We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in a Classic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #66 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our stay was perfect from beginning to end. Courteous, friendly staff. Lovely room with very nice amenities. Sweet surprise of 2 chilled water bottles in our car when we checked out. Classic charm with modern touches (Twitter hash tags used everywhere--cute idea). A great place to stay for our anniversary weekend celebration!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simondsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Awesome! Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star experience with us. I hope to welcome you back on your next momentous occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,600 - 3,606 of 4,986 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

We got a great rate on Expedia and were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Great location on Nob Hill, a few blocks north of Union Square. Hotel seems to have been fairly recently refurbished in the public areas on the ground floor and our room was also very nice, so as long as you can ignore the corridors which are a throw-back to tasteless design from the 70s (but I am sure will be fixed in time), this is a really good option to be close to everything in a comfortable hotel. Suspect rooms on the outside of the building may be noisy from the cable cars and traffic, but ours facing into the internal courtyard was very quiet. Would definitely stay again if I got a similar rate.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you for your comments. Plans for the corridors are in the works. I hope will find these improvements to your liking on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This place is conveniently located - You can walk to most tourist places and also to office locations in Financial District so this place was perfect for my combined business and pleasure trip. Rooms are a bit small but it wasnt a problem for me and my family since we werent in the hotel much - we spent our time exploring the city (fishermans wharf, nob hill, north beach, lombard street, telegraph hill, coit tower, et ). Place is a bit noisy before 10 pm but it gets a bit qiueter after the cable cars stop coming by. The gym is nice and has pull up machine. I would stay here again.

Thank Jesus V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit to San Francisco. I look forward for the opportunity to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Come back from a two night trip as a Virgin Atlantic crew companion. Hotel was great with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!

Great location, only a short walk to Union Square and bars and restaurants

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that our beds were just right for you. I hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We booked the Stanford Court using airline miles to defray most of the cost.

The location on Nob Hill was active but away from the crowded hotel scene down the hill.

Our room was ready when we arrived at 1pm. The hotel is clean and modern and our room on the 8th floor met our expectations.

The mini fridge was empty but I took that as a positive so we could store our own water and snacks. Speaking of water, it was only $1 a bottle at the front desk (better than the usual exorbitant prices).

The concierge desk was very helpful recommending transit routes to make the most of our 7 day transit pass (also a bargain).

There is no room service but we had no problem ordering from a neighborhood Thai restaurant. The lobby restaurant could open a bit earlier than 6:30am but there is great coffee just across the street at Cafe Centro.

Overall it was a great stay.

1  Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your taking the time to review us. I am glad you found our amenities and location ideal for a savvy traveler such as yourself. I hope for the pleasure to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel shouldn't have more than 3 stars. Small rooms with no wardrobes, small double beds, awfully noisy air condition ( all guests comment about it) and no room service, even nearby restaurants refuse to deliver to this address. The staff are particularly bad they see you and look away not to even say hello to you and the reception staff couldn't be less willing to help. Shame because the hotel is a beautiful building in a great location but so badly managed that makes you hate the place.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank JL24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your comments. I am deeply sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I’m sorry that you felt our staff to be shy. I assure you that our staff works hard to provide a warm and inviting atmosphere for all our guests, and I’m very sorry that you experienced otherwise. We strive to provide our guests with the highest level of customer service, and I appreciate your feedback in helping to address areas that need attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for five nights during our school spring break in April. From the moment we arrived to the day we left, we were treated extremely well by all staff! The front desk people,the concierge, the doormen, and wait staff in breakfast room were all very polite and helpful. The rooms were beautiful, with old world charm and elegance, and modern conveniences. The bed was extremely comfortable, the pillows, however, were a bit too soft for my taste. The bathroom was huge, with marble counters, tile floor and a much appreciated full length mirror. It was kept very clean by room staff, and always replenished with fresh towels and toiletries. I appreciated the empty bar fridge as opposed to a mini bar. The room was very well lit, with reading lights by the bed. I had a premium view room, which looked out over a very busy Powell Street, and had a great view of the bay. While the street could get very noisy with the cable cars and sirens, I soon got used to it and it never kept me awake at night. While this hotel does not have a full service restaurant or room service, they do have breakfast choices and plenty of seating next to the lobby, and we were able to get food and drinks from the bar after a late night trip from Alcatraz. Super fast and free wifi alone makes this hotel a great choice! The location is really good, as it's a short walk to Chinatown, Union Square and many great restaurants. It is at the top of a very steep hill, but the walk up several times a day served as a fantastic workout! if I ever return to SF, and I hope I do, I would certainly choose the Stanford Court again!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank CanuckFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Amazing! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! I look forward to your next visit back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
SoMa
The Park Central San Francisco
The Park Central San Francisco
#68 of 231 in San Francisco
3,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#63 of 231 in San Francisco
1,738 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#96 of 231 in San Francisco
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $178 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the new Stanford Court! We are excited to share our multi-million dollar transformation that includes updates & revamps that transcend to our lobby, café , bar, porte-cochere, & fitness center. Guided by the design concept of "where tomorrow meets yesterday," the newly renovated Stanford Court integrates Nob Hill's grand history with the innovative and tech-focused spirit of today's San Francisco. Expect cool graphics, a new modern color palette and nods to our past. Our new 1500 square foot Fitness Center features state of the art equipment including interactive Kinima stations offering personalized workouts and floor-to-ceiling windows that fill the space with natural light and views of the famed cable cars. As always, guests will find their stay here enhanced with inspiring innovations, sophisticated technology, and a taste of the Bay Area's cultural connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing