We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and super comfy beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #66 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had one day/night to spend in San Fran and found this place as a last minute deal. Really great location in Nob Hill. Staff was super friendly and our room was perfect. Would stay again next time were in town for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for your review! Our staff was very happy to hear of your comments. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,602 - 3,608 of 4,877 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed on two consecutive Sunday nights in November and had the pleasure of having the two Seans/Shons at the front desk. I can be a demanding guest and I asked to change rooms to a quieter room the first night and they moved me upstairs and away from the streetcar noise. On the second night they new the game plan and they went out of their way to make sure I was accommodated with a nice upgrade

Many Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopher c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

We are so pleased to hear of your experience with our staff. The Sean/Shon duo is instrumental to our success and we are happy about your acknowledgment! We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to San Francisco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is the first time staying at the Stanford Ct since I used to stay quite often in the early 2000's.The hotel is quite different in it's design and layout, but that is not necessarily bad. The lobby was very nice. A sleek, clean design with an open air feel. The staff were all very nice. My issue was the lack of food options for breakfast. There is a little pasty/coffee area, but the coffee was sub-par and it didn't open until 6:30am. The bar at night was nice, but almost empty both nights we were there. We felt conspicious sitting alone there so we passed on it and went to the Top of the Mark.

The rooms were spacious and bed pretty comfy. They used to room service coffee, but no more. just the standard coffee maker with really awful coffee, so we didn't even drink it. The shower head was so low I had to stoop, but that's not a huge deal.

Overall, not the hotel I remember and the lack of hustle and bustle made it seem isolated. I would likely try other hotels in the area next time I come to SF.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Overall, I thought the hotel was very nice. It was a central location and the people who worked there were very nice. My only critique would be to bring room service back. They have a built-in restaurant, but no room service, which I found surprising.

Food that I had was good at the restaurant. Rooms were great. Loved the bed! So comfortable. And overall, you get the feel of a premier hotel for a cost that won't burn a hole in your wallet.

I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for it up front. I always recommend asking the person checking you in if there are any other opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silver870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a beautiful, sizable boutique hotel on Nob Hill. The public areas are especially nice, with a number of free computers and lots of seating of all kinds. My room was of a good size for a solo trip. The shower was easy to use, and there was a lot of counter space. Although the room had lovely sheer curtains, I would have preferred heavy drapes instead; they would have helped with the noise from the street, blocked the morning sun, and added some privacy. Service is very good. There is currently no restaurant, but there are many choices nearby. This hotel is at the intersection of the Powell and California Street cable car lines, which is fantastic, because without a ride, it's an extremely steep walk up to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I would definitely stay here again, very nice hotel and I enjoyed 4 nights here. The room was larger than expected since many hotel rooms in SFO are cramped. Very clean room with a nice desk and comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean as well with tile and granite, but the shower head was a bit low for me (I'm 5'9").
Staff at the front desk was very nice and helpful. I liked that they have 6 computers in the lobby for anyone to use and the hotel wi-fi was fast and reliable. I used the gym nearly every morning, it was clean and the equipment is all in really good condition. They also have a bowl of apples and some headphones there in case you need them.
The location has beautiful views, the only down side is that if you're walking it's at the very top of the hill at Powell and California streets. Going down is easy enough, but if you can't get a cab or jump on the cable car, it's a pretty good hike up to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott_in_Surprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a nice, clean, moderately upscale hotel. I love the location on Nob Hill as it is central to where I need to get in SF. The staff was friendly, the rooms are comfortable (albeit some are quite small), and the amenities are nice (towel warmers, Gloss toiletries, extremely comfortable beds, ample outlets).

The restaurant dining was limited and the area has many options if you are willing to walk a few city blocks. Your only off-site options within two blocks are also in hotels like the Fairmont or Mark Hopkins. Not a big deal for me, because I'd rather explore all the foodie sites SF has to offer than hotel food anyway.

We did have one minor billing issue upon checkout, but it was resolved promptly and courteously upon inspection.

Room Tip: If you are noise-sensitive, get an inner courtyard facing room. If you don't mind a little cable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#68 of 230 in San Francisco
1,718 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#97 of 230 in San Francisco
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $148 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the new Stanford Court! We are excited to share our multi-million dollar transformation that includes updates & revamps that transcend to our lobby, café , bar, porte-cochere, & fitness center. Guided by the design concept of "where tomorrow meets yesterday," the newly renovated Stanford Court integrates Nob Hill's grand history with the innovative and tech-focused spirit of today's San Francisco. Expect cool graphics, a new modern color palette and nods to our past. Our new 1500 square foot Fitness Center features state of the art equipment including interactive Kinima stations offering personalized workouts and floor-to-ceiling windows that fill the space with natural light and views of the famed cable cars. As always, guests will find their stay here enhanced with inspiring innovations, sophisticated technology, and a taste of the Bay Area's cultural connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing