We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost it's former charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #65 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This used to be a special hotel in a great location, we've stayed here at least five times before under other management....now it's just another Marriott. Our room was barely big enough for two people, the closet was in the bathroom (actually there was no closet, it was just a bar near the sink), two drawers for clothes. The coffee maker was shoved away in the cabinet, and the housekeeper didn't refill it. The espresso at the bar was cold...I could go on, but why? We won't stay here again. Plus they charge $15.00 per night for internet. Because they represent themselves as a luxury hotel, they get 2 stars. No robes, average to poor amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattyBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear PattyBY,

Thank you for your comments. I would love the opportunity to speak further regarding your reservation. You can contact me directly at sfdiscovery@renaissancehotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,951 - 3,957 of 4,981 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have been at this hotel multiple times before as it's convenient to business in San Francisco. They get a premium price because it's San Francisco and because they are located on Nob Hill. The staff was very nice and the guest room was good. I did note that the hallway carpets are showing some wear and that the fitness center could have been maintained better (one treadmill not working, no cups and wipes on one day). Also, be prepared for an expensive breakfast. Lastly, if you are a light sleeper, forgo the view and ask for an interior room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodstock1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Woodstock1968,

Thank you for your comments. I can not wait to share your kind words with our staff. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room. Thank you for the feedback and sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is in a nice neighborhood, next to a cable car line, within easy - albeit hilly - walking distance of a variety of neighborhoods including North Beach and Chinatown. It's at the top of a hill with some nice views of the San Francisco Bay and Bay Bridge. Our standard room felt fairly spacious and had a refrigerator. The windows are somewhat large and the heating/cooling system was relatively quiet. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was standard, nothing special, but a towel warmer was a nice touch. The decor is a bit mod to the point of being nearly space age and sterile. But there is some cozy seating in the form of wraparound booths in the lobby, and a colorful stained glass dome. Service was friendly and professional. All told, a pretty good value for San Francisco.

Room Tip: The cable cars can be noisy which you may find to be a charming aspect of being in San Francisco. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorCalifMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear NorCalifMom,

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear that your room worked out so well for you. We are very fortunate to be so centrally located in San Francisco and just steps away from accessing all three cable car lines. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel may have been a premium hotel at some point but it isn't any longer. The rooms are in need of updating (extremely old carpet, fixtures, drywall in need of repair) and are extremely small. My room barely fit a queen sized bed; you couldn't even sit at the desk because the chair for the desk bumps into the bed. The internet is $14.95/day (noon to noon even though you can't check in until 3p.m. The hallways look like the ones in the Shining...very long hallways with tacky carpet and nondescript artwork. They obviously don't clean the rooms with any depth here because there was food in my in room refrigerator that had been there for a while. When I asked for someone to come take it out, I was treated like it was my fault that the food was in there!!!! Be aware of the room service...not only do they add a mandatory tip of 18% and put a line for additional tip, there is a $5 delivery fee on top of the food price and CA tax. A kid's grilled cheese and a dessert cost $32. My room had a view of the "courtyard" which means I look out at the roof over the restaurant in the hotel. When I asked if I could get something with a street view, I was told anything higher up than the 2nd floor would cost more and that any outside rooms on my
floor would have constant sound from the street car that goes right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you pay $$$$ to upgrade to a suite, I would avoid this hotel like the plague. If you choose t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koolchic_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Koolchic_1,

Thank you for your comments. I would love the opportunity to speak further regarding your reservation. You can contact me directly at sfdiscovery@renaissancehotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a solid choice. Well-located hotel. Room was small, but clean and well-appointed. Very nice workout facility. Lobby a bit odd, but not too bad. Staff was very friendly and professional Price was attractive. I can't say I was excited by the hotel, but it was above average for functionality. And my window opened, which was great.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Gregory M,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your experience with us and that the amenities within the hotel worked out so well for you. I look forward to sharing your kind words with our staff. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I love San Francisco! We were there this weekend to celebrate my birthday and participate in the Walk for Life event. We stayed at the Renaissance ~ Stanford Court Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a wonderful room with great view of the city and bay (Rm 741), enjoyed breakfasts at the in-house restaurant, and would like to bring attention to two amazing employees that certainly made our stay "exceptional". First, our bus boy (i hate that word, but not sure of his proper title), Solon, was so hospitable, gracious, and provided the best service ever (i looked forward to seeing him every morning and drinking in his positiveness) and Dominic, in Concierage, was terrific. He seemed truly interested in helping us find the perfect seafood restaurant. We used his personal recommendation and had dinner at Hyde Street Seafood Restaurant and we were so pleased ~ it was the perfect place for us. Sometimes it's the "little things" that make your stay so enjoyable and memorable, and I would certain like to THANK Solon & Dominic for hugely contributing to our fantastic stay.

Room Tip: 741 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoversofGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear LoversofGolf,

Thank you for your comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your experience with us. I cannot wait to share your kind words with Solon and Dominic. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place in very nice. It is right on the trolley lines. The views are great, the price is pretty good for the location. A real classy place to stay. The trolley lines run late which is nice for getting around but can be a little noise if you have an exterior room.

Room Tip: Ask for a outside room if you want a view, if you want piece and quite ask for a interior room. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Rudedog67,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and happy to see that the location worked out so well for you. I am sure others will find your review very helpful. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#64 of 231 in San Francisco
1,737 reviews
SoMa
The Park Central San Francisco
The Park Central San Francisco
#68 of 231 in San Francisco
3,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#31 of 231 in San Francisco
3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $171 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the new Stanford Court! We are excited to share our multi-million dollar transformation that includes updates & revamps that transcend to our lobby, café , bar, porte-cochere, & fitness center. Guided by the design concept of "where tomorrow meets yesterday," the newly renovated Stanford Court integrates Nob Hill's grand history with the innovative and tech-focused spirit of today's San Francisco. Expect cool graphics, a new modern color palette and nods to our past. Our new 1500 square foot Fitness Center features state of the art equipment including interactive Kinima stations offering personalized workouts and floor-to-ceiling windows that fill the space with natural light and views of the famed cable cars. As always, guests will find their stay here enhanced with inspiring innovations, sophisticated technology, and a taste of the Bay Area's cultural connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing