We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff, Affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fitzgerald Hotel
Ranked #170 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed April 27, 2014

If you're looking for an affordable place in downtown SF, this is it. The staff were very friendly, the room was clean and breakfast was included. Eric was especially nice, offering us bus passes that a departing guest had asked to pass along and offering advice on how to get around the city. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 390 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We booked a petite room...and it certainly was. A bit poky for two people. The receptionist was a bit of a stoner, when we arrived the front door was held open so he could "catch some sun". Breakfast is self-service and on paper plates. Parking is in the next street for $16 per day, but that is to be expected in a city I suppose.

However, the location is good for Union Square and the price reasonable. It is not a hotel to choose if you want to stay in bed, but for a place to crash it is well located and affordable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanA134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

From the moment we walked in the cleanliness caught my attention, along with the warm welcome from the front desk. Eric at the front desk was very helpful with his area night spot recommendations and good convo. Very appreciated, you can save a lot of $$$ to leave it for the great restaurants in the area !

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannypena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

this hotel has a fantastic location. convenient. Breakfast though was too simple and unappealing. the staff are like robots...they hardly notice or mind you. as if you were a bother to their computering and newspaper reading. the rooms are tiny but livable. would have been bearable had the employees been friendlier. and it was so noisy during the day and night! i highly doubt that i will stay in this hotel again nor recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: NONE! Look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yokolok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed as part of a couple for 5 nights. Staff were courteous but not overly friendly except for the young guy in the breakfast room who was lovely. The room was tiny but clean and fine for us as we were out every day. There was no air con or fan so it got hot at times. We had a room facing a small courtyard area and there was noise from the other rooms/ice machine on bottom floor at times but nothing too loud.
The front desk helped us to book a wine tour- would recommend it. The best thing is the location- 5 min walk to union square and central to various modes of transport. The fridge in the room was a plus.
The breakfast was basic but plentiful- chopped fruit, cereal, porridge, bagels, tea, coffee and juice. Breakfast is self-serve.
All in all it was fine for the price and location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aindyloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Ok first things first. This is not a luxurious boutique hotel. It is well located but that doesn't make up for it.

Rooms are small and bathrooms smaller. And the soap is poxy. Really needs a facelift. Wifi is free.

Breakfast is self service. Breads and cereals. All served on paper plates and paper cups.

Hotel mentions a car park they partner with nearby but they deny this as does the car park. (Although the recommended car park is cheap and convenient)

If your budget permits go elsewhere.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank ImprovisedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Manager at The Fitzgerald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear ImprovisedTravel,

we apologize you had a bad experience with us because of the room size. Our Petites Doubles are among the cheapest hotel rooms you can find in the heart of downtown, and the size is the reason why we can keep the price low. However, we do provide square footages of our rooms on our website, so that people know what to expect. Breakfast is self-service, but there is much more than bread and cereals: we provide toasts, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit, porridge, orange juice, coffee and tea, Nutella. and milk. The only reason I may think of for why you have only been offered bread is that it was past 10 am, which is the time at which we stop serving breakfast. With respect to the parking, we do not provide parking, but we do get a discount that allows our guests to park their cars overnight for a $16 rate (regular-size vehicles): if we had known you were experiencing some issues, we would have promptly amended mistakes; I will look into this issue concerning parking: we'll make sure whatever happened won't happen again. .We are truly sorry that you had a bad experience with us, we understand that not many people like to have small rooms, but we feel that the price is not very high for both the location, the free wi-fi, and the all-you can-eat breakfast we offer.
We hope we'll have the chance to make it up to you, perhaps in the future, next time you are in San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Room was small no place to put anything. It was expensive. The bathroom was tiny, like old cruise ship bathrooms. Matress was lumpy. This was a place
I would not stay a second time. There is nothing luxury about this place but the price

Room Tip: don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lindysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Manager at The Fitzgerald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Lindysu,

we apologize you felt the room did not meet your expectations. From your review, I guess you have booked a Petite Double, which is, indeed, a small room as the name says and as it is indicated on our website, where we provide full measurement of the room. The price we offer for our Petites Doubles is below standard San Francisco downtown hotel rooms for reasons concerning the room size. We will, however, check upon upon the mattresses, and make sure that no lumpy one are left in our rooms: thank you for that.
Thank you for staying with us , and we do apologize if this has not been the best experience, and we sincerely hope it did not affect your overall vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Andrews Hotel
#125 of 230 in San Francisco
640 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#187 of 230 in San Francisco
529 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#186 of 230 in San Francisco
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#162 of 230 in San Francisco
862 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#132 of 230 in San Francisco
1,051 reviews
Adante Hotel
#185 of 230 in San Francisco
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzgerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzgerald Hotel

Address: 620 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222 (Formerly Fitzgerald Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $107 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fitzgerald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Fitzgerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgerald Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing