We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Herbert Hotel
Ranked #78 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Poor service at reception. Room (size, decor, amenities) certainly NOT as advertised. Should be classified as a motel. No WiFi service beyond 2nd floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docomo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParamountManagment, General Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
I am so sorry that you did not have a good stay with us. Service is definitely something one of our top priorities. All of our rooms have been newly renovated and although we do keep our rooms simple we make sure that we have a good quality and fresh and clean environment for our guests. All of the pictures on our website reflect what our rooms look like. There are two styles presently; one which is more colorful and the other which is a combination of grays, wood tones and white. All of this is shown on our website. There is only wifi on the 2nd floor but each room has wired high speed internet available in to all guests at no extra charge. We are not a motel as we have a 24 hour front desk but we are an economy hotel with a centrally located theme. Clean and simple with an excellent location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    552
    287
    94
    54
See reviews for
199
557
152
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Room 717 was clean, tidy, and comfortable. For $100 per night (plus tax) for a queen-sized bed and private bathroom, this was fantastic value. The location is excellent - close to Union Square and Market St (and easy walking distance or near public transport for anywhere else). The bed was comfortable, the room had a coffee maker, and the woman at the front desk in the afternoon was friendly and helpful, and went out of her way to assist us. We found the room very quiet with the window closed - the Hyatt, and other 'big box' hotels I've stayed at, can't compete with the Herbert in terms of value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I love this hotel! The location is unbeatable, the rooms are adorable, and the price is very reasonable.

Considering how inexpensive the hotel is, I initially thought the place would be a dump, but each room comes equipped with wifi, flat-screen tv, fridge, coffee maker, chic writing desk, books and colorful vases that match the bedspreads/the exposed brick wall. It's so quintessentially SF that it adds to the SF experience. It's also endearing to be able to stick your head out a window and take in the downtown view/people-watch.

The service is very, very bare bones, so I would hesitate to recommend the hotel to first-time SF tourists. There is no concierge who will help you plan out your trip, let alone a doorman to assist you. But if you know your way around SF and you're traveling light, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmelines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

S.F. was our first stop on our road-trip from San Francisco to San Diego.

We were visiting SF for three days so I was looking for a hotel which was conveniently located, and reasonably priced, and the Herbert Hotel fitted the bill. Other pluses I found during my stay were cleanliness and friendly staff.

Our accomodation was on the Powell Street side on the 7th floor. I think the room had recently been remodernised and it reminded me of a “ boutique style “ decor, with the open brick- work wall and a huge plasma TV hanging on the wall. The bathroom also seemed to have been recently remodeled.

The only small issue I had about the room, notwithstanding it was on the 7th floor and that the windows were double glazed, was the outside noise. Powell Street is quite lively until late in the night and early in the morning the trams start rolling. On balance though if you don’t mind a bit of noise this is not such a big problem because being on the top floor you get a great view of the city.

I would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darwin1859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Room and the hotel is perfectly located. Clean and bright, it has been splendid. The people... Everything, except internet difficult on the top floors but that's nothing. It is definitely a Good Value.
Cole & Jeremie

Room Tip: The 700 is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremie2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 8 nights recently and for the price we were very impressed.

We had a front facing room overlooking Powell street which included a private bathroom. The room was spacious, clean with a large walk in wardrobe.

The hotel is in a great location, the Powell tram stop is a short walk away as is the underground stop as well so you can get around san fran from quite easily from here.

The problems I thought could be improved are:

More WIFI access points
Air con units in front facing rooms ( with the windows open the street cleaners wake you up every morning at 4am!)
Add a fridge to the room for a bit of luxury, everyone likes cold water or a cheeky beer ;-)

Overall - great value hotel with a few little problems but not bad enough to put me off staying here again. Room was a little basic but for the money this is to be expected.

Herbert - please look into the suggestions :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_H1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had a lovely cosy room. It was clean and everything you really need in a room - clean towels provided everyday, tea/coffee-making facilities, television, telephone. Only small niggle would be not having enough clothes hangers (we only had 5 hangers between us!)

Front-desk reception staff worked in a professional manner and were generally friendly and helpful. One member of staff in particular, Gaby Gonzalez was very helpful and went that 'extra mile' with fantastic customer care and service.

Fantastic location right in the centre of lots of shops (Macy's, Nordstrom, Westfield Shopping Center, Bloomingdales) and so many different types of eateries. You are spoilt for choice!

The hotel is also within easy reach of transport to touristic attractions and San Francisco Airport: the Powell-Mason Cable Car, MUNI Metro and BART Metro.

Room Tip: Rooms far away from Powell Street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#90 of 229 in San Francisco
2,331 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,230 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#101 of 229 in San Francisco
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#67 of 229 in San Francisco
3,956 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#96 of 229 in San Francisco
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Property: The Herbert Hotel
Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2291
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Herbert Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing