We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay in SF” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adante Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adante Hotel
Ranked #172 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Short stay in SF”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed here over our short, 3 night visit to SF. I gave it a 2 of 5, as there is no 2.5 of 5 option. First off, the area is OK. A little further down Geary Blvd, away from Union Square area, the area gets sketchy. However, public transportation is pretty good in this city, so we didn't need to worry too much about the area we were staying in. My biggest complaint about this hotel was the lack of air conditioning. It got very hot throughout the day, making it uncomfy to sleep at night without the noisy ceiling fan on and the unscreened window open. Also, we were on the 7th (highest) floor, there is only one elevator, which does impose a 3 person limit (2 if you are carrying luggage)- if this rule isn't followed, you might get stuck. Room was pretty small. Overall clean. Continental breakfast was OK, although, as other reviewers have said, there was not enough space to accommodate everyone. Maybe I shouldn't complain, you do get what you pay for, and in comparison to most of the other hotels in the area, the price wasn't that bad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    203
    236
    102
    94
See reviews for
102
211
63
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We wondered what boutique meant - well if pokey rooms, antique carpets, paintwork that was laughable, a lift that limits to 3 people and takes an age to travel 2 floors, rounded off by a 'breakfast' we had to balance on our knees due to insufficient seating, then this is it!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PauloB_Tewkesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

I knew it was a low budget hotel, but someones are good despite being economical..this one, no. The only positive thing is that the room was nice and it was always clean. But the rest...uffff...the location is good, but at night it's full of people who live in the street and are walking around...a bit scary.
The front desk of the hotel is a disaster, they don't care about nothing...they even could forget to wake you up, although you has asked for.
The elevator works awful.
The breakfast is bad, and there's no room for everybody at that moment in the lobby of the hotel.
The paintings in the room or in the alleys are....tremendous!!!
I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pablo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

I planned a last minute trip to SF and was pleased to find a hotel near attractions I wanted to visit for so inexpensive a price, despite previous remarks of being in an unsavory neighborhood (which I don't agree with at all after being within 2-3 miles of everything in the central city). I truly believed as long as I had a clean room to sleep in I'd be good to go. And for the most part that is true.
I arrived well before the posted check in time and asked if there was any chance of getting into a room early. A man I'm guessing is the general manager told the clerk helping me after a few minutes of checking for a clean room of the type I reserved, to give me an upgrade into one of their "jacuzzi suites". I thanked him, dropped off my luggage, checked to make sure the room was indeed clean and went about my day of adventuring.
Upon returning to the hotel that evening I went to run a bath for my sore feet and found myself disappointed. Not only was the water only tepid at best, but the means to turn the jacuzzi on were missing with a messy hole where they should be. Aside from this unsightly and disappointing feature the room is comfortable and clean.
That being said, The staff, and especially a gentleman at the front desk during the day was extremely helpful and accommodating.
My overall opinion of the hotel is that, while dated and in some disrepair, the room was clean, and it afforded me a safe place to sleep during my stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Terrible hotel. Breakfast is a joke. Only muffins. Bread with nothing on. Not very helpful staff. Only good thing is the location. Ten minutes walk to union square.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckyduck64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

A friend and I needed to book a room for a last-minute trip to SF (booked 2 days before leaving!). Everything was so expensive! I booked Adante because it was the cheapest hotel I could find in a reasonable area. We were expecting the worst!

When we checked in, however, we were quite surprised at how nice the lobby was! It had an old school SF vibe that we absolutely loved. Upon check-in the man at the desk upgraded us to a suite. The room was decorated with tropical bird murals (added character) and everything was VERY clean! The bathroom was very nice as well.

The elevators do take awhile to make their way to your floor, but most of the time we opted to take the stairs bc the beautiful old (guessing original) staircase really adds to the Vintage feel.

Location was also very good! We were literally in the middle of everything. About a 7 minute walk to the bus stop and China Town and Union Square are both within walking distance.

The hotel also offers complimentary breakfast. They had fresh muffins, toast, jams, bananas, coffee, and juices. Perfect to grab a couple things and head out for the day.

Absolutely loved our stay and would def. stay here again! Great location, price, and clean rooms!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CiaoNiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We have stayed here before, rooms are no frill, but we like paying under a $100 for our impromtu trips to the City. New management made up for our last experiance by upgrading us to suite, room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast is sparce, but we always go yo Left O'Douls or The Buena Vista for breakfast, so this doesnt matter to us. The problem was the next day when I found cluster of little bites all over my body. It has been confirmed they are bedbugs, and Im itching like a crazy person. I have stayed at hotels all over the world, and this was my first bed bug experience. I will probobly return, but I will inspect the bed and ask for new linens.

Room Tip: Do not stay in 706!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill Hotel
#144 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#150 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#123 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#185 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adante Hotel

Property: Adante Hotel
Address: 610 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adante Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adante Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco, just three blocks from Union Square, cable cars, theaters and world class fine dining. Catering to both business and pleasure travelers, the Adante Hotel boasts a residential influence with amenities like WI-FI throughout the hotel and daily complimentary continental breakfast. The Adante Hotel's 92 guest rooms were updated with a sleek modern appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Adante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adante San Francisco
Adante Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing