We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location, decent price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanford Court San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #50 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
california
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location, decent price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I chose the Renaissance Stanford Court for its location to Union Square (shopping!), the fact it is in the Marriott family and for the price. Was there 1 night and the room was the standard hotel room. The typical SF downtown hotel, small room, small bath etc. The rate was $185 with tax which I thought was pretty good for the location and being SF. The parking was $50 per night, which is par for SF as well, however, it was valet parking and the guys did a good job. The front desk was very good, each encounter I had on checkin/out was handled very well. Room was clean and smelled fine. Better to request a room that looks outward toward city, mine looked inward toward the other wing of the hotel. It is a square shaped hotel. I did not use restaurant or bar so no experience noted. Overall, for the price and location it did the job and I was happy. Would return again, no problem.
Hope this helps, safe travels to all.

Room Tip: Request room looking out toward city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MI6007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear MI6007,

Thank you for your comments. I am happy you enjoyed your experience with us. I can not wait to share your kind words with our staff. I am sure other travelers on TripAdvisor will find this review very helpful. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,755
    1,337
    472
    167
    93
See reviews for
814
1,349
186
953
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The first time my husband and I stayed here on business, I was annoyed at the entrance which looked to me like a side door. Now I like the place, probably because I know what to expect. Arriving is lovely, with the courtyard fountain and doorman to greet us. You don't have to exit the taxi on a busy street. The staff is wonderful: very friendly and eager to be helpful. The dining areas are open and inviting, but the service is slow. The decor is unusual (see photos). There is rarely a wait for an elevator. The best thing about this hotel is the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a window looking toward the TransAmerica tower. Wi-fi is free in the lobby, but ask for help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Sherz88,

Thank you for your comments. I can not wait to share your kind words with our staff. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your arrival experience with us. We are fortunate to have our courtyard and to have our doors tucked in and away from the busy streets of San Francisco. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I didn't know much about this hotel before I booked my reservation, but decided to give it a try based on other reviews. I was not disappointed. The rate was very competitive for SF. I loved the easy access to the cable cars as our office was just down the hill from the hotel. My room was spotless and I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acorn104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Acorn104,

Thank you for your comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your experience with us. We are very fortunate to be centrally located and foot steps away from all three cable car lines. I am happy this worked out for you. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I will begin with the hotel positives. The staff overall was pleasant and the locations was great.

On to the negatives, In all my years of travel, I have to admit that this by far has been the worst 4-star hotel we have every stayed in. The room had visible wear and tear and at best would be a 3 star. Now the bathroom on the other hand was a 1 ½ star at best. The grime and dirt around the door frame was disgusting, a whole through both shower curtains easily two inches in diameter that and house keeper can see and request to have replaced, missing curtain ring on a rusted curtain rod, mildew stains on the bottom edge of the shower curtain, mildew between the tiles, stains on the wallpaper in the vanity area and small items like tissue holder looked like it they were purchased at a scratch and dent sale.

Marriott is usually our first choice and have stayed and numerous properties around the world, but I have to say, that we are truly disappointed and The Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel has really left a bad taste in our mouth. I cannot believe that I spent my hard earned money on this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbaldriche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear MBaldriche,

Thank you again for allowing me the opportunity to speak with you on January 23rd regarding your dissapointing stay with us. As I shared with you, I too was very disappointed with the experience that you had and thank you again for sharing your feedback with me. I appreciate your continued loyalty to Marriott and Renaissance and I hope that the Marriott Rewards points will provide you with a wonderful next vacation.

Sincerely,
Anne Stiles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Again a great stay! Thank you Eric Matsui; you are an amazing manager and it reflects in your staff. Everything was perfect from the smiling and helpful valets to the accommodating front desk to the tasty food and great service in the dining room to the beautiful room and comfy bed. Thank you again for a relaxing weekend in the city,

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slolucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Slolucky,

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear that Eric and the rest of our staff were so accommodating for you. I can not wait to share your kind words with them. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut Yankee
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at the Stanford Renaissance. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a fabulous view east, which allowed us, on east coast time, to experience some lovely sunrises. (Don't worry--the ceiling to floor room-darkening drapes ensure that you only experience the sunrise if you choose to!). The hotel was beautiful, with a great lounge for hanging out (free wifi in lounge, too), and the location, right at the top of Nob Hill, where California St. meets Powell, was terrific--an easy walk to Chinatown, a slightly more challenging (but doable) walk to Fisherman's wharf and North Beach (great Italian food). For those who look at SF's hills and think "walk?!?", no worries--the hotel is located right on one of the major cable car lines, and within easy walking distance to others. There's a bus stop right across the street too (definitely worth it to buy a multi-day MUNI pass and ride the buses, streetcars, and cable cars, btw!).

The hotel was a great place to retreat to after our days of exploring San Francisco's many sights and treasures! Very good restaurants are within walking distance, public transportation (cable cars, etc.) are right outside the door, and there's even a nice little cafe right next door for a light breakfast and morning coffee.

As others have mentioned, because this hotel has windows that open, the noise from the cable cars and street can be a little noisy, but we were not disturbed when sleeping (and I am a light sleeper). Front desk and concierge were always friendly and helpful, and we have a great stay and would love to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Wonderful view on street-facing rooms, but for a quieter experience, you may want to request a court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Ecargo,

Thank you for your comments. We are very fortunate to be centrally located in San Francisco and to be able to catch all three cable car lines just footsteps from our door. I can not wait to share your kind words with our staff. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had a lovely weekend here. I was able to walk with light luggage from the BART at the bottom of the hill on Powell Street to the hotel at the top of the hill, but I wouldn't recommend that schlep for everyone. I needed the exercise and it was a beautiful day, but the hills are definitely a workout!

I asked for an inside room to avoid the street noise. The room was quite nice. The only quibble is that the room got light very early and there didn't seem to be any blackout shades or curtain.

Also, I forgot about some things I had read here about credit card charges that did occur to me also. One is the automatic charges for touching items on the minibar, even though I consumed nothing. The other was that the front desk put $100 PER DAY incidentals hold on my card IN ADDITION to the room charges and did not advise me of this. I called the desk when i saw a huge pending hold on my credit card and the smaller charge, so they removed the minibar from my bill. The woman at the desk apologized for the man who checked me not advising me of the $100/day hold plus the room charge but there was nothing else she could or would do.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Miviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Miviva,

Thank you for your comments. I would love to opportunity to speak with you further about some of the issues you encountered at our hotel. You can e-mail me directly at sfdicovery@renaissancehotels.com. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,698 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Property: Stanford Court San Francisco
Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing