We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with the breakfast ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fitzgerald Hotel
Ranked #170 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed July 13, 2003

The 'designer' decor much vaunted in the hotel's description of itself was conspicuous by its absence, well in my minuscule room at least. If the public areas have enjoyed some restoration treatment then it certainly wasn't obvious. Mini fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board? Not in my room! Other guests checking in whilst I was in reception were offered a room rate of $20/night less than I was paying.
Hotel would not countenance a discount on my bill. Staff not particularly helpful. Breakfast is well worth missing and 'buffet' seems to imply rather more of a choice than there actually was. Danish pastries (cut in half) and muffins looked tired, and the breakfast room was singularly uninviting, being lit only by light from the serving area and with chairs still stacked up on tables. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here under any circumstances

1  Thank whizzkid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 395 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
15
Reviewed July 9, 2003

We had a wonderful time staying at the Fitzgerald Hotel, San Francisco.
The location is ideal, just 2 blocks from the famous cable car stop. We were given a decent size bedroom for 4, very comfortable beds. The room is clean and the hotel itself is lovely and safe. Though some people may find the room small, there is not much room to complain given the prize we paid--average of $70 a night for 2 double beds, including breakfast! Front desk staff are really helpful and willing to help with any questions or problems.

Just one warning for those with much luggage: there is no bell boy to help carrying your luggage up to the room. We'll definitely stay at this hotel if we have a chance to go to SF again in the future!

Fawn Rakkun, Boston, MA

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2003

This hotel was excellent value for money situated just 5 mins walk from Union Square. It is basic and the rooms are tiny but the bed is very comfortable. Word of warning about the breakfast, you get muffins & pastries every day which gets tiring very quickly! Caroline.

8  Thank caroline_little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank teamguldager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: güzel bir otel değil..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gozdeunsalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milady6077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank N_Taylor105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#189 of 230 in San Francisco
533 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#131 of 230 in San Francisco
1,068 reviews
Music City Hotel
#117 of 230 in San Francisco
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#193 of 230 in San Francisco
460 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
2,387 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#187 of 230 in San Francisco
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzgerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzgerald Hotel

Address: 620 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222 (Formerly Fitzgerald Hotel Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $101 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fitzgerald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Fitzgerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgerald Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing