We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the cable car, china town and shopping in Market area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #57 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kemp, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location for the cable car, china town and shopping in Market area.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel is tucked away, but still in a great location. I stayed recently for business and I was impressed with how helpful the staff was in giving directions and making recommendations. The rooms are very comfortable, and if you are lucky enough to have access to the lounge, it is wonderful. The cost per night is reasonable for that area, and with access to the lounge for breakfast and snacks, it was a good value.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the California street side so you can enjoy the view of the cable cars and the nob hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,053
    1,559
    572
    214
    128
See reviews for
954
1,607
219
1,154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is OK, but I had not been in San Francisco for many years and expected the old Stamford Court elegance. It was a little commercial and not helpful when I needed a late check out. The breakfast was OK. The location was good.

Room Tip: No suggestion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poodlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has great service, rooms and location close enough to walk to Chinatown, Japantown, Downtown and the Financial District to name a few. It's pricey, but most nice hotels in this area of San Fran are.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZtravels_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie living in Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was recently here on a work trip around California and stayed here for 2 nights. The hotels was excellent and the service from the staff was sensational. The location is perfect in Nob Hill being not too far from Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf. The rooms were excellent and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was good without being great but overall I really enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hodgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here with my wife from Jan. 15 - 19, 2013, and loved it. Great location, at the intersection of two cable car lines. Attentive staff and great service, along with a fine bar and concierge service. We really enjoyed being on Nob Hill, located in a relatively quiet area, away from but accessible to the hustle and bustle of Union Square..............but realize visitors preferring action might like to be at one of the hotels closer to the Square.

Room Tip: Higher rooms, obviously, have a better view and less noise (as.......YES......the windows actually o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Murray M,

Thank you for your comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to be centrally located in San Francisco. We are steps away from catching all three cable car lines and lucky enough as you said to be away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

On this trip to SF, I stayed for 2 days across the street at the Fairmont for a business meeting then moved for the weekend to Stanford Court. Loved the Stanford Court for its exceptional service. Granted it does not have a grand lobby, but it is a much more intimate and caring hotel than its larger neighbor.

From Scott at the check -in desk to the concierge, all were professional and friendly. We had a terrific room with a great view and happy hour was a great bargain with bar food and $6 drinks.
All in all, I would return to this hotel again and again. Among one of the best Marriott hotels I have visited.

As others have said, if you want quiet ask for an interior room, but if you don't mind the trolley noise and want a view, there are good rooms with different views of the city available.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter, but no view of the city. And there are options as to which view you pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Lesmil123,

Thank you so much for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was so accommodating. I can not wait to share your wonderful words with Scott and the rest of our staff. Our daily happy hour has been a huge success and I am happy to hear you enjoyed it. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at the Stanford Court on a weekend sight seeing trip to San Francisco. The hotel was packed but the staff was still incredibly accommodating. The hotel is located at the very top of a hill which allowed for amazing views but it was quite a hike! We made the walk from Fisherman's Wharf twice during our stay. It's possible but mostly uphill! We also dined in the restaurant one evening and the food was incredible. The waiter knew the menu very well and was able to make knowledgable recommendations. He even talked us into splitting a dessert which was well worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drift3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Drift3r,

Thank you for your comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. I can not wait to share your kind words with our staff. I am sure other guests will find your review very helpful. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,762 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,916 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Property: Stanford Court San Francisco
Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing