We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Bathrooms/Rooms Need Attention/Poor Parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina
Ranked #164 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Crowley, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Bathrooms/Rooms Need Attention/Poor Parking”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We recently traveled throughout California and before traveling booked several nights at different locations. Not knowing when we'd be in certain areas, we held off booking all our nights until we reached some of our destinations. When we called to reserve a room at the Super 8, we were told that there was limited parking available. When we arrived there were only 17 parking spaces and of course all were filled. They were also for more compact vehicles. Upon asking the desk clerk where we might park, she told us that we could park on the street next to the hotel, but the van had to be moved by 6:00 am for the street cleaners. She told us that she couldn't gurantee we wouldn't receive a parking ticket if we parked across the street. Needless to say she wasn't very helpful.

The bathrooms seemed to have been updated and were very neat and clean.

The carpet in the bedrooms we stayed in were very dirty. Our smoke alarm hung from the celing by the wires. The TV's were not picking up any of the channels.

We left early the next morning to avoid a problem with parking the van later than 6:00. There was no one at the front desk to return the hotel key to and the door was locked.

We have stayed in other Super 8 hotels, and they were much cleaner and more convenient.

Room Tip: The location was not far from the Wharf so that was a plus and the bathrooms were clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delighted33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    147
    154
    72
    69
See reviews for
132
218
33
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The main selling point of this hotel is that it has free parking. But it has 15 spaces for 30 rooms so of course half the guests have to find somewhere else to park amid strict parking rules and expensive lots. Room smells musty. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

we stayed here last minute when we went to San Francisco on our honey moon. They were the best price and had rooms available. Pretty close to everything and had free parking. Room was clean and when I left my bracelet in the room after we checked out the maid put it in a safe place so when I came back to get it there it was! They even let us keep our car there for a few hours after checkout so we could do some more siteseeing.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowgirlxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel was well within walking distance to the Golden Gate bridge and Fishermans Wharf. There were a lot of nice cafe's and Deli's on the next block and the heighbor hood was very nice. The hotel was old and the hotel room was small but it was clean. There was limited free parking. When we checked in at 2 there were open spots so we left our car and walked to local attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snyder, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this place. The managers went out of their way to be helpful to us, and they were always polite and friendly. We found the room to be immaculately clean and adequately furnished and equipped. The price was reasonable and included a light breakfast, which was convenient for us. The location is also good; there are several nice restaurants, bakeries, markets and launderies in the neighborhood. Most attractions are within a reasonable distance, but it's in the Marina district, not Fisherman's Wharf. However, it's close enough. As advertised, parking is limited, so be aware of that. Street parking is available, though, free from 6:00 at night until 9:00 the following morning.

Room Tip: We liked our room which was as far back from the street as possible because it was quiet. There was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We arrived late at midnight to the hotel, just to find out there was no available parking in this hotel. Front desk said that "first comes, first serve", but we chose this hotel for the free parking, and were so disappointed to find out we had to wake up early after a long trip just to move the car.
The room itself was okay for the price, quite clean but not in good shape at all.
It is close to the Golden Gate bridge, but not at all to the Fishermen's Wharf.
We will not be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reutye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My family and I stayed here for one night in June 2012. Reasonably priced as far as SF motels go. This motel was build in the 50's (according to the manager) and not much has been done to update it since then. The same night we were staying there another family was staying that also included a disabled person. They too had been unaware that this motel was 3 stories and had no elevator. They switched to a room on the first floor. But that meant 3 adults and only 1 bed. A tradeoff we were not willing to make. The manager offered to let us out of our reservation with no penalty-but it was late and we had driven all day. He apologized profusely and even offered to help us lug our belongings up to the third floor. The room itself was decent. We never saw the hot tub-and didn't want to ask. The breakfast was Costco individually wrapped danish, coffee and 2 kinds of cereal-in the office. While not horrible, I don't think I'd stay here again. It was easy to find, convenient drive to the Wharf, free parking-but very limited and VERY small spaces.

Room Tip: If stairs are any kind of a problem-make sure you let them know when you make your reservation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#158 of 228 in San Francisco
577 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#156 of 228 in San Francisco
647 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#137 of 228 in San Francisco
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#130 of 228 in San Francisco
150 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#113 of 228 in San Francisco
487 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina

Property: Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina
Address: 2440 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 miles from Fisherman’s Wharf and Chinatown, this San Francisco motel offers city tour tickets at the front desk. Guest rooms include a microwave, a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi.Every room at the Super 8 San Francisco/Fisherman’s Wharf provides a flat-screen cable TV with HBO and a DVD player. Coffee makers are also available in the guest rooms at this completely non-smoking hotel.The Golden Gate Bridge is 3 miles from the San Francisco Super 8 Fisherman’s Wharf. The San Francisco International Airport is 16 miles from the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Francisco / Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Super Eight San Francisco
Super 8 Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Super Eight
San Francisco Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing