We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decently Priced, clean and a wonderful staff”
Review of Adante Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adante Hotel
Ranked #175 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decently Priced, clean and a wonderful staff”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I planned a last minute trip to SF and was pleased to find a hotel near attractions I wanted to visit for so inexpensive a price, despite previous remarks of being in an unsavory neighborhood (which I don't agree with at all after being within 2-3 miles of everything in the central city). I truly believed as long as I had a clean room to sleep in I'd be good to go. And for the most part that is true.
I arrived well before the posted check in time and asked if there was any chance of getting into a room early. A man I'm guessing is the general manager told the clerk helping me after a few minutes of checking for a clean room of the type I reserved, to give me an upgrade into one of their "jacuzzi suites". I thanked him, dropped off my luggage, checked to make sure the room was indeed clean and went about my day of adventuring.
Upon returning to the hotel that evening I went to run a bath for my sore feet and found myself disappointed. Not only was the water only tepid at best, but the means to turn the jacuzzi on were missing with a messy hole where they should be. Aside from this unsightly and disappointing feature the room is comfortable and clean.
That being said, The staff, and especially a gentleman at the front desk during the day was extremely helpful and accommodating.
My overall opinion of the hotel is that, while dated and in some disrepair, the room was clean, and it afforded me a safe place to sleep during my stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    210
    242
    107
    96
See reviews for
105
221
66
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Terrible hotel. Breakfast is a joke. Only muffins. Bread with nothing on. Not very helpful staff. Only good thing is the location. Ten minutes walk to union square.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckyduck64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

A friend and I needed to book a room for a last-minute trip to SF (booked 2 days before leaving!). Everything was so expensive! I booked Adante because it was the cheapest hotel I could find in a reasonable area. We were expecting the worst!

When we checked in, however, we were quite surprised at how nice the lobby was! It had an old school SF vibe that we absolutely loved. Upon check-in the man at the desk upgraded us to a suite. The room was decorated with tropical bird murals (added character) and everything was VERY clean! The bathroom was very nice as well.

The elevators do take awhile to make their way to your floor, but most of the time we opted to take the stairs bc the beautiful old (guessing original) staircase really adds to the Vintage feel.

Location was also very good! We were literally in the middle of everything. About a 7 minute walk to the bus stop and China Town and Union Square are both within walking distance.

The hotel also offers complimentary breakfast. They had fresh muffins, toast, jams, bananas, coffee, and juices. Perfect to grab a couple things and head out for the day.

Absolutely loved our stay and would def. stay here again! Great location, price, and clean rooms!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CiaoNiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We have stayed here before, rooms are no frill, but we like paying under a $100 for our impromtu trips to the City. New management made up for our last experiance by upgrading us to suite, room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast is sparce, but we always go yo Left O'Douls or The Buena Vista for breakfast, so this doesnt matter to us. The problem was the next day when I found cluster of little bites all over my body. It has been confirmed they are bedbugs, and Im itching like a crazy person. I have stayed at hotels all over the world, and this was my first bed bug experience. I will probobly return, but I will inspect the bed and ask for new linens.

Room Tip: Do not stay in 706!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilagarcia de Arousa, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel is being renewed, and of course there're always rooms bigger or nicer than others but all of them are clean, everything works ok. The location is great walking distance from Union Square and Market St from where is easy to move in urban transport. There's a bus right on the door of the hotel also. And near Polk St. where you can hang out. Staff is friendly and if it's true breakfast is not big deal, what do you expect? The elevator is slow, slow, slow, but that's all.
And I highly recommend pizza slices next door (cheap and big) and bagels cofee and some food, next corner walking right.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perruaviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

As the title suggests, this is a pretty no-frills hotel. However, if you are on a budget and all you are planning to do is sleep here (and be out for most of the day), this will be good enough.

Location: The hotel is only a few blocks away from Union Square (where there are many shops, restaurants, etc). It is also in close proximity to many bus stops which will take you to different tourist spots (Golden Gate, etc - although you will need at least one bus transfer to get to most of these). It is also a short walk (about 20 minutes) from China Town. Geary Street on the left of the hotel (after a block) is nice, there are many restaurants and shops. However, to the right of the hotel - it gets a little bit sketchier.

Room: Was clean and I liked how there was a ceiling light, rather than just lamps (as has been the case with many of the hotels I've stayed at). There is a timer on the light in the bathroom - i think this is for environmentally friendly reasons. As mentioned in previous reviews, there is no AC, only a ceiling fan, but that was fine for us.

Service: I was not a big fan of the customer service here. The staff behind the desk were often skyping or watching things on their laptops. This did not appear very professional - however, we had no major issues in particular with them.

Other: Wifi is descent, and there is good Vietnamese/Chinese restaurant across the street from the hotel. The food was delicious and quite authentic.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The rooms are clean and that is what is most important to me. Breakfast is terrible.. You can not call it breakfast. Stuff was not friendly. They charged my credit card, for some deposit that is unnecessarily to big, without any question and no explanation. But I repeat- room and the price of room are reasonable. And be careful-you can get stuck in an elevator :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveToLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
1,310 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#125 of 228 in San Francisco
1,234 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#187 of 228 in San Francisco
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#147 of 228 in San Francisco
827 reviews
The Opal San Francisco
#102 of 228 in San Francisco
1,112 reviews
Hotel EPIK
#129 of 228 in San Francisco
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adante Hotel

Property: Adante Hotel
Address: 610 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adante Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adante Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco, just three blocks from Union Square, cable cars, theaters and world class fine dining. Catering to both business and pleasure travelers, the Adante Hotel boasts a residential influence with amenities like WI-FI throughout the hotel and daily complimentary lite continental breakfast. The Adante Hotel's 92 guest rooms were updated with a sleek modern appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Adante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adante San Francisco
Adante Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing