We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #66 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Stanford Court for two days recently visiting my daughter and found it to be a great place at a good price. The location couldn't be better to explore the city. It's right on the 2 cable car lines heading to Fisherman's Wharf and the Embarcadero and up the (very steep!) street from Union Square and the Powell St. BART stop. The hotel staff was great. Audrey at the front desk greeted us and could not have been more pleasant or helpful when we checked in after a long day of traveling from the East Coast. The room was very nice, comfortable, quiet and clean. We went out for dinner both nights so we didn't try the restaurants or care about the lack of mini-bar. We walked all around the neighborhood at night and felt safe. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for your review, Michael. I am happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your visit to San Francisco. I’m glad you were able to explore the amazing sights, food, and entertainment this great city has to offer. I can’t wait to welcome you back on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,614 - 3,620 of 4,878 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel is at Nob Hill in a very good location. Rooms are clean, staff is helpful. However with no room service and no restaurant (bar opens at 5 with pickup option for food), this 4 star hotel really won't make it fir a second stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geometrix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

No room service they make you go to the restaurant so if you like room service not a good place. Good location very closet yo hop on cable car,noisy heat and air conditioner. Good tv. People are friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable. No mini bar.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred_1000_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am were very happy to know that you found our room and staff to be friendly and accommodating. I regret the noise in the room that was bothersome to you. I recommend interior rooms for more serenity from the bustling streets of the city. I look forward for the opportunity to serve you better in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My room was so quiet and comfortable. Rooms a little smaller, but not an issue. Restaurant had a limited menu, but food was fantastic. Great location. Excellent staff - super friendly. Price was very reasonable for the location. Nice fitness center, but great neighborhood to go for a run. Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments! The staff was very happy to know of your thoughts. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Stanford Court on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here for four days and had a wonderful experience. The rooms were clean and spacious. The front desk staff were very friendly and efficient. The only issue we had with them was they told us we could not get to the outlet malls without renting a car or taking a taxi. When we talked to the concierge she told us a shuttle left from there every day. We were out of time by then so were disappointed. We stayed in a corner room which was on California and Powell so had the noise of the street cars late into the night but honestly we were so tired that it didn't really bother us. We didn't eat at the restaurant but we did get a great club sandwich made up to take to our room The location can't be beat especially if you are mobile and can walk up the hills The doormen were very helpful and friendly this is a great hotel and we will recommend it to our friends

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 28visito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. I am pleased to know that your stay was an enjoyable one. Please accept my apologies for our failure to communicate all of our services and accommodations to you. Thank you for choosing the Stanford Court, and I look forward to the opportunity to serve you better in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have started our honey moon in California in this hotel. As soon as they new we are in honey moon they upgrade our room and gave us a fantastic room with great view on the city. This is our first day in the hotel, the room is nice and cleaned i liked the furniture. The location is good, you may walk to Union square or go by Taxi for 7 $.

Room Tip: I only tried the city view on the 5th floor and it is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohammed966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Congratulations on your wedding! I am happy that we were able to help in making your celebration a memorable one. Thank you for choosing the Stanford Court. I look hope to welcome you back to San Francisco in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night on 10/26 and it was a good visit. We’ve stayed here before. We really like the great location at the top of Nob Hill. On this visit it was a one-night stopover on a trip up the coast. We were upgraded to a room with a better view (city view) than the room we’d originally booked, which I thought was very nice. Room was very clean and very comfortable, nice sized bathroom, plenty of room for your clothes, a nice flat screen TV with plenty of hookups if you wanted to take advantage of hooking up your iPad or whatever device (we didn’t watch TV). Service was very good from the bellhops, who delivered our luggage very quickly after check-in. Valet was quick one time and not quite as quick another time but not a big deal. We like the restaurant although it looked like something changed in the layout of the lobby bar part of the restaurant, seemed like it was just gone, or rearranged or something. Food was pretty good at the bar. They even accommodated a request for popcorn when we asked (it wasn’t on the menu), as well as a request to make a chocolate martini (which I also don’t think was on the menu). Very nice bar. Overall a very good stay, with a nice spacious room, good service and a great location.

Room Tip: City views are nice but not that big a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your lovely experience with us! We are very pleased that your stay was a pleasant one. Thank you for choosing the Stanford Court, and we look forward to having you with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#68 of 230 in San Francisco
1,718 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#97 of 230 in San Francisco
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $148 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the new Stanford Court! We are excited to share our multi-million dollar transformation that includes updates & revamps that transcend to our lobby, café , bar, porte-cochere, & fitness center. Guided by the design concept of "where tomorrow meets yesterday," the newly renovated Stanford Court integrates Nob Hill's grand history with the innovative and tech-focused spirit of today's San Francisco. Expect cool graphics, a new modern color palette and nods to our past. Our new 1500 square foot Fitness Center features state of the art equipment including interactive Kinima stations offering personalized workouts and floor-to-ceiling windows that fill the space with natural light and views of the famed cable cars. As always, guests will find their stay here enhanced with inspiring innovations, sophisticated technology, and a taste of the Bay Area's cultural connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing