We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #57 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
United States
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and had really great experience. The rooms were comfortable and clean. We slept great. We all felt the staff was friendly and efficient. The trolley leaves from almost right outside their door. Nice place and we would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelchiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,046
    1,553
    568
    213
    127
See reviews for
949
1,599
219
1,149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Some of the staff particularly woman at the front desk was extremely rude and snooty. She acted like she owned the place and was better than everyone else. She is not very customer service oriented and should definitely not be working at the front desk. Too many other good choices in the area. She ruined my stay and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliketotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel before the renovations. First impression is that the hotel, both lobby area and rooms have a refresh look especially for the rooms. Before the renovations, the rooms were really outdated and very tired looking, now, the room is much better and refreshing.
However I did encounter a very bad experience upon arrival. Wanted to park within the front of the hotel to just check-in and leave the luggage in the room. Normally it is concierge parking for that part which I informed the concierge and was told that even for that I needed to pay the normal charges even for the 15-20 mins. Was told to leave or pay, so I decided to try and get a parking along the street which I luckily found one. Found out later on when checking in that guests are indeed allowed to leave their car for 15-20 mins for the check-in/out process. Only got an apology from the front desk and that was all.
As an Elite member, you get nothing in the weekends, the lounge is close and there is no breakfast given too. Ok, this is within the program rule, but most of the hotels I have been too, hotels normally go one step further and still provide complimentary breakfast to Elite members when the lounge is closed, but sadly this hotel decided not to go that one step.
Overall the room was as expected, size of room ok with quite a small bathroom. Location is good, close to China Town and Union Square at the cross-junction of both cable-car lines.
Value for money - Ok but not great.
Staff: Ok, still find them a bit cold (same experience from previous stay).

Would I return, maybe but might try other Marriott's or even maybe the Hilton down the street, at least I am guaranteed breakfast as a Elite even in weekends!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nldogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We enjoyed our stay; great location, great staff, rooms are fine. Warm, cozy feel in lobby and lounge area; you don't feel like you're lost amongst hundreds in big hotel; and no long lines waiting for coffee or assistance was a real plus. Only down side would be no sundry store on site and lounge closes at 11 p.m. (even on weekends!). That said, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Perfect location, super clean, most helpful and attentive staff. The bed was among the most comfortable I've ever slept in.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jknottSanDiego_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Don't get me wrong, it is a very nice hotel. But, when you look around you at the Mark Hopkins, Ritz and Fairmont, you wonder why you are staying here. The facade needs some real work, even the entry way was incredibly bland, even at holiday time. Our room was however beyond all expectation in size, view and quality. Just fantastic. Parking in SFO is completely insane, but it is what it is. The restaurant decor did not entice us to try it in a city full of the best in dining options. And well, Nob Hill, I won't be staying there again either because let's get real, it's a hike. Not the hotel's fault of course, but I sure was happy when I finally made it back up that hill!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Nice hotel, up to date rooms, helpful polite staff. Restaurant is good. Just what you would expect from a Marriott. Health club is only average. no pool or hot tub. Concierge lounge serves the exact same food every night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritz_the_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,907 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Property: Stanford Court San Francisco
Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing