We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”
Review of The Embassy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Embassy Hotel
Ranked #203 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Guerneville, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Me and my kids stayed there room 504 and it was clean ,nice people helpful .
only thing was shower was not so great water trickle other wise it was good. close to lots of stuff like
food ,park for kids.
not much for kids

Room Tip: get a room back by parking lot quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    43
    76
    58
    89
See reviews for
42
101
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Ruined it for us from the word go we walked from the bart (there local train) to the embassy we got there and thought pheww we feel a litle safer from the rough low lifes that live around and found out is just as bad as being on the streets the lift was old and to be honest was more safer using the stairs I'm from a rough place but this was full of crack heads, homeless and alcholics not in a good place! We got to are room on the 6th floor stunk! and we found canabis in the draw a big bag of it we got moved o another room where the door was of its hinges so we moved again! No remote the windows had no locks and the bathroom window was open constant! Looks very old and tattered! Sheets were dirty or stained I wasn't sure but slept in my clothes!the radioter in the 3rd room we finally got would not stop making noises and the lamps didn't work, I'm as comman as they come but this was in a bad neighbourhood just behind and was worse for wear! I would try to book somewere else if I was you! Trust me the best thing about the place was the flatscreen tv! That is it! Disgusting! The only reason I gave it the rating I did because the man on reception helped us out a little bit and was very apolagetic even though wasn't his fault! You want a good time in san francisco then book a better hotel was from somthing out of the 1800s! Never again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabbaWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

like the old saying, u get what u pay for. well we got a pleasant hotel with friendly staff during our stay. not the most modern hotel but rooms were spacoius and clean. an upgrade to the bathrooms would finish it off nicely. location is near civic centre with plenty of great restaurants from reasonably priced( brendas next door, try the chicken) to the luxury. car park behind hotel which is handy for a small price but sometimes it can be included with expedia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macholland2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Perhaps you can score free parking if you ask. A few blocks from the cable car. Restaurant a few doors down quite good. During high season they have breakfast included. Try to get rooms in back and as far up as possible since they have a night club.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed at hotel early December ,,was hard to find hotel in the city as there was conference on..looking at the reviews was not encouraging but at that stage had no choice,, paid 129 dollars pn for a 3 night stay,,location was fine as like most cities you have to taxi anyway,, I stayed on the 6 th floor ,, room was large and a king size bed,, very clean overall,,large plasma tv,, bathroom old fashioned but very good shower,, after visiting most of the sights in the city by day were in bed by 10ish,, slept well,,considering the price ,,overall happy and would stay again,, there is parking there but a small charge,, there is no restaurant,/ bar ,,price wise great,, location fair,,Liam Germany

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for one night, and we checked out the very next day. It's very old and rundown, and feels very unclean. It's cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for here. If you can afford it, I would highly recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

rooms are very spacious ,,, i think i got value for what i paid for ,, i knew that i would be using taxis etc and spending a lot of time sightseeing,,so i was never going to spend 24/7 in my room..i paid 95 dollars a night and was very happy with the value,,the location is not downtown but you pay 300 bucks downtown,, you are 10m max by cab to pier 39 and downtown shops,, you can walk daytime with no hassle at all.. you will see homeless all over san francisco,, they never bothered me..you get free wifi,, flat screen tv,,etc,,for the amount of time i spent there i was very happy,, brendas next door is a super restauraunt and making a huge name for itself,, the art college is across the road,,there is street noise in every city,,, the club like all clubs in this city close at 145,, its open 3 nights ,, i was there the 3 and enjoyed it,, cleared very fast,, overall i enjoyed my stay,, i knew what i was paying so my expectations were limited and therefore i was happy.. if i wanted 3/4 star i would have paid 250 dollars,, dont expect high standars when you are paying these rates,,mike

Room Tip: if you want no street noise book a room facing the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#182 of 228 in San Francisco
2,955 reviews
Alexis Park San Francisco
#170 of 228 in San Francisco
130 reviews
Music City Hotel
#124 of 228 in San Francisco
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#187 of 228 in San Francisco
742 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#147 of 228 in San Francisco
827 reviews
SoMa
Civic Center Motor Inn
Civic Center Motor Inn
#198 of 228 in San Francisco
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Embassy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Embassy Hotel

Property: The Embassy Hotel
Address: 610 Polk St, San Francisco, CA 94102-3328
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Embassy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Embassy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel San Francisco
Embassy San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing