powell St. and the Cable Cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wired7234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    543
    280
    90
    54
See reviews for
192
543
149
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our experiance there was very desappointed, no clean towels no plece were to seat, no tables were to put your things down ,we had to seated on the floor to have a cup of coffe that we purchase from Starbucks ...Do Not Go There Ever!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank calmet1l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParamountManagment, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Cleanliness is one of the main points of our property. All of our towels and linens are brand new and cleaned by a professional process inspected by a third party. Our rooms are simple. In our larger rooms we do have a place to sit but it the room is smaller we did decide not to clutter the room, other than the bed, to keep the room comfortable and roomy. The entire building was remodeled in 2006 and we are constantly making upgrades, so although the building was built around 1908, there is no evidence of this once you enter the property. We are always displeased when hearing that someone did not have a good stay and hope that we are given another change to improve the experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

One of the best for value hotel I have stayed in. The location was Union Square and subway was only 200m down the road. Bed was very comfortable though the toilet was a little old. Nevertheless it was kept very clean. Would definitely recommend for those travelling to SF.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I visit San Francisco once a year and I'm not any longer shopping around for accommodation: my first choice is the Herbert Hotel which is located near Union Square -- right in the middle San Francisco. It's not a fancy hotel but provides the basic needs for any business traveler seeking value. It's a real steal for two couples or two business men traveling together and that are OK with sharing a bath room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar19531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

As title suggests, this hotels location can not be beat. One block from Union Square, cable car outside the front door and other transport an easy walk away. The rooms are adequate. We had a room with a private bathroom. It is an older hotel but still remarkably quiet given its location. Some front desk staff were very helpful some were not. Good value for money in the middle of SF.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

this hotel is in a great location with friendly staff that are more than happy to help , the place is clean and safe in a great location there is a cpl of local residents that live in building they are charictors if you get the chance to say hello do so i ended up talking with them in common room for a cpl of hours , lots of great places to eat etc , next door there is a 50s style dinner has great food ..enjoy this place its great for a cpl of days stay

Room Tip: try to stay of powell st if you want a good nights rest , cable cars and buskers can become noisey..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose San Francisco as our first overseas trip together. We were on a tight budget so were very pleased to find The Herbert Hotel so central in the city at such a good price.

We opted for a shared bathroom to cut costs and practically had it to ourselves for the whole week because everyone else had obviously chosen to have their own. The toilet and shower were both very clean during our entire stay.

The building needed some minor maintenance (eg. Toilet door handle loose, patches on wall that needed plastering & paint), but again—not a major issue for the price.

I don't understand why people who have previously reviewed have such an issue with the receptionists. We found all of them to be absolutely lovely. On our final day, our flight wasn't until late at night so they let us leave our bags in a locked cupboard at reception until 3pm which was super handy.

The room was really well done and very clean. We could hear the people in the adjoining bathroom (locked on our side) having showers etc, but it didn't bother us too much.

The elevator was pretty scary. By the end of our stay we were taking the stairs, which was probably a good thing to burn off all the bagels we ate!

The major issue for us was the wifi. When travelling these days, wifi is a must. We had to go down to the shared lounge everytime we wanted to use the Internet, which wasn't ideal. Herbert Hotel: Pretty please extend your wifi to all floors!

Thank you for making our stay in San Francisco one of the best trips we've ever been on. We'll be back :)

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#98 of 228 in San Francisco
2,307 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#103 of 228 in San Francisco
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#82 of 228 in San Francisco
1,431 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,867 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Property: The Herbert Hotel
Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2291
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Herbert Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing