We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not My Home while in San Francisco ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #54 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not My Home while in San Francisco ”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

This is my third tie staying at the Stanford Court in SF, the previous times it was in 2004 and 2005 from some odd reason I wanted to try it again - and I ended up disappointed

The Premier View King - is Small, you need to step to the side of the window in order to see the "View" of the Bay.

Mini Bar - empty
Bath Robe you have to call and ask for it - it's not waiting for you in the Room.
Laundry bag - you have to call Housekeeping so they will send you one
Parking - outrageously Expensive - 1 block up the street you can park for 60% if the price $50 a day (guest or not )

No IPod Dock - but you have a CD player...

Stuff - Friendly
Room - Feels Clean

"Save the Children" a very Human Cause and just for this collaboration the hotel deserve a Star

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback of the hotel operations as it assists us tremendously in our continuous mission to strive for a higher standard in guest services. We will discuss all the items that you’ve mentioned above. We hope to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,003
    1,516
    545
    197
    122
See reviews for
920
1,554
211
1,124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I guess I'm spoiled by nice four star modern hotels. I'm not saying this hotel is bad, but for the price its good. We paid $139.00 for a small queen room. But beware the parking is $57.00 a day.
Here's a tip.... if you drive up to the top of Nob Hill just 2 blocks away is a famous Church;the Church garage is $27.00 per night. The room was just ok , it's an older feel, but clean and comfortable. If you like it quiet ask for room facing courtyard, but there won't be any City views.
The lobby and bar area is very nice and it is just steps away from cable car. There are a bazillion o restaurants nearby so try not to eat in Hotel... experience San Francisco.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard facing room if you like it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicalTommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Found this overall a comfortable hotel, with good size rooms, clean, all the amenities need for a business trip.

Location is not central, and hotel's common areas (especially corridors) could be in better shape. Some noise from street cars (depending on room location) and air con.

Lack of in-hotel dining options (except for breakfast) is an issue, however there is no shortage of good food (and drinks!) in San-Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobMQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed for two nights on 23 and 24 Nov. Good hotel in a very good location. Room was pleasantly decently sized with good bathroom, wardrobe etc. Housekeeping was good and staff I encountered were friendly. The hotel had no record of my reservation which took over 30 minutes ot ascertain before they decided that as the travel agent (lucky for me) was well known to them I could book in anyway. The room was prepaid. This was subsequently sorted between the hotel and travel agent and I didn't hear any more about it, thought I did get a late check-out which was appreciated. I did not eat or drink in the hotel and the public areas seemed if perfectly pleasant also very corporate and bland. There was nothing in hotel by way of an interesting bar or restaurant to entice one to try and there are a myriad of options very nearby. Indeed the very good and safe location is a selling point of this hotel. All in a all a good hotel and a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had one day/night to spend in San Fran and found this place as a last minute deal. Really great location in Nob Hill. Staff was super friendly and our room was perfect. Would stay again next time were in town for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! Our staff was very happy to hear of your comments. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed on two consecutive Sunday nights in November and had the pleasure of having the two Seans/Shons at the front desk. I can be a demanding guest and I asked to change rooms to a quieter room the first night and they moved me upstairs and away from the streetcar noise. On the second night they new the game plan and they went out of their way to make sure I was accommodated with a nice upgrade

Many Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We are so pleased to hear of your experience with our staff. The Sean/Shon duo is instrumental to our success and we are happy about your acknowledgment! We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is the first time staying at the Stanford Ct since I used to stay quite often in the early 2000's.The hotel is quite different in it's design and layout, but that is not necessarily bad. The lobby was very nice. A sleek, clean design with an open air feel. The staff were all very nice. My issue was the lack of food options for breakfast. There is a little pasty/coffee area, but the coffee was sub-par and it didn't open until 6:30am. The bar at night was nice, but almost empty both nights we were there. We felt conspicious sitting alone there so we passed on it and went to the Top of the Mark.

The rooms were spacious and bed pretty comfy. They used to room service coffee, but no more. just the standard coffee maker with really awful coffee, so we didn't even drink it. The shower head was so low I had to stoop, but that's not a huge deal.

Overall, not the hotel I remember and the lack of hustle and bustle made it seem isolated. I would likely try other hotels in the area next time I come to SF.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Property: Stanford Court San Francisco
Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing