We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION, CLEAN AND CHEAP”
Review of Adante Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adante Hotel
Ranked #175 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Vilagarcia de Arousa, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION, CLEAN AND CHEAP”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel is being renewed, and of course there're always rooms bigger or nicer than others but all of them are clean, everything works ok. The location is great walking distance from Union Square and Market St from where is easy to move in urban transport. There's a bus right on the door of the hotel also. And near Polk St. where you can hang out. Staff is friendly and if it's true breakfast is not big deal, what do you expect? The elevator is slow, slow, slow, but that's all.
And I highly recommend pizza slices next door (cheap and big) and bagels cofee and some food, next corner walking right.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perruaviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    210
    242
    107
    96
See reviews for
105
221
66
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

As the title suggests, this is a pretty no-frills hotel. However, if you are on a budget and all you are planning to do is sleep here (and be out for most of the day), this will be good enough.

Location: The hotel is only a few blocks away from Union Square (where there are many shops, restaurants, etc). It is also in close proximity to many bus stops which will take you to different tourist spots (Golden Gate, etc - although you will need at least one bus transfer to get to most of these). It is also a short walk (about 20 minutes) from China Town. Geary Street on the left of the hotel (after a block) is nice, there are many restaurants and shops. However, to the right of the hotel - it gets a little bit sketchier.

Room: Was clean and I liked how there was a ceiling light, rather than just lamps (as has been the case with many of the hotels I've stayed at). There is a timer on the light in the bathroom - i think this is for environmentally friendly reasons. As mentioned in previous reviews, there is no AC, only a ceiling fan, but that was fine for us.

Service: I was not a big fan of the customer service here. The staff behind the desk were often skyping or watching things on their laptops. This did not appear very professional - however, we had no major issues in particular with them.

Other: Wifi is descent, and there is good Vietnamese/Chinese restaurant across the street from the hotel. The food was delicious and quite authentic.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The rooms are clean and that is what is most important to me. Breakfast is terrible.. You can not call it breakfast. Stuff was not friendly. They charged my credit card, for some deposit that is unnecessarily to big, without any question and no explanation. But I repeat- room and the price of room are reasonable. And be careful-you can get stuck in an elevator :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveToLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Adante Hotel this past weekend for my daughter's swearing-in ceremony at UC Hastings School of Law, and although the price was right for a Friday night stay-over, there were many things that were troubling. The room had no heat or air conditioning unit, so we had to rely on the ceiling fan which we had to restart every two hours. The bathroom light must be on some sort of timer, because it would also come on about every two hours which was very annoying at night when the light would hit us right in the face. Since it was hot in the room, we had to open a window, and there was no screen on it. We were wondering if one of the pigeons would decide to join us in the room. There were bottles of water by the coffee maker which we would be charged for if we had them, but one of them had been opened, refilled with water (we guess) and had an A written on the cap. It was a little scary to wait for the elevator (which sounded like it was on its last legs) and read that any more than three people may cause it to stick.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Room and hotel not particularly clean and they added extra charges to my credit card after I checked out. Attempts to contact them to get them refunded were ignored

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rialto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Even if its cheap they gave my room away after I booked and paid for the rooms . Had to share one room with friends we traveled with. We all shared the shower after each other and a washer fell out and the shower didnt work anymore. Didnt get compensated for anything . No sorry for giving my room away to another customer. This was the worsed hotel Ive ever seen and been in . I only booked it because Hotel.com recommented it to me because my other booking was full at another hotel . Just looking at the inside of the lobby it gets worse as u get to the elevator. If 4 adults get in it it will not move let alone may stop on its way up.The room looked very old and not in good condition. This hotel should be knocked down and replaced with a new one.HORRIBLE STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: Dont do it. I warned you with my review . Dont stay at this hotel . Its a living night mare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The room was larger and nicer than I normally have in similar discount San Francisco hotels. The location was convenient and I did not notice any problems with the street people. The breakfast was just minimal but okay. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The wireless worked fine even though I was on the seventh floor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sralph48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
1,309 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#125 of 228 in San Francisco
1,234 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#187 of 228 in San Francisco
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#148 of 228 in San Francisco
826 reviews
The Opal San Francisco
#102 of 228 in San Francisco
1,112 reviews
Hotel EPIK
#130 of 228 in San Francisco
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adante Hotel

Property: Adante Hotel
Address: 610 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adante Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adante Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco, just three blocks from Union Square, cable cars, theaters and world class fine dining. Catering to both business and pleasure travelers, the Adante Hotel boasts a residential influence with amenities like WI-FI throughout the hotel and daily complimentary lite continental breakfast. The Adante Hotel's 92 guest rooms were updated with a sleek modern appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Adante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adante San Francisco
Adante Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing