We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“OK - great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Herbert Hotel
Ranked #81 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK - great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is located in an excellent location - it was right in Union Square, located next to a BART terminal for transportation to and from the SF airport. I would definitely recommend getting a MUNI pass - my husband and I were in SF for 5 days and this pass gives you unlimited access to the cable cars, buses and street cars for a total of 7 days - it's $27/person - no need to rent a car. We used the pass for transportation to Candlestick Park (take the 79x bus), Fisherman's Warf, Haight/Ashbury district, etc. As far as the Herbert Hotel goes - it was very basic. We stayed in room 602, and there was a bed, bathroom, one chair and a wardrobe (no dresser/drawers). The maid service made the bed daily and left new towels (2) - that was it. The bathroom was not cleaned, nor were the sheets changed during our stay. There was a drink vending machine on the second floor, but no ice machine. There was a coffee maker in the room, but we had to request actual coffee/cups. The bed was comfortable, which was all that really mattered to us, since we were only in the hotel to sleep. Overall, I'd say the Herbert definitely served the purpose for the money that we paid. We had a great time - the 49ers tied the Rams, but at least we didn't lose :) I would stay here again as long as I could get the same cheap rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    484
    251
    83
    51
See reviews for
171
484
129
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm not usually one to complain, however our stay at the Herbert Hotel in San Francisco went from bad to worse... Upon arrival we were checked in and given keys someone else's room... Simple mistake, however slightly alarming... The room was small, but not a major issue as we weren't planning on really spending much time there. Once settled went downstairs to be greeted by a different receptionist and asked if we could be given a second set of keys. No checking of identification just, "what room number are you in?" and just handed them over...once again level of security was alarming.

We arranged for shared bathroom, however a little surprised that there was only 1 shower and 1 toilet shared across a whole floor (the shower smelt as if someone had been using it as a toilet)... not ideal...

We were hit with the fire alarms going off, not once, but twice throughout the evening which was extremely frustrating (both occasions advised that it was a false alarm). Wifi Access only available on the 2nd floor (which was not worth using as it was constantly glitching) however there was a cable in the room to plug in (which didn't work).

Room was stuffy uncomfortable at night and the beds rather uncomfortable. The only real benefit was the great location. After the 2nd night we moved to a hostel around the corner for half the price and much better atmosphere. Wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParamountManagment, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We are very sorry to hear about your arrival at the Herbert Hotel. This is definitely not our typical experience. First of all, although you state that it was a small mistake to hand out the keys to the incorrect room, we take this very seriously and this should not have occurred. Second, the front desk should check your ID when they are giving you a 2nd set of keys. Not an excuse but we are going through some training our new Front Desk agents and this will be addressed.

As for the 1 shower and 1 bathroom per floor, this is correct but the majority of rooms on the each floor have a private bath so it is about 6 rooms using the shared bathroom and shower. We have not had issues with our supply of shared showers and bathrooms. We clean all of these twice a day.

We do not advertise our Wifi access as it is not consistent, we are getting new Wifi for 2013 in the first quarter. The wired access in the rooms has had no reported issues and we check the lines as soon as there is any evidence of bad service.

We have updated all of our beds in the last year and pay extra attention to the quality our beds and linen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I drove right past it on the way in, but when I found it I was pleasantly surprised. I had a room with a private bath which was clean and had everything I needed. Location is right on Union Square!! A friend recommended the Herbert to me and I am pleased he did. Great little hotel that really does have a great location...especially for the price!

Room Tip: Private bath is nice, but better value if you opt to share
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was unsure if the reality of this place would be as good as the photos but I was pleased with what I found. Nice clean hotel, very central, friendly staff.

The cable cars run right past the door and the Muni and BART are just a few yards away!

I would happily stay here again!

Room Tip: Best book the en-suit rooms. They are not much more if you book well in advance and much nicer than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexguy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

central location, simple equipment, shared bath, but clean.
The employees Anastasia and Alena were very nice, friendly and helpful !!!
Anastsia told me about points of interest, brought a coffee machine and answered all my questions. I especially want to note her patience and competence.
Thank you very much!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bereska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great price, Great room, Great experince. Was in town for one night on business and stayed in a private bath room. The room was clean, comfortable, and perfect for my quick turn around trip. My dinner meeting was with in walking distance and it was a great way to enjoy the sites and sounds of the city. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry5207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

as stated about, my stay was without incident - the room was comfortable, clean, quite, and pleasant. The location was prime and everyone that i had contact with was professional and personable. I would go back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 612Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,909 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#39 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#106 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Property: The Herbert Hotel
Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2291
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Herbert Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing