We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under renovatoin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #65 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 31, 2008

I stayed one night on a business trip at the Standford court and picked this hotel for the location and Marriott points. It is under some serious renovation - if you like a formal lobby wait until they are done and I am sure it will be beautiful. Right now there is just a small area cordoned off to register and no real lobby - just an area that at one point must have been a conference room that has some couches and a make shift bar. The rooms are small but clean and well appointed. Staff is very accommodating and location is great on Nob Hill. Health club is closed but complimentary pass to neighbor facility is available. Also no concierge level until renovation is complete.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank burchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,780)
There are newer reviews for Stanford Court San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,298 - 4,304 of 4,781 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2008

We had the chance to stay here but one night and it was glorious. The room was impeecably appointed, spotless and exceedingly comfortable. In addition, the service was exceptional: they had my pantes hemmed for me on a Saturday morning for me just before I left for the next leg of my journey.
The location is appealing as well. Since it sits on Nob Hill, everything we wanted was within walking distance or a short cab ride. Shopping, food, nightlife and sightseeing were all close by. Thus, I highly recommend this hotel.
So why not the full five stars, you might be wondering? Well that's the basis of my sole complaint. We happened to stay there towards the end of construction so we did not have a real lobby to see, or a bar or restaraunt to grab a snack or a cocktail due to the construction. Also, the valet area is terrible. Both times I pulled in there, someone had left their car so that it blocked the circle to get around to the valet. A minor nuisance, admittedly, but something that should be noted. Still, all in all, I would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank txlitig8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

The hotel is under renovations and the lobby is of no use. The check in is practically done in a closet. We stayed on the top floor facing the bay but right above the trolly cars with the 'at first' lovely clanging-- the longer that went on the more annoying that was, and then the car honking. Not very restful soundwise, but the bed was really lovely and soft.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank hastababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Really enjoyed our stay at the Stanford Court. The hotel is right at the top of Nob Hill - going down is easy coming back is a killer!
We purchased a 3 day ticket from the hotel for the 'muni' transport so were able to use the trams, cable cars and buses so getting around was made easier. The room was very clean but did seem small as we had just come back from large rooms in San Fransisco and Hawaii. The decor was lovely as the room had been recently renovated. There were tea/coffee making facilities, air conditioning and a huge TV. The beds were turned back every evening and a chocolate and bottle of water left in the room for our use. The radio was also turned on which made the room seem very comfortable to come back too. We did not have much to do with the front desk so I can't really comment on this. The doormen were very pleasant and happy to have a chat everytime we came in and out. There is a free internet /computer in the foyer which is for everyone's use but they do ask that you restrict the usage time to 10 minutes which seemed reasonable.
It would have been nice to see more of the hotel but with all of the renovations being carried out this was impossible. Be prepared to wait a long time to for the cable cars as obviously everyone wants/needs to use them. Use the 'muni' transport to go to the Golden Bridge then take a walk across - very invigorating!
If you want to visit Alcatraz you MUST book before going, we were really dissapointed to find that all the tickets had gone until at least a week after we left. We had to make do with a boat trip around the island which wasn't quite the same.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethany63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

The rooms have been recently renovated. However the room I had was very small with no closet or dresser space. There was a place to hang your clothes in the bathroom! View looked onto a courtyard that was very depressing. A large flag blocked the light into the room with a strobe effect in the late afternoon. I slipped and fell in the bath tub taking a shower and was unable to get a bath mat.
The staff seemed nice but I had little interaction with them. I was there for a meeting. Facilities were adequate.
I do like Marriott and stay at Marriott when I can. I am afraid if this is what they are aiming their renovations at in this property they have missed the mark. I would stay elsewhere if I was to return for a conference.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DrTomPls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

I booked three rooms for three nights for our family get-together in San Fransciso. Everyone really enjoyed comfy, clean rooms and the price was very reasonable on Priceline. All three rooms were newly renovated on the upper floors! Free champagn in the Lobby on Thursday evening welcomed us to the hotel - very nice. The concierge was fabulous! We had trouble getting reservations to The Slanted Door - a restaurant that was highly recommended to us. The concierge was able to book our reservations like magic. The concierge continued to be our best friend throughout the weekend. The hotel is undergoing renovations but we were only disturbed by noise on late Friday afternoon. Everything was quiet over the weekend. This is a nice location with easy access to public transportation. The trolleys were very crowded most of the time but well worth the wait to back to the hotel...as it's a very steep walk from almost any direction! We had breakfast at the hotel one morning and it was pleasant and delicious - although the service was a bit slow. We did have difficulty keeping ice in the room with no ice machine available. Room service would bring ice - but it usually took awhile. We took the hotel limo to SFO airport for a very reasonable price. Overall a very nice weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kmc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights with our two sons. The staff is very professional and usually friendly and helpful. The layout of the hotel is a little strange and it was undergoing extensive renovations, so I'm not sure we saw it all.

The lobby (not check-in) seems out of the way, so you never think of enjoying it. Not really sure what was there--the hotel didn't seem to have a lounge or bar. It did have a restaurant, but again it was out-of-the-way so you don't think about patronizing it. I never even saw it, so I can't comment on it.

The concierge here is very helpful always ready with dinner recommendations, help with reservations, and even arranged for our rental car to be returned for us.

Our room was on the fifth floor with city views. It was beautifully decorated and newly refurbished. The beds were extremely comfortable and triple-sheeted. There was a nice, large flat screen television. The room was very quiet, except during the day when there was the noise of construction. It wasn't horrible, but could be heard. It was also very clean. There were nice robes for after showering.

On the downside: the room was quite small. One of our double beds was pushed up against the wall, so whoever slept there (me!) had to crawl over the other person. The bathroom was also quite small, especially the vanity area. The toilet and shower were separate from the vanity, which was nice. The room did not have a mini-bar or a dresser. Since the room was small, we had suitcases every where.

Our boys had room service several times as my husband were going out for dinner. The service was quick (20 minutes or so) and the food was very good and excellently transported. For example, the milks and ice cream were kept on ice to keep them cold. The staff was friendly. Of course, it was very expensive. We paid about $40 dollars every night for a small pepperoni pizza, pb&J, 2 milks, and two cookies by the time we paid the already high-cost of the food, delivery fee, and gratuity. Food in San Francisco is very expensive in general, and the convenience was nice and allowed my husband and me to get ready for a night out and gave our kids a treat of room service in front of the TV.

The hotel is located at the top of Nob Hill and at the intersection of two cable car lines. It is only three blocks from China Town and close to a nice shopping district. There are some beautiful views. Walking in San Francisco and especially this area is quite a workout! The hills are very steep and it is straight up hill to the Stanford Court from every direction! As I said, two cable car lines stop in front of the hotel, which is nice, but they can be extremely crowded and you may need to be aggressive if you have stood at the cable car stop for awhile only to be pushed out of the way by others running for the car as it stops.

This was a nice hotel, located in a pretty and historical area. Nob Hill was the center of old San Francisco wealth in the early 20th century. It is close to some interesting sites (but not Fisherman's Wharf although the cable cars take you directly there.) I'm not sure I would chose this hotel again, though, if I were to return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magg1ema3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
3,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $176 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing