We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK if you want "cheap" accommodation in SF”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Adante Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adante Hotel
Ranked #170 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK if you want "cheap" accommodation in SF”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is not so bad, but I would not rate as my favorite. Apparently the elevator that was criticized by many reviewers have been replaced with a modern one. The room I had was small but perfectly fine for a single traveller. Everything was clean, so no complaints.

The reason that I give only 3 out of five is the breakfast and the neighborhood. The breakfast is a joke, I really don't have high expectations, but having toast with marmalade for seven days was a bit boring. And, since breakfast is served in the relatively small hall, sometimes people even had to stand due to lacking enough chairs.
The location is not bad, but it is just one corner off where one would stay. There are a lot of crazy people around, and although you walk one minute and it is already a different world, after a week I was happy that I don't have to be around that place any more. Having said that there is a bus stop just in front of the hotel, and Union square is 5 minutes by foot.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again if this would be the cheapest option close to the city center.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristof F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    206
    239
    104
    95
See reviews for
104
215
64
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Worn down place with very small rooms. Location is conveniant but I wouldnt want to bring family to this neighbourhood after dark. Paid $180 for standard Queen room for 2 nights. Not worth it, keep looking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We paid $240 for one night in our single Queen room so I expected more. It is definitely not a boutique hotel as described. The room was tiny and decor was outdated. The wifi was absolutely horrible. It seems to be in the wrong part of Union Square, even our cab driver said our hotel was "in the hood". There are tons of homeless people begging in the area, which of course is normal in big cities like this. The upside is there are lots of restaraunts closeby and it is close to great shopping and other tourist activities. The staff was friendly, but weren't that great about giving us recommendations for things to do.
They didn't have brochures or city guides in their rooms like the other hotels that we stayed at did.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teethgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

A simple hotel which offers standard rooms which are not very large but ok for the price we paid. Good location; only a few meters of Union Square (5 minutes walk max). The wifi didn't work, not in the lobby, not in the room. This was a shame and even after contacting the helpdesk of the supplier it still didn't work ! Only 1 elevator which was very busy during the morning hours ...Hotel offers free simple breakfast to be taken in the lobby (not very cosy) Public parking next to the hotel at a reasonable price (for SF standards)Friendly staff

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Brigitte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

The staff are friendly. However the rooms are horrible, the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything! Our toilet over flowed around 11 pm one night and I was asked if I would like a plunger after further explanation about the extent of flooding we were offered another room 2 doors down. This was ok until very early the following morning the fire alarm started beeping on and off. I was informed it was just flat batteries. Thank god we were leaving that morning.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I and my friend went to San Francisco during the Thanksgiving vacation and we spent two night in this hotel. The room is clean and comfortable; the bath room is clean and nice. Not only that, I love the decoration style of the room!!!! I love those well painting!!!! The hotel is 10 minutes' walk from Union Station and there are some bus stops near the hotel which is convenient. The breakfast including coffee, hot chocolate, waffle, bread and banana which are nice. The staffs are friendly and helpful!!! I wanted to get two single-bed-room, but I wrongly booked a twin-bed-room, which is the same price as the two-single-bed-room. When I checked in, the staff patiently help me to changed the room and arranged us in a very quite room!!! The price of this hotel is also reasonable. The only trouble is the elevator was repairing, so we had to bring our suit case up the stairs, (fortunately the staff arranged up to live on the third floor). Anyway, if I go to SF again, I'll choose this hotel again!!!! Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: When the elevator is broken, choose a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

On the wrong side of Union Square this place is very tired and worn out. The lift is out of order until December, I was on the fourth floor, but pity those on the sixth. Odd murals around the top of the bedroom that had been painted over in places with white emulsion - hiding graffiti? Booked a queen room and was told only twin rooms available.
Breakfast is included, but rather it wasn't. Very sweet cakes, waffles and green bananas.
Stayed the following night at The Westin on Union Square for less than this place.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mertonwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#151 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#186 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill Hotel
#147 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#125 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#129 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adante Hotel

Property: Adante Hotel
Address: 610 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adante Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adante Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco, just three blocks from Union Square, cable cars, theaters and world class fine dining. Catering to both business and pleasure travelers, the Adante Hotel boasts a residential influence with amenities like WI-FI throughout the hotel and daily complimentary lite continental breakfast. The Adante Hotel's 92 guest rooms were updated with a sleek modern appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adante San Francisco
Adante Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing