We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fitzgerald Hotel
Ranked #170 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The location of the Fitz can't be beat, withing walking distance of Union Square, Chinatown, and the cable car lines. Great value for the price. They had a great wine bar in the back that does excellent tasting flights. The elevator was temperamental during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vtdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 393 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

Like most of the reviewers below, we actually booked a private room with the Adelaide Hostel. After booking we realised that most couples were being sent to either the Fitz or the Dakota, which are the hostel's sister properties on Post Street. As the Dakota had a few bad reviews, we decided to email the hostel and make a request that our room be in either the Adelaide or the Fitzgerald. They kindly acknowledged our request and upon checking in we were sent to the Fitz and were given room 406.

The room was spotlessly clean and had all the amenities you would expect from a hotel, including toiletries, hairdryer, iron, free wifi etc. The only downsides to the room were that the bedding was very dated, and the the room was small and quite hot. However a few minutes with the ceiling fan on usually sorted that out.

The free breakfast in the basement downstairs was more than adequate, with a huge selection of various different bagels, breads etc., plus fruit salad, orange juice, tea and coffee.

The location couldn't be much better, a 5 minute walk to Union Square and very close to the major bus routes. Overall, if you're looking for budget accommodation in SF then try this place, you won't be disappointed. And if you want 5* luxury then book elsewhere but be prepared to pay 5x more!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

OK, my experiences are not exactly normal of the hotels guests but here goes... i actually booked at the Adelaide Hostel 2 blocks away but becuase their private rooms were full I was given a room here instead. At first I was like WOOP WOOP! hotel at a hostel price, but after that it kind of sucked. The room was good, small, but fine for 1 person (would be a bit tight for 2) It was clean and modern and well decorated. My room was next to the noisy elevator but I guess that was just bad luck. The free breakfast was a bit lame, poor quality and choice, worse than most hostels i have stayed at. The staff were not especially friendly or helpful, they were not especially unfriendly or unhelpful either, it just felt like they were doing the bare minimum possible to get through the day. The location is good if you want to be near Union Square, but to be honest most the stuff going on is on the shore, so in future I would book down there. I certainly wouldn't pay hotel prices to stay here, and it lacked any kind of atmosphere that a hostel has. Overall I didn't like it a whole lot.

Room Tip: A friend of mine stayed at the the Green Tortoise Hostel on Broadway which is closer to the shore, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bubbam999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I´m not sure how much this hotel usually costs, since we were sent here from the Adelaide hostel (they use the rooms at this hotel when their private rooms are full), but for what we paid it was a real bargain. Confortable, nice and very well located.
The room was large and confortable, with a very large window and pretty unique decor (decadent indian colonial was maybe the best way to describe it). There were some truly horrible pieces of furniture in there which made us laugh (e.g., a palm tree shaped lamp with a leopard skin print lamp-shade), but alltogether the room looked very good. One note here is that the windows are not sound proofed and looked on to a busy street, so it wasn´t the quietest hotel room, I´d recommend ear plugs for a restful nights sleep if you´re a light sleeper.
The room was clean enough, though that could be improved, and the bathroom was large and had everything you needed (including hairdrier, shampoo, soap and body lotion, all of which smelled pretty nice). Lobby and breakfast room were also fine.
The one real complaint I would have is that the storage space where you can leave your bags after chek out or before check in is not locked, and the hotel does not take responsibility if anything is lost or stolen. This would actually make me think twice about going there again when I know that i´ll be longer in the city after checking out. As it is, it made me pretty nervous to leave our stuff there since we were gone several hours.
All in all a great little hotel, but with room for improvement.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fordie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed at The Fitzgerald and it has proven to be a good value. If you are budget conscious, this is definitely a property to consider. The location is excellent, within a few minutes walk of Union Sq., continental breakfast included, and I found the staff to be helpful and friendly. I have stayed at at least a dozen "budget" properties in the same area over a period of years and this offers the most bang for the buck. If you are looking for a safe, convenient location and no frills accommodations at a competitive cost in a city famous for $$$$ hotels, then The Fitz is a very good choice. The complaints about room size and lift fail to take into consideration that hotels in this same area cost considerably more. If you are looking for pricey amenities go elsewhere. I would compare The Fitz to a European pension-style hotel.

Room Tip: I suggest sending an email to gerard@adelaidehostel.com and letting them know what your expectations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kilikina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Great location, but :

unfriendly staff and very poor service
tiny rooms, no storage, plastic glasses, no shampoo...
horrible basement for the breakfast
not so clean

very very disapointed

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank louis r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Calm and classic style hotel
Breakfast with some breads, tea & coffee, orange juice, fruits
Easy access to union square (3 minutes to walk), Moscone Center 12 minutes to walk
Many restaurants and bars located nearby.
convenient store (walgreen etc.)
free WiFi (does not access in the room 602)

Room Tip: I think Fitzgerald is good to business trip with quick breakfast and easy access to downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kseonju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#187 of 230 in San Francisco
530 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#133 of 230 in San Francisco
664 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#191 of 230 in San Francisco
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#115 of 230 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#165 of 230 in San Francisco
876 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#143 of 230 in San Francisco
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzgerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzgerald Hotel

Address: 620 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222 (Formerly Fitzgerald Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $105 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fitzgerald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Fitzgerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgerald Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing