We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #66 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 4, 2005

Just returned from a 6 night stay and our verdict is that this is an excellent hotel. The wakeup call with complimentary tea/coffee was brilliant and always ontime. Our room on the 6th floor, overlooking the inner courtyard roof, was clean and well furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the room quiet. As others have said the location is perfect, at the crossroads of the cablecar lines and a short (steep) walk downhill to union square. There is also a complimentary town car service ( excellent ) for short journeys. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the lounge was fine and the food very good. We would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikepYarm_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,529 - 4,535 of 4,877 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
23
Reviewed December 29, 2004

With all the hype that this hotel is given, I was disappointed with the quality of the hotel room. The lobby, location and staff were top-notch, however the rooms themselves were depressing and that's what really matters. Their heated towel racks didnt' do much but I will say that their morning complimentary beverage delivery was great.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2004

Booked through priceline. $76 a night. Got the most horrible room, with a mattress you could feel the springs through. Room was a relic of the seventies, I doubt they even washed the bedspread since then. It was very tacky and looked like a motel 6 room.
We were told we could upgrade to a deluxe room for $50!! Insane!
Not only that but the front desk was very rude about us booking through Priceline, very snotty and said - you booked through Priceline- that's what you get.

Horrible Horrible. Never again!

One of the WORST hotels I have ever stayed in, that includes all other 4 star hotels I booked through Priceline in the past in NY, Paris, LA and SF.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amy221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Savannah, GA
12
Reviewed December 16, 2004

Stayed at the Hotel from 12/10/04-12/16/04. Reserved through Priceline at $80 a night for standard room. The Renissance is known for a theme like atmosphere and this hotel lived up to it. I felt like I was in a Hotel that was that was a little older like an old hollywood hotel (intentionaly done). The view wasnt the best since we overlooked part of the Mark Hopkins Hotel but they have to have rooms all the way around. Turn Down service was great and the staff was helpful and friendly. But after all of that I have to say location location location. On top of Nob hill at Powell and California we would walk down to union square or China Town and catch a trolly car back and no panhndling like I would have dealt with anywhere else. I would definetly go back.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mass
12
Reviewed December 14, 2004

This is a perfect balance of quality, service and price. I have stayed at several SF hotels, but when I found this one I became a regular. Service is wonderful, and I don't say that casually. One of the better restaurants in the city! Across the street is a great health club (free for Stanford guests). Love this hotel. Highly recommended!!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
11
Reviewed December 5, 2004

My financee and I stayed at the Renaissance Stanford Court (12/01 to 12/05). What a great hotel for a great price. We did priceline and paid $75/night. As soon as we arrived, the person behind the desk voluntarily upgraded us to a deluxe room. The bed was so comfortable and the bedding set was so great we want to buy the same set for home. The whole staff was simply the best. From the turn down service with chilled water at your bedside, to the complimentary town car service, you will be glad you stayed there.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2004

Got this hotel for $70/night through priceline, and we were quite pleased. Room with 2 queens was very spacious, comfortable, and quiet, and service top notch. The Stanford Court will not be everyone's cup of tea--it's kind of old fashioned and the rooms and furnishings are deliberately retro, down to the pocket doors leading into the bathroom and the ancient mini tv/radio in the bath area. everything has been updated recently, but in kind of a glamourous hotel of yesteryear way. it does NOT look like a westin, at all, but i liked it quite a lot. several nice luxury touches, like the bathrobes, turndown with chocolates, free shoeshine. another plus is that on weekdays they have complimentary town car service within the city. beds were excellent and the service/lobby area were grand. it's a bit removed from the bustle of union sq, but not too far out of the way. i liked the fact that the surrounding area was quiet and not teeming with panhandlers, like some areas of union sq can be. we parked on the street nearby without any problems.

2  Thank Illinois_traveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#68 of 230 in San Francisco
1,718 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#97 of 230 in San Francisco
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $148 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the new Stanford Court! We are excited to share our multi-million dollar transformation that includes updates & revamps that transcend to our lobby, café , bar, porte-cochere, & fitness center. Guided by the design concept of "where tomorrow meets yesterday," the newly renovated Stanford Court integrates Nob Hill's grand history with the innovative and tech-focused spirit of today's San Francisco. Expect cool graphics, a new modern color palette and nods to our past. Our new 1500 square foot Fitness Center features state of the art equipment including interactive Kinima stations offering personalized workouts and floor-to-ceiling windows that fill the space with natural light and views of the famed cable cars. As always, guests will find their stay here enhanced with inspiring innovations, sophisticated technology, and a taste of the Bay Area's cultural connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing