We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I've ever seen!!!”
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Herbert Hotel
Ranked #78 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The worst hotel I've ever seen!!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The location is perfect but we booked standart double room with shared bathroom and they gave us twin room with 2 single bed which is cheaper then we pay out, told us they will pay refund and they did not!!! Unfriendly and staff. Room was very noisy and tiny even no space for luggages. Carpeting at all the hotel and room smells terrible, mostly no paper in shared bathrooms. There is only one shared batroom for each floor. It means 6 room using the same bathroom at the floor. Herbert Hotel was the worst hotel I've ever seen, never again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoMa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKB3, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I am so sorry to hear about the difficulties during your check in with the Herbert Hotel. We try to make it very clear at the time of booking which room type you are booking. Most of our rooms have private bathrooms in them and Queen size beds. But we do sell a few rooms which utilize a hallway bath. This is mentioned at the time of booking. We have about Four rooms that share one hallway bath per floor. This has not been an issue so far but in the worse case scenario you would be able to use the hallway bathrooms on the other 6 floors. We are centralized in the middle of San Francisco and because of our ideal location there is a lot of activity which can be noisy. All of our windows are double thickness but we are making efforts to find ways to make the rooms more sound proof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    552
    288
    94
    54
See reviews for
200
559
152
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Its perfect location. Nothing fancy but walking distance from bart and trolley. Three blocks from the "TENDERLION" few blocks from "CHINATOWN" right across from Macys. Very noisy lot going on. But great location.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank losdiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The location is Perfect, But If you want a good night sleep it's not the place.You think that your window is open but it's closed, No Wifi. Cable Car right in front of your hotel. Your in walking distance of everything. The staff is not super Friendly. Everything is so close, Restaurants, shopping Center, The Giants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justdoit_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place have a very good location with shopping all around. Breakfast shops and cafe lined for you choices and there is a walgreen juz besides it. The room are comfortable though a little bit to the small side. The only down side is the wifi is not working really well in the room..in fact its not working..but gg out to the life lobby or hotel lobby will be good. Staff are friendly too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seira0328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Maybe this just isn't my type of hotel...

We arrived after making reservations for a Junior Suite. We were told that they actually had none available even though we had booked one 6 months prior to staying there. The problem had something to do with their online reservations system they said... It was strange since I booked DIRECTLY with them. The lady at the desk (whose name badge said manager) was not really concerned. She apologized (rather insincerely) and said she had a smaller room she could put us in. We felt as though we had little choice so we took the room.

The smaller room was at least $40 per night cheaper when we originally booked the junior suite but all she was willing to do was discount the room a whopping $15 per night since "I reserved the junior suite during a sale period". I was tired of arguing so I just took the room, but the right thing to do would have been to honor the SALE price for the smaller room.

So we tried to get over the check in mess and just enjoy the fact we were in SF and the weather as great! We wanted to try and book a semi-private tour to see Muir Woods and so we tried the front desk again. Again, this was a mistake. They had no idea what a
"semi-private tour" meant and when they called a company for us the lady actually was very sarcastic about our request. (Semi-private tour means you only go on the tour with 4-8 other people instead of loading into a huge bus full of people - more personalized, but not as expensive as a private tour. So the bottom line. Customer service at this place needed a lot of help.

The room was clean and comfortable but it got hot at night and the only way to cool it down was open the window. We did not face the street directly but it was really loud. We did not sleep well at all here and I'm a pretty heavy sleeper.

The area of town was definitely easily accessible but I, personally, would not stay near Union Square area again. If you are in San Francisco for shopping at chain stores, this is your place! There is Macy, H&M and 100 other stores that you will see in any big city. When I travel I prefer local neighborhood areas with local restaurants and bars. I think Nob Hill / North Beach or even Chinatown would be better suited for us.

Room Tip: Room 704 - This was a nice sized room on the top floor that got hot in the evening. the only way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegrizzatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Overall the hotel is excellent. We stayed in a private room (there is also a hostel). The rooms al so clean! Unfortunately the wifi didnt work. I can recommended this place to everyone who want to explore SFO. Union square is 1 block ahead and so is the cable tram station !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend in 2 separate stays (either side of a camping trip to Yosemite) August/September and my first thought was 'so easy to get to'. Desperate for a quick afternoon sleep after an early flight over we were horrified to hear the surprisingly loud street noises which went on pretty much 24/7 and kept me grouchy and sleepless for the first 3 nights we were there. Not that I expect a quiet stay in downtown San Francisco but it wouldn't hurt to invest in some windows that attempted to block the sound out. Needless to say the room was at the front of the hotel so I'd request that you don't stay there if I were you. If you do stay at the front, be prepared for loud noise all night and no chance of a lie in (homeless man drumming outside isn't that talented in case you wondered).

Our 2nd stay however was TOTALLY different. It was at the back of the hotel, pretty much quiet the whole night and we slept well. The room was about twice the size too (we had 2 double beds instead of 1) and the ensuite was definitely bigger with a more powerful shower.

Wi fi didn't work on the 5th floor but did work on the 6th. Not the end of the world really - loads of places in San Fran have free wi fi if you need to log on.

2 or 3 of the hotel staff were really unfriendly which was unfortunate as it didn't feel like many of them would be very accommodating if we had any requests. On 2nd thoughts this may have been because it seemed to double up as a student residence and therefore they probably saw people so regularly it would drive them crazy smiling all the time. Saying that the guy that worked over night was really helpful in getting us to our tour bus for Yosemite at 6am so it evened out a little.

2 very different stays but I was mainly frustrated because of the noise at the front of the hotel in the first stay and slept terribly.. 2nd stay was probably 4 stars.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
2,333 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,231 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#99 of 229 in San Francisco
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 229 in San Francisco
3,958 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#97 of 229 in San Francisco
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Property: The Herbert Hotel
Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2291
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Herbert Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing