We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #66 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were here for a quick weekend visit. The staff were all very knowledgable and helpful. The food was also very good. The rooms were standard. They were clean and comfortable but we had to call housekeeping because there were no towels in our bathroom. The location is fabulous- within walking distance to many attractions and also a step away from the cable cars. All in all the staff were the most memorable part of the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,824 - 3,830 of 4,878 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

What happened to the elegance of the Stanford Court Hotel as we once knew it? During the four years since our last visit, this property has been "modernized" to its great detriment. The deep, rich wood paneling which characterized the lobby have been painted over. The elegant entryway has been re-routed in such a way that arriving guests aren't even sure which door to enter or which direction to go to reach the front desk once inside. The beautiful and bright breakfast room has been replaced with tables in what used to be the lobby. And the lobby itself is so blah and non-descript as to merit a ho-hum response.

On the plus side, the service levels in the hotel are outstanding. I want to especially recognize bellman Dominic, whose natural warmth and friendliness are a real tribute to him and to the hotel itself.

Our room was clean and well-maintained.

Unfortunately, the only remnant of the old elegance that used to be synonymous with the Stanford Court is the wood paneling in the elevators. Otherwise, the new design steps into the future resulted in a huge step backward.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side to get a view of the Bay and the Financial District.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WalnutBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was charged for one person's stay at the hotel and another person's no show charge for another night. The accounting department acknowledged that the charges should not be on my card. I was then promised that someone would work with me to refund and charge the correct people, that was over a month ago! Now when I call the staff is rude to me on the main phone line, "mam I will cut your off there you can only talk to accounting and if they won't help you then you are stuck". Customer service is not in the employee manual I am a very event tempered person so the fact i am treated so rudly on the phone is very upsetting. Hopefully the fact I have emails from them acknowledging their mess up and failure to care to fix it will help my credit card company dispute the charge faster.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank MissieMom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is pleasant enough, the rooms are pretty much standard for a renaissance and the public areas are done tastefully with a nice ambience. This said, I didn't spend enough time in the hotel to comment on much else. The hotel itself is on a bit of a bank, which is fine for anyone able but possibly not great with anyone unfit or anyone with mobility problems.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trolley_dolly0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel has the standard ammenities for its class: nice and confortable rooms, good service, excellent restaurant. The location on the Nob Hill assures, on the one hand, the vicinity both to the centre and to Chinatown (that is worth visiting) - unfortunately climbing back to the hotel is not easy. One should mention that the traditional cable car stops close to the hotel, that can be used instead of walking uphill. I have been there for 3 days during a conference in December 2012, benefiting from a special rate - the standard rate being, in my opinion, too high.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ioan1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed three nights in December and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in San Francisco. The staff were what really made our stay memorable very friendly with really helpful tips on; the best places to dine, how to get around and for organizing our tickets to the basketball. The location was excellent a short walk to some great little restaurants in China town and great access to the cable cars. The room was quiet and large enough for the four of us with really comfortable beds and great storage area for coats and boots. We would definitely stay again, thanks for looking after our family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMBLalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

What's wrong with Marriott Reward Program? Marriot does so little for their Elite members.
Checked into Renaissance San Francisco but No Room Upgrade, No Lounger Access on the weekend, No Water in the room, No Welcome Letter, No Breakfast and Front desk does not even recognize Elite Membership.

As a Diamond Member w/ Hyatt, Diamond Member w/ Hilton, Platinum Member w/ SPG, and Platinum Member w/ Marriott; Marriott is the hardest to get but has least benefit. I will spend my hotel stays at other hotel chains instead now on.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alteregopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#68 of 230 in San Francisco
1,718 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#97 of 230 in San Francisco
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $148 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the new Stanford Court! We are excited to share our multi-million dollar transformation that includes updates & revamps that transcend to our lobby, café , bar, porte-cochere, & fitness center. Guided by the design concept of "where tomorrow meets yesterday," the newly renovated Stanford Court integrates Nob Hill's grand history with the innovative and tech-focused spirit of today's San Francisco. Expect cool graphics, a new modern color palette and nods to our past. Our new 1500 square foot Fitness Center features state of the art equipment including interactive Kinima stations offering personalized workouts and floor-to-ceiling windows that fill the space with natural light and views of the famed cable cars. As always, guests will find their stay here enhanced with inspiring innovations, sophisticated technology, and a taste of the Bay Area's cultural connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing