We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but....”
Review of Adante Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adante Hotel
Ranked #175 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Good location, but....”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great location, clean room free wi fi and printing services, short walk to shopping district and easy to get to tourist hotspots. However, if you don't like dolphin murals, you enjoy having a fridge in your room, or enjoy having a working safe, avoid the Adante Hotel. The heater in the room also comes on every night whether you like it or not. And although San Francisco is quite cold even in summer, the heater makes the room very stuffy. The front desk staff are also quite rude and not very accomodating, I saw the manager raise his voice at a guest because she was asking for assistance and didn't speak fluent English.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    209
    240
    106
    96
See reviews for
104
219
65
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a good value hotel, clean and comfortable with friendly and helpful staff!

There are a few niggles, wifi slowest in the western world, bathroom fan sounds like a jet landing and the ceiling fans in bedrooms turn off after an hour which on the rare occasions San Francisco is really warm means a full night's sleep is unlikely as you wake up regularly to turn it on again and again and again etc etc.

But these are minor niggles, the place is good for a budget hotel...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fracme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed there for 8 days while attending a conference. Clean hotel, nice service, they receive and hold packages from Amazon and other online stores with no extra charges. Very simple breakfast, a little bit crowded. The only drawback was the elevator didn't work for 2 days for maintenance. It has a reasonable fast free wifi.

Room Tip: Don't get rooms close to the ice dispensers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

It was pretty much similar to most reasonably price hotel near Union Square (Downtown SF). The room was a bit larger than some of the rooms that I have had in the area with an actual full size couch. The most surprising feature was the size of the bathroom. The bathroom was large enough to set up a portable crib for a 2 year old with plenty room to move around it. This was a helpful feature since we were able to put our son to sleep and able to stay up a few hours longer with the bathroom door closed. No real frills, but the location was close to everything, the room was clean, and there was a continental breakfast. If you have a vehicle, there is parking garages all around the hotel ($30-50) or you can try to find a street metered parking (9am-6pm 2hour max during the week or 4 hour max during the weekends during those times.)

Room Tip: #301 had the huge bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henrykim_sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

It's a dated place but it's commensurate with the price. This was the first time in San Fran so it was a shot in the dark. We parked right next door so parking was great. We could walk to a few places nearby or grab a taxi from right out front.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is away from the ice machine, very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tybittner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Unwilling to let us check in early so we had to wait five hours in our car. Once inside I had a shower with large insects. Our reservation dates were wrong but I was actually happy about that so we could leave a day early and go to a better hotel. Parking in front of the hotel is impossible and valet takes 1/2 an hour. Rooms were dirty, hotel is old and dirty and the neighbourhood is downright scary. There was hair in my bed and they charge $2 for a bottle of water. Our view was that of a ledge covered in cigarette butts and if you opened the window to cut the stifling air in the room the air outside smelled like urine.

Room Tip: Pay an extra $40 and stay at a much nicer hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

La Verne, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a major conference happening in the City. It is is located near Union Square and not far from other major chain hotels. There is a Wal-Greens and Jack in the Box nearby as well as other restaurants, cafes, art galleries, etc.The bathroom was remodeled and was clean. The beds had fresh sheets. Make sure you bring your walking shoes unless you have a car or plan to rely on a taxi.

Here's the not so pretty stuff. It is an old hotel with a boutique charm. This place is small and narrow. The elevator is pretty small and there is a warning on the elevator door to limit capacity. It says the limit is 4 people with no luggage or 3 people with luggage. If you put more people than what it says, you will get STUCK!!!. I didn't see anyone personally get stuck but it is posted inside and outside the elevator.

If you are the type of person who prefers more spacious accomodations, then look elsewhere. I shared a room with a friend who had made the reservation for us so it was a surprise to what the hotel was going to be like.

The hotel is in a somewhat rough area. There are alot of homeless near the hotel. I used the BART to come up to the City and I used O'Farrell and then turn on Jones which is the nearest cross street to the hotel. Boy was this a mistake. It was full of homeless and I happened to come through with my luggage going up hill. Avoid this at all costs. My suggestion is to hit Geary from Mason or Powell. Taylor is also questionable because it is so close to the homeless area.

In terms of the room, it was repainted with the nice mural by the ceiling but is small. My roommate said rooms in downtown San Francisco tend to be small but this is too small for me. The pictures make the room to be bigger than they are but it is clean. Our room had only one working outlet. It is a bit challenging to charge laptops and phones overnight. There was an extra extension outlet by the tv but it didn't work even after I clicked the button. There is also a small deep closet. Good to put a couple of large suit cases and some packages in. There was also a safe that didn't work at first but my friend had it reset after hotel staff came in.

I agree with the other posts, there is a level of noise. We were on a corner (Room 404) so we were not sharing walls with other rooms but I could hear the ding for the elevator or footsteps from the stairs. The noise for our room was coming from the street. You can hear fights, sirens, and drunk people walk by. I woke up several times because of the noise (I am a light sleeper). The beds were firm and so were the pillows. If you are the type who likes a firm mattress with firm pillows than its for you.

Note to tall people: If you select af full size room, your feet will hang over the bed. I am 5'4 and I kind of slide down in the bed so my feet hung out from the bed. My room rate was taller than me and her feet really hung off the bed without sliding down. Perhaps a queen or kind size bed might suit you better.

The breakfast downstairs was light. Coffee, Juice, fresh bananas and toast. If that is good for you then you will be happy. The hotel is adjoined to a pizza restaurant but it didn't look appealing to us so we avoided it.

There was an historic looking wall heater that is probably from the 1930s or 1940s but we didn't use it at all. We keep the window slightly open and had no problems but its up to you to deal with the noise.

Overall, I would not return to this hotel because it does not suit my personal tastes but it would say it would be suitable for an individual or couple on a budget.

Room Tip: If you are tall, avoid full size beds because your feet will hang over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onedeesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#148 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#185 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill Hotel
#150 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#132 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#125 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adante Hotel

Property: Adante Hotel
Address: 610 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adante Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adante Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco, just three blocks from Union Square, cable cars, theaters and world class fine dining. Catering to both business and pleasure travelers, the Adante Hotel boasts a residential influence with amenities like WI-FI throughout the hotel and daily complimentary lite continental breakfast. The Adante Hotel's 92 guest rooms were updated with a sleek modern appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Adante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adante San Francisco
Adante Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing