We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Embassy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Embassy Hotel
Ranked #203 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst hotel ever”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights the room was tiny and smelled the bedding and furniture was stained the place was completely out dated the heater was on all night no way to turn it off I asked the front desk clerk & he said he I to shut it off in by the main valve but he didn't o not to minchen there was no ac in the room we were on the top floor & could here the club all night the bath room was also awful the bath & toilet was chipped the bath dripped all night & when u flushed or any 1 else n the hotel flushed u could here the pipes banging & clinking & the elevator smelled like some 1 died & urinated in it and it was also a scary ride. I would never stay here again & would not recommend for anyone else to. U can stay at other hotels for about the same price & have a way better experience

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    43
    76
    58
    88
See reviews for
42
101
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Narbonne, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed there for two nights and really enjoyed our stay.
The room was big, clean and quiet despite overlooking the street.
The breakfast served in the hotel bar was good but we didn't have as much choice as we had in other hotels during our trip.
We were also disappointed not to be able to get boiling water for tea on a sunday evening.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank indocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I won't add the same information about the disgusting room. Agree with all those comments. It was the nightclub level noise that blew me away. The club below was so loud- blaring music til way past three am. Unbelievable thFat this hotel charges anything to stay here. It's 545 am and traffic noises are loud enough to wake me. I am so tired, that there is no way I can enjoy my only day in San Francisco and that sucks! I'm so tired I feel like a toddler on the verge of tears. Thanks, embassy hotel and hotels.com

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Plemuoex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised to find the room (506) was quiet, clean, "newish" furnishings, large closet and bath with interesting tile, firm mattress with NO bedbugs (we checked), and although we were next to the elevator, we could not hear it in our room. Walls NOT thin, windows have screens and open. Didn't use heat so not sure about that. Safe didn't work. No frills (iron, fridge, coffeemaker etc), but we carry out own. We will definitely return for events in the area and stay here. Great value and safe feeling walking toward Van Ness.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertalynnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is a typical hole in the wall, NY City type hotel, absolutely not for a business traveler. If you're 21-28, don't mind the stench of bad carpet and patchy walls and steel heaters with pipes in the room, then its a pretty decent deal. Lots of homeless guys picking cigarette butts right outside the hotel lobby. Well, Lobby is an exaggeration. It's really just a walkway with a small tall desk area. The hotel's got this doorway to the bar next door, so, like I said, if you aren't there for business, you may actually get lucky!

I have to admit, the people managing the place are extremely kind and polite. That was the real stunner. They don't have iron/board in the room, so, ask for it. The bed side lamps aren't connected to a power source cos there aren't any! Bathroom's ok..you can tell they are trying to make it look comfortable. Towels are short (I'm 6'2) but good enough.

Bed Bugs....I don't think they have any but I was kinda paranoid cos the sheet is rough and very uneasy.

Otherwise, it should be your last resort kinda hotel. Try to call Marriott first and try to get a good rate for a courtyard or something. Better that way.

Room Tip: Ask the Front desk for a king size room away from Roads cos it's very noisy, can't sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trvlover1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We had no problems staying whilst staying in this hotel, however it's positioning was rather scary. Turk street is a very rough area of San Francisco which really took away from the hotel which was a shame.

The staff were very accommodating, checking us in despite being three hours early. The rooms are very nice despite the dated feeling you get walking through the rest of the hotel. The doors to each room (which require just a key) could be kicked down, and the dead lock didn't work from the outside on either of the rooms. This wouldn't be such a big deal if the hotel was in a more hospitable area, but it's always in the back of your mind. Internet is very temperamental, but the free breakfast was good in the morning!

Wouldn't stay again, but not because of the hotel, purely on the location. Not very central to anything, and never really felt safe.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duffduffmcduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Myself an three friends had a trip planned to San Francisco for a rock concert at the civic center. I was in charge of the concert tickets while one of my friends was in charge of the hotel reservations. We ended up staying at the Embassy Hotel just three blocks away from the concert. It was a very convenient place to stay and worked out great. The hotel was built in the early 1900's and has a lot of character. It is not fancy but from the moment you walk in you felt like you are in a different time. I would definitely stay there again as it was quiet, comfortable and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jumpropetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#183 of 227 in San Francisco
2,882 reviews
Alexis Park San Francisco
#177 of 227 in San Francisco
127 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#186 of 227 in San Francisco
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Opal San Francisco
#98 of 227 in San Francisco
1,091 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#185 of 227 in San Francisco
729 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Embassy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Embassy Hotel

Property: The Embassy Hotel
Address: 610 Polk St, San Francisco, CA 94102-3328
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Embassy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Embassy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel San Francisco
Embassy San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing