We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #67 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I used to stay here on business trips; it soon became one of my favorites. Happy to say little has changed since Renaissance took it over. Still the same attentive service, particularly from the concierge. Still the nicely appointed rooms and welcoming, comfortable lounge. Still expensive!
This time as a tourist I paid more attention to the location, which I found to be a pleasant surprise.
My wife and I like to walk! Had only one meal here, breakfast. The oatmeal was excellent.
For a less expensive breakfast, try Rosanne's, three blocks down on Powell.

Room Tip: We like the rooms facing east. Noise of the cable car affirms you're in SF. No noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,829 - 3,835 of 4,944 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel is very well situated right in the heart of the city, on top of the famous Nob Hill, where everything started here for San Francisco History and Development. Nearby, at walking distance, is the City Cathedral, Union Square, Cable car museum and also Chinatown. Very good rooms, very nice and helpful staff. Nice view over the city from here. The breakfast was awesome, but you have to pay separately for it. A little bit expensive at all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cstatescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the typical hotel that has nothing to mention. A very normal one, with high price. Do not park your car in the Hotel, they will really surprise you with the price tag. Normal service and many people going around. Other hotels in San Francisco are a better choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLSMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel,excellent location,make sure you have strong legs for the steep hills cause cable cars are always full,15 dollars for a glass of wine in the bar is almost as steep as the hill,got a lovely room with an amazing view of the city and a great comfy bed

Thank Ourlads
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

One can't start from a much better location for exploring SF: a few blocks to Union Square (although almost equally much vertical feet), Nob Hill, and Chinatown. North Beach (Little Italy) also less than 10 minutes by foot. The Cable Car Museum is all but next door.

The rooms are small as it is typical for older properties, but have a certain charm and are nicely equipped. Had a "view" to the courtyard, Not much to see, but quiet.

Only disappointment was that the hotel was unable to sell me stamps or mail a letter. I was told to head to the Fairmont Hotel gift shop up the hill (which was closed). I did not know that it has become that exotic to want to mail something. Bell man had BART schedules handy and was helpful, though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregorsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed athe the Stanford Court on June 23th for one night. Check in was easy and although my room was not quite ready, it was soon thereafter. We got a run of the house room with King Bed. Still had partial view on 7th floor.

The bed was very comfortable and the A/C was quiet and efficient. We did not eat at the hotel but cocktail service was good albiet a bit expensive. Ice tea was $4 a glass. I would stay again in a hartbeat!

Checkout was easy and they gave you plenty of time to check out. Car service to the airport in a new GMC SUV was $60 and ready when we were

All in all a nice place to stay but at a moderate price. California street is hard to beat!

Room Tip: High rooms have less street noise. There is a happy Hour with some drinks reduced. Right at the cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarvis50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

After checking in I was put in a room on the first floor on the Powell Street side -it was like the cable car was in the room with me. I called down to change rooms and was on hold for over 5 minutes waiting to talk to the front desk and no one ever pick up again after I wad told" Hold I am helping a guest " anyway I grabbed my bags and went down to the front desk and changed rooms to one that faced the interior court - much better from a noise perspective. average rooms - though I was happy with the amount of outlets form my gadgets I needed to charge- easy to find and plenty - which tends not yo be the case in most hotel rooms - a nice touch in our tech savvy world these days. The club lounge was nice and the choices for breakfast were enough with eggs - hot and hard boiled and oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, and pastries and cereal, plus coffee and juices. There is a business center as well. It's in a central but not overly touristy spot but there was not a lot of character here on the inside - just another chain hotel. Next door is the Inter Continental which has a bar on the top floor- Top of the Mark that has great views from a very high spot in the city.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep well - ask for a room on a high floor or facing the interior courtyard -this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhody03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#66 of 230 in San Francisco
1,728 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
3,662 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $160 - $748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the new Stanford Court! We are excited to share our multi-million dollar transformation that includes updates & revamps that transcend to our lobby, café , bar, porte-cochere, & fitness center. Guided by the design concept of "where tomorrow meets yesterday," the newly renovated Stanford Court integrates Nob Hill's grand history with the innovative and tech-focused spirit of today's San Francisco. Expect cool graphics, a new modern color palette and nods to our past. Our new 1500 square foot Fitness Center features state of the art equipment including interactive Kinima stations offering personalized workouts and floor-to-ceiling windows that fill the space with natural light and views of the famed cable cars. As always, guests will find their stay here enhanced with inspiring innovations, sophisticated technology, and a taste of the Bay Area's cultural connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing