We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #68 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Some of the staff particularly woman at the front desk was extremely rude and snooty. She acted like she owned the place and was better than everyone else. She is not very customer service oriented and should definitely not be working at the front desk. Too many other good choices in the area. She ruined my stay and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iliketotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,336 - 4,342 of 4,949 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel before the renovations. First impression is that the hotel, both lobby area and rooms have a refresh look especially for the rooms. Before the renovations, the rooms were really outdated and very tired looking, now, the room is much better and refreshing.
However I did encounter a very bad experience upon arrival. Wanted to park within the front of the hotel to just check-in and leave the luggage in the room. Normally it is concierge parking for that part which I informed the concierge and was told that even for that I needed to pay the normal charges even for the 15-20 mins. Was told to leave or pay, so I decided to try and get a parking along the street which I luckily found one. Found out later on when checking in that guests are indeed allowed to leave their car for 15-20 mins for the check-in/out process. Only got an apology from the front desk and that was all.
As an Elite member, you get nothing in the weekends, the lounge is close and there is no breakfast given too. Ok, this is within the program rule, but most of the hotels I have been too, hotels normally go one step further and still provide complimentary breakfast to Elite members when the lounge is closed, but sadly this hotel decided not to go that one step.
Overall the room was as expected, size of room ok with quite a small bathroom. Location is good, close to China Town and Union Square at the cross-junction of both cable-car lines.
Value for money - Ok but not great.
Staff: Ok, still find them a bit cold (same experience from previous stay).

Would I return, maybe but might try other Marriott's or even maybe the Hilton down the street, at least I am guaranteed breakfast as a Elite even in weekends!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nldogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We enjoyed our stay; great location, great staff, rooms are fine. Warm, cozy feel in lobby and lounge area; you don't feel like you're lost amongst hundreds in big hotel; and no long lines waiting for coffee or assistance was a real plus. Only down side would be no sundry store on site and lounge closes at 11 p.m. (even on weekends!). That said, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlohaHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Perfect location, super clean, most helpful and attentive staff. The bed was among the most comfortable I've ever slept in.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jknottSanDiego_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Don't get me wrong, it is a very nice hotel. But, when you look around you at the Mark Hopkins, Ritz and Fairmont, you wonder why you are staying here. The facade needs some real work, even the entry way was incredibly bland, even at holiday time. Our room was however beyond all expectation in size, view and quality. Just fantastic. Parking in SFO is completely insane, but it is what it is. The restaurant decor did not entice us to try it in a city full of the best in dining options. And well, Nob Hill, I won't be staying there again either because let's get real, it's a hike. Not the hotel's fault of course, but I sure was happy when I finally made it back up that hill!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Nice hotel, up to date rooms, helpful polite staff. Restaurant is good. Just what you would expect from a Marriott. Health club is only average. no pool or hot tub. Concierge lounge serves the exact same food every night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fritz_the_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Stayed for 5 nights, was pleasant enough. Good value for money and fantastic location. For most part the service was good, but not consistent. Rooms were clean and tidy and housekeeping did a great job. The food was okay, but rather boring after 1-2 meals.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abezeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#64 of 230 in San Francisco
1,729 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
3,666 reviews
SoMa
The Park Central San Francisco
The Park Central San Francisco
#66 of 230 in San Francisco
3,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $181 - $688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the new Stanford Court! We are excited to share our multi-million dollar transformation that includes updates & revamps that transcend to our lobby, café , bar, porte-cochere, & fitness center. Guided by the design concept of "where tomorrow meets yesterday," the newly renovated Stanford Court integrates Nob Hill's grand history with the innovative and tech-focused spirit of today's San Francisco. Expect cool graphics, a new modern color palette and nods to our past. Our new 1500 square foot Fitness Center features state of the art equipment including interactive Kinima stations offering personalized workouts and floor-to-ceiling windows that fill the space with natural light and views of the famed cable cars. As always, guests will find their stay here enhanced with inspiring innovations, sophisticated technology, and a taste of the Bay Area's cultural connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing