We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the hotel and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #50 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
“Loved the hotel and location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed at this hotel with our two young children, ages 5 and 8. Our stay was wonderful! This hotel sits right on the trolley line, just north of Chinatown and also near Little Italy. North of the hotel (uphill all the way), you can find coffee shops, restaurants and shopping. You can walk to the bay since it is downhill the whole way, though it is a bit of a hike. The trolley was often full along the street to this hotel, so we were only able to ride twice in the four days we were there (even during week). The room was very comfortable and clean. We usually stay in suite-type hotels since we have young children, so I was concerned that we would be on top of each other in a standard room, but we were very comfortable here. The rooms are very large by San Francisco standards. The beds were very comfortable. We received a $30 credit towards breakfast every morning and the food was was really good in the hotel (though I would not have paid the prices without the discount). The service was also very good and the employees helpful - we had our beds turned down every night. My only complaint was with the elevator service. We were on the 7th floor, and almost always had to stop at every floor to pick people up - the elevators were often completely full. Other than that, this is a very classy hotel, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ccgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,930
    1,442
    512
    180
    106
See reviews for
874
1,469
204
1,071
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed here recently for a family wedding at The Fairmont (which is across the street and over double the price). We booked several rooms together. The rooms with a king bed were on the smallish side, with a small bathroom, but very well appointed. Excellent bed and bedding, marble and granite in the bath, towel warmer, nice fluffy pillows and bed top, coffeemaker and fridge in room and we had a decent view. Our rate was great ($159 for those of us who were there during the week and $95 for those only there on the weekend) and we booked directly with the hotel. The same rates were on Marriott.com, but our reservations were complex so we did them over the phone. Parking is really expensive, so don't bother with a car if you can. This hotel is at the top of Nob Hill, so the climb is steep, but the cable car stop is down the street. We like to walk and from here, you can get to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown and the Italian area in 25 minutes tops. Chinatown is just a couple blocks. The service was great and you can get free coffee, tea or hot chocolate delivered to your door with a wake-up call. They have a well-appointed fitness room with free headphones. The gym was kept very clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing Sussex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed at the Stanford Court for 3 nights at the sterat of a 2 week fly drive in California and Nevada. It was the best hotel and we had a room overlooking the crossover of the two cable car routes. A bit noisy with the window open early morning as a result- but we were there for the experience and really got it here. Perfect location as you can cable car anywhere as a visitor- excellent. Get a day ticket as it works out well worth it and covers the trams as well.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussexmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

We obtained a wonderful rate for a 6 day stay at this hotel directly through Marriott. I called ahead to tell them it was a trip for my husband's birthday. They obliged by giving up a room with a beautiful view of the bay and by offering good wishes upon check-in. Overall, the staff was poite, helpful and professional - from front desk to chambermaids. Some reviewers have indicated cheap furnishings and carpets. I felt they were a nice modern touch that juxtoposed nicely with the older architecture. To each his/her own, I suppose. The beds are quite comfortable, the bathroom is spacious and there is a lot of space to store luggage as well as clothing. Whenever we called for something (extra towels etc.), the service was prompt. The fitness room was well equipped and clean. Plus, although this is not publicized, there is complimentary coffee (piping hot and in a thermos pitcher) delivered to your room on request each morning (call the front desk the night before). We rented a car for a day trip to Napa and parked at the garage on Stockton and Sutter to avoid the high hotel parking charge (only $8 there). It is an easy walk. The one big "downside" - quite literally- is that with a wonderful view comes the location at the top of some BIG hills. We are walkers and found that there were some of the hills seemed to get steeper as the day went on. It is in a very elegant neighborhood with some exceedingly expensive hotels in the surrounding blocks. We would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLENJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

Had a nice stay at Stanford Court. It was my wife's birthday and were in town for 4-days. Pro: Great location as far as getting around. At the corner of were both cable car lines cross. Nice rooms newly remodeled. Great service overall from Good Staff (Just one rude front desk clerk) Gave directions and dinner suggestions (Nob Hill Cafe!! Great place, saw Ben Stein there!!!) cons: All the way at the top of the HILL and no were to get soda and water. Only at the bar 5.00 for water or a soda. Had coke machine but it was broke for all four days. Overall Great place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexanMike77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

When we travel we enjoy staying at a hotel that reflects the historical culture of a city or community. The Sanford Court previously had old world victorian charm. We especally enjoyed this during holidays. There was an unstated elegance that made you feel pampered. We would come in from our whirlwind outtings and feel peaceful in the beautiful rooms. I would call the remodel cheap and ugly, something that feels like staying at Ikea with the colors selected by clowns. Who selected the yellow carpeting with circular dotted patterns (found in the hallways)? It's horrible, just horrible. We will not be staying here any longer, i'ts cheap, tacky and overpriced for it's new image. Don't pay for an upgraded view unless you can get above the 6th floor, it's a joke. Watch out for the extra charges for anything extra...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoraineSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

I stayed at the Renaissance Stanford Court with my partner for 7 nights commencing on the 24th June 2009. The hotel came highly recommended by a Travel Consultant at a well known holiday firm so even though I had not done any research prior to booking the San Francisco portion of my 2 week US holiday, I felt this recommendation gave me a certain degree of confidence that it would match my expectations. However, subsequent reviews I read on Trip Advisor where far from reassuring but as with everything, I arrived at the Hotel with an open mind. On arrival at the Hotel, I was far from impressed with the frontage - it was hardly a grand entrance although the fountain in the courtyard was pretty and the only redeeming feature. I noticed a sign stating that the Hotel was working to improve that area so this maybe accounted for the litter and dirty appearance of the entrance. On entering the Hotel, we were met with what can only be described as chaos. The lobby was full of people attempting to check-in, the majority of whom were cabin crew from the flight we had just arrived on! There is no signage in the reception area so we just queued up hoping that we were at the right desk which fortunately we were. Whilst the lobby area was chaotic, we did not have to wait that long. The check in process itself was efficient and the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful. I checked that my view room request had been honoured to which I was informed it had and the room was on the fourth floor so I felt quite optimistic. The reception area is quite modern and tastefully decorated, unlike the fourth floor which was like stepping into the 1970s with a psychedelic yellow carpet which was quite heavily stained and the corridors to the room had a very stale aroma. The room itself was quite spacious, being bright and airy - with two large windows as it was a corner room. Whilst the room did have a view, it was not a bay view and the room was located next door to the parking lot/delivery area of the Hotel next door so the noise level early in the morning especially was very annoying. The furnishings were a mish mash of ancient and modern but certainly satisfcatory. The space was wasted with the provision of two very large chairs and footstools more akin to a retirement home. The bathroom was satisfactory too although the bath was very small and the shower/tiles were in need of a deep clean as they were covered in mould and mildew. The room had a safe and tea/coffee making facilities which was a welcome addition and the television was modern with a large selection of channels and pay per view channels. It was a pity that the room did not contain a mini bar which would have been a useful provision especially as the hotel did not have a shop for the purchase of drinks/snacks. On arrival at the room, we could not find the remote control for the television so asked a member of the housekeeping team who was nearby for a replacement. She brought along a replacement which did not have any batteries and after a further request, a working remote control was delivered about 20 minutes later. Other annoyances relating to our room during our stay included the bathroom light which came on and off during the night as the movement sensor must have been faulty; the sink plug mechansim was broken on arrival although it was fixed the following day after my leaving a note; the housekeeping team were very poor when it came to the replenishment of the stocks of tea/coffee/milk - most days we were left 2 coffee sachets (one decaf and one normal), 2 small milks and often left only one disposable cup! We left notes each day which were largely ignored ; the room started with the provision of 4 glasses which were never replaced after use - they were simply removed from the room so at the end of our stay we had no glasses. The main disappointement with the room was the standard of cleaning which was very poor indeed - on our final day prior to checking out we did the usual cursory search of the room to check for mislaid socks etc and on checking under the bed, we were disgusted to find an inch of dust and loads of litter and mess along with two television remote controls. The beds had not been cleaned under for months which was not acceptable. The only redeeming feature of this hotel was its location which was excellent with 2 cable car lines directly outside the hotel which enabled easy transfer to all the tourist locations. Whilst I did not complain on checking out, I hope the management of the Hotel will take on board my observations which represent a true and accurate reflection of the standards we experienced. Whilst we were not really impressed, this hotel is satisfactory in its own right and a little more attention to detail and modernisation of the facilities would certainly make a big difference overall.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHotelInspector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,056 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Property: Stanford Court San Francisco
Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing