We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unprofessional”
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Herbert Hotel
Ranked #81 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I recently stayed at the Herbert Hotel and must say it is the only Hotel I have ever stayed at where I had to pay first before I had even seen the room, I envisioned the room I had booked and had confirmation on however apparently that room was not available and we were given a room with no bathroom. We spoke to another couple whom were checking in the next day and the same issues were had by them, I expect that the hotel takes your booking but does not reserve a room and then when you get there you get what is available and you have to pay for it upfront. Very incompetent staff and service was less than average.- Never again

Room Tip: Don't pay till you see which room they have appointed as it is quite likely not what you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We were surprised that so many people seem to have moaned about this hotel. It was offering a no frills but high value service in a great location. I say no frills, but the bed and down duvet were great, the en suite clean, (some rooms don't have this, but we checked),the rooms are left spotless each day. Right in the middle of the city it is always noisy, but it had great double glazing. there was a coffee machine a good chest of drawers and a comfy chair. Also free wifi. There was even an iron and ironing board. If you want 4 or 5 star facilities, then be prepared to pay for them. Go across the road to Tad's for a value breakfast too!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Considering the places I've stayed at in San Francisco, the Herbert Hotel tops them with location near the Powell BART station and proximity to Union Square. It was my 2nd time running the NIKE Women's half marathon this past weekend and I needed a place to shut my eyes. It's not the swankiest joint but it fit my needs.

Our room, 515, was on the fifth floor facing O'Farrell. You could see the Macy's billboard across the way. There was very little street noise but I could still hear the trash trucks in the wee hours of the morning. Thank goodness we didn't see any homeless people in the alleyway this time around. The room was clean but wasn't ready when we checked in after 3 pm. They were really understanding about the race and let us check out late. I'm not sure if we were charged for the late check-out but we were charged taxes and fees on top of our Booking.com reserved rate. I'm not sure if this is normal for Booking.com reservations. I really liked that our room had an en-suite bathroom as well as another bathroom and shower down the hall for our use if needed. There is a rec room on the 2nd floor with microwave and free wifi. All of the rooms have WIRED wifi so you don't need to worry about internet access. They have cables in the room so you don't need to bring your own. The only thing I can think of that I'd want in the Herbert is a mini fridge. Otherwise, the staff was friendly and I felt safe leaving my belongings in the luggage storage area. Thanks for a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for 5th floor or above for quieter rooms. Ask for an ensuite bathroom at booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were astounded at the terrible service and dishonesty of the staff at the Herbert Hotel 161 Powell Street Union Square, We booked the hotel direct on their website 5 months prior to arrival, called twice to confirm and was told all was fine. After travelling thousands of miles from NZ, Australia and Hawaii we finally arrive at the Herbert to be told by staff that we were not booked in, then the story changed to "very sorry but your room is broken" then after a while we are told there is a room available with shared bathroom and we can have a $20 discount, what a dump the room was a grubby little hovel with plaster marks on the walls and nothing but a bed, shared ammenities there is only one toilet not even a his and hers, shower was small and dirty ... We were eventually given a better room however it was nothing like the photo's on their website of which we made our booking. We were then over charged $65 more than the agreed confirmed booking amount per night, the staff member whom had on the supervisor badge said that she would speak to the manager and advise how much we would have to pay and that the man at the desk the night before did not actually work there and nor did the woman that was behind the counter at lunch time...why these people are behind the counter if they dont work there is beyond me! Our family also booked in and had the same issue their room also was broken and not avail, they were put in a little room with $20 discount and when I tried to locate them the supervisor first told me they hadnt arrived then said they had checked out then said they had gone to airport, we were beside ourselves couldn't find them in a big city so far from home. All the while they were in the grotty room upstairs but these staff are so incomptent they have no idea who is in the hotel, there was a huge oricle convention in town and we are sure they double booked our rooms as San Fran was having a busy weekend with Fleet week the 49's and oricle...while we were out the Hotel disabled our access card packed our family's luggage and phoned police to say we hadn't paid, rubbish we had paid actually overpaid and were awaiting confirmation of correct price, they had put more people in our room as they had no doubt figured that they could charge a lot more due to demand because of shortage of accomodation"...... you don't want to be in a strange town with your luggage and no where to stay for the night and it is dark out but that is exactly what the staff at the Herbert did to us and due to this our holiday was ruined ...they are dishonest, incompetent and quite frankly a disaster to your tourism industry

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
4  Thank katrinaandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKB3, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

At check in the guest had decided that they were going to only stay at the Herbert for one night. And so our front desk in turn charged them for one night. Every day after that they left the hotel and left their items in the room. After several days of the front desk informing them that they had to pay for the room or check out, they were checked out of the hotel by the front desk. We gave them multiple opportunities to pay for the extra nights in which they had informed us they would not be staying. After all this they still did not pay for those nights they ended up staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone, although never got to see the rooms. When we arrived they told us the hotel was entirely booked and booking.com had made a mistake but refused to call booking.com to clear it up (surprise, surprise, it wasnt booking.com's fault, they had overbooked and were just trying to blame them, took us several days to clear that up though!). The girl at the front desk (alina) was incredibly rude. She sent us to another "sister" lower standard hotel without so much as an apology and telling us she was doing us a huge favor because city was entirely booked and we would have slept on the street otherwise. It took us less than ten minutes to find a cheaper amazing room on priceline.com at the Parc 55 Wyndham, which is very close by and much nicer. Location is excellent, but there are many more hotels which much nicer and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The location is perfect but we booked standart double room with shared bathroom and they gave us twin room with 2 single bed which is cheaper then we pay out, told us they will pay refund and they did not!!! Unfriendly and staff. Room was very noisy and tiny even no space for luggages. Carpeting at all the hotel and room smells terrible, mostly no paper in shared bathrooms. There is only one shared batroom for each floor. It means 6 room using the same bathroom at the floor. Herbert Hotel was the worst hotel I've ever seen, never again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoMa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKB3, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

I am so sorry to hear about the difficulties during your check in with the Herbert Hotel. We try to make it very clear at the time of booking which room type you are booking. Most of our rooms have private bathrooms in them and Queen size beds. But we do sell a few rooms which utilize a hallway bath. This is mentioned at the time of booking. We have about Four rooms that share one hallway bath per floor. This has not been an issue so far but in the worse case scenario you would be able to use the hallway bathrooms on the other 6 floors. We are centralized in the middle of San Francisco and because of our ideal location there is a lot of activity which can be noisy. All of our windows are double thickness but we are making efforts to find ways to make the rooms more sound proof.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Its perfect location. Nothing fancy but walking distance from bart and trolley. Three blocks from the "TENDERLION" few blocks from "CHINATOWN" right across from Macys. Very noisy lot going on. But great location.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank losdiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 231 in San Francisco
780 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#119 of 231 in San Francisco
826 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#74 of 231 in San Francisco
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#89 of 231 in San Francisco
1,925 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#23 of 231 in San Francisco
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2291
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $130 - $1,205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Herbert Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing