We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the pictures”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fitzgerald Hotel
Ranked #169 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
A TripAdvisor Member
Lakeport, California
14
Reviewed December 8, 2003

We booked a room at the "sister" Hotel Nob Hill and was told we and others had to be moved to another hotel because of "problems". A couple warned us to view the hotel first before we paid. We drove to the Fitzgerald in the pouring rain to walk into the smallest room I have ever been in. Completely unfurnished, nothing at all like the pictures on their website. What a joke! I would never stay here or tell anyone else to stay here. Ended up at Fishermans Wharf and was very happy there.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
There are newer reviews for The Fitzgerald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 385 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2003

I came to stay with my mother and baby, had warned them that we'd be three people with baby luggage, and was put in a postage stamp sized room. My mother literally had to sleep with her suitcase on her bed with her! The hotel staff was rude when we wanted to switch rooms, eventually we had to change hotels, and then were charged a $50 fee for leaving early. I'm currently trying to get a refund for that extra charge. I think this hotel had the potential to be a cute place, but with their refusal to accommodate us I wouldn't recommend it.

3  Thank Alison7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Finland
13
Reviewed August 18, 2003

I agree with many of the others, this hotel is excellent value! We stayed there in late June 2003. Yes, the rooms are small, but they are tidy and nicely furnitured. The best part is the closness to Union Square. We did not have a very nice view because we had the window to a small inside "space". If I put out my head and looked up I could see the sky... But everything is forgiven because the staff was nice and there was breakfast (only pastries, but anyway) and the price was right!! /Katja

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2003

The 'designer' decor much vaunted in the hotel's description of itself was conspicuous by its absence, well in my minuscule room at least. If the public areas have enjoyed some restoration treatment then it certainly wasn't obvious. Mini fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board? Not in my room! Other guests checking in whilst I was in reception were offered a room rate of $20/night less than I was paying.
Hotel would not countenance a discount on my bill. Staff not particularly helpful. Breakfast is well worth missing and 'buffet' seems to imply rather more of a choice than there actually was. Danish pastries (cut in half) and muffins looked tired, and the breakfast room was singularly uninviting, being lit only by light from the serving area and with chairs still stacked up on tables. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here under any circumstances

1  Thank whizzkid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
15
Reviewed July 9, 2003

We had a wonderful time staying at the Fitzgerald Hotel, San Francisco.
The location is ideal, just 2 blocks from the famous cable car stop. We were given a decent size bedroom for 4, very comfortable beds. The room is clean and the hotel itself is lovely and safe. Though some people may find the room small, there is not much room to complain given the prize we paid--average of $70 a night for 2 double beds, including breakfast! Front desk staff are really helpful and willing to help with any questions or problems.

Just one warning for those with much luggage: there is no bell boy to help carrying your luggage up to the room. We'll definitely stay at this hotel if we have a chance to go to SF again in the future!

Fawn Rakkun, Boston, MA

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2003

This hotel was excellent value for money situated just 5 mins walk from Union Square. It is basic and the rooms are tiny but the bed is very comfortable. Word of warning about the breakfast, you get muffins & pastries every day which gets tiring very quickly! Caroline.

8  Thank caroline_little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Marine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Andrews Hotel
#126 of 229 in San Francisco
635 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#188 of 229 in San Francisco
152 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#182 of 229 in San Francisco
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
400 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#136 of 229 in San Francisco
398 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#156 of 229 in San Francisco
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzgerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzgerald Hotel

Address: 620 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222 (Formerly Fitzgerald Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $107 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fitzgerald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Fitzgerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgerald Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing