We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Ranked #87 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    307
    196
    54
    28
See reviews for
162
233
86
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The rooms are very spacious and clean. Mattresses are comfortable, and enough pillows for just about anything. Bathroom works fine, water always warm. Rooms are equipped with, iron, fridge, microwave, tv, and etc. There's really not much to complain about. The manager, Rohit, gave great customer service. He was able to fight his way to get me the weekday rates and never stop checking discount until he can't anymore. I was able to get a double queen size bedroom on the same day upon arrival. Location by the way, within mins just about every tourist attraction. In the heart of SF. Love it. Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I paid around $220 during a long weekend but the price of all otter hotels were more or less same. Rooms are really colossal for 2 Queen Bed room. Location is really good. But this hotel is build in a old complex. Free Parking is a added advantage in the downtown that will save you some extra bucks but no guarantee parking available for all. Limited parking spot. Also I wish they provide a hot breakfast for the price they charge. The beak fast is very basic and run out very quickly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhabani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed here one night, and experienced the worst customer service I've ever had. The front desk manager, Rohit, was very rude and unhelpful. I asked for extra sheets and toothpaste, and I was denied both. When I arrived, there was a sign that said "be back in 10 min" without a reference to the time that he had left. Upon calling the front desk, he asked me "didn't you see the sign". This manager is very unfriendly.Don't stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wlspaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

In the foolish belief that a Fisherman’s Wharf or similar location was the ideal. I have to say this hotel was a hidden gem. Here's why:

We had a rental car with us for the entirety of our trip so free parking was very desirable, check! The hotel has free (but limited) parking. I managed to park up for the 4 nights here and on arrival managed to get one of the few remaining spaces (watch out for this if you are taking a car and plan to arrive later in the day, you will probably end up in paid city parking structures until you can grab a space the next day). It was an absolute god send to get a hotel in a city location where we could park a car without taking a mortgage out on parking fees.

The hotel is in a reasonably quiet residential area and credit to the reception staff who were very helpful on arrival, providing some very useful information. Rooms were kept clean and tidy by house staff and have fridge and coffee making facilities. TV's and AC, however we were very surprised at temperature in SF and had to pull fleece and coat out for evening walkabouts in (June) a complete contrast to temperatures in LA, so AC was not required. Rooms were a good size and comfortable and breakfast included in rate. Also has reasonable Wi-Fi.

Hotel in a very handy location, and if you are OK with public transport then purchase a Clipper Card (similar to London Oyster card) which provides unlimited use of bus, trolley and underground in SF for 1 day ($13) or 3 days ($26). The nearest retailer of these is Walgreens (Pharmacy) on Gough & Fell St. Public transport is very good and will get you to most of the tourist things in SF such as Fisherman’s Wharf, Alcatraz trip pier, Golden Gate Park, Downtown, Union Square were all very easily reached form hotel by bus/tram.

Plenty of good restaurants nearby and I do recommend Grove St Market over the street and unfussy corner market selling groceries, beer, cigarettes & made-to-order deli sandwiches (Sandwiches sold 10 am - 6 pm, sharp!). If you want a quick fast food bite on arrival try Double Decker next door to hotel (open 10:30 - 21:00 happy hour 1500 - 1800), situated also on Grove St. Handy for late arrival and you need something quick to eat. However there are good restaurants only a short walk from the hotel ask the reception staff for a local neighbourhood map and a city map for public transport.
This hotel is nothing fancy but perfect if you are in SF and just want somewhere safe, clean and comfortable to put you head down and you intend to be out and about most of the time.

Room Tip: Room 301 (top floor) was a good room at the end of the landing so no continual walk pasts. No rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Md
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Thumbs up and what a surprise! I highly recommend the Days Inn Downtown/Civic Center. Rooms are renovated and clean. Parking spaces are limited but in the 4 nights/5 days that we were there, we always found a space. This motel is located in the very trendy Hayes Valley District. Very safe, great restaurants within a 6 block radius. We were in town for my brothers wedding (he lives a couple blocks from this hotel). Nearby is the cable car on Market Street to take you anywhere downtown. The free breakfast was very basic (cereal, yogurt, toast, juice, coffee, granola). We choose to pass on the free breakfast and went around the corner to a French bakery. Our room was a queen. My sister and her kids were in a "Family 2 Queen room with kitchen". i was very impressed with the size of the family suite! Save some money and stay here!!!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor (310). Nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
817 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 487 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

A musty, older motel with 23 parking spaces located in a close-in trendy, leafy neighborhood. Security-type windows prevent a decent outside air flow so you have to rely on the cooling system for adjusted temperature. The room is somewhat compact but there was a microwave, small fridge, coffee maker, and an iron. No closet, just a rack with some hangers. There was a chest of drawers on top of which there was the TV. Bath area included a combo shower with tub. But the toilet lacked enough flush power and just about overflowed twice. And the housekeeper walked in on me once without knocking. The motel offers a starter breakfast in a room off of the office that doesn't include more than a few tables. But the surrounding neighborhood has wonderful shops and eateries and, if you stay here, you can literally walk to your opera or symphony seats in 5 minutes. It's served by the 21 bus which can take you downtown as well as west toward Golden Gate Park. The motel is 4 stories and served by one rickety elevator. A bit scary but I never got stuck.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoom_Gotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Phoenix Hotel SF
#20 of 229 in San Francisco
944 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#141 of 229 in San Francisco
150 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#159 of 229 in San Francisco
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
577 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#18 of 229 in San Francisco
364 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Property: Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Address: 465 Grove St, San Francisco, CA 94102-4302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing