We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #64 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 30, 2005

We stayed at the Renaissance Stanford Court for three nights in September 2004. The service was excellent and the staff members were all helpful and friendly. We loved the location, close to public transportation and also close enough to walk to several attractions. Our room was very comfortable, quiet and peaceful and we loved the little luxuries of turndown service and morning tea delivered to our door.
On our next visit to San Francisco, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greenberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,780)
There are newer reviews for Stanford Court San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,440 - 4,446 of 4,780 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2005

I stayed 3 nights in a fantastic room overlooking California street. The service was great! The staff was very pleasant. Considering that the posted room rate was $250 a night, I am shocked to read some of the comments other writers has left especially considering they paid around $80. Parking in the city is expensive at ALL hotels. I cannot believe some complained about it when their room was so highly discounted. I really enjoyed that the valet would have my rental car ready at a moments call. But with two criss-crossing cable car lines just outside the hotel door it was seldom used. It was nice to come back after sight seeing to find the beds turned down and a robe layed out. Such nice little touches that I didn't recieve when staying at other more expensive hotel. I suggest you give them a try.

3  Thank ATourist2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2005

I was worried about the type of room and service we would receive as we booked the hotel through Priceline for 48 GBP per night and previous reviewers expressed that staff at the hotel weren't very nice if you went through priceline; but I was pleasantly surprised. We stayed from Jan 5th to Jan 7th. The staff at the desk were very nice and not snobbish at all, and we had a good room, perhaps not what everyone would expect form a four star hotel but it had all the amenities we needed, it was clean, and a good size. I would recommend staying there, it's also in a great location.

2  Thank charlotte32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2005

First the good, we arrived without a stroller for my younger child. When we asked where to purchase one the front dest person told us they have them to loan in the hotel. We used it for entire stay. The coffee service was wonderful, even the day i forgot to order I called down and within minutes we had our beverages. My son loves getting hot coco (something that dosent happen to often at home).
Next the bad, though my room was clean twice a day, with two little ones you need it. After a few days our robes and shampoo's were not replaced so we had to call down for more. This did happen more than once.
The hotel has a great Sleigh in the lobby during the holiday season. Though i feel overcharged for parking ($41 per night) our car was always out front and ready to go when we called. Just in case you were wondering there is nowhere else to park in the area, this area is all hotels.
For the area NOB Hill we got a great deal on priceline of about $80 per night. Just wish we could have bid on the parking.
Overall, Thanks for the great stay.

2  Thank lufiboo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2005

Just returned from a 6 night stay and our verdict is that this is an excellent hotel. The wakeup call with complimentary tea/coffee was brilliant and always ontime. Our room on the 6th floor, overlooking the inner courtyard roof, was clean and well furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the room quiet. As others have said the location is perfect, at the crossroads of the cablecar lines and a short (steep) walk downhill to union square. There is also a complimentary town car service ( excellent ) for short journeys. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the lounge was fine and the food very good. We would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikepYarm_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
23
Reviewed December 29, 2004

With all the hype that this hotel is given, I was disappointed with the quality of the hotel room. The lobby, location and staff were top-notch, however the rooms themselves were depressing and that's what really matters. Their heated towel racks didnt' do much but I will say that their morning complimentary beverage delivery was great.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2004

Booked through priceline. $76 a night. Got the most horrible room, with a mattress you could feel the springs through. Room was a relic of the seventies, I doubt they even washed the bedspread since then. It was very tacky and looked like a motel 6 room.
We were told we could upgrade to a deluxe room for $50!! Insane!
Not only that but the front desk was very rude about us booking through Priceline, very snotty and said - you booked through Priceline- that's what you get.

Horrible Horrible. Never again!

One of the WORST hotels I have ever stayed in, that includes all other 4 star hotels I booked through Priceline in the past in NY, Paris, LA and SF.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amy221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $176 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing