We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A San Francisco Classic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #54 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A San Francisco Classic”
Reviewed April 9, 2008

I've stayed at the Stanford Court 3 times in the past 10 years, most recently in February 2008. The hotel perches atop Nob Hill, next door to the famed Fairmont. Rooms are comfortable and the staff is tremendously accommodating. The location is midway between Union Square, the San Francisco financial district and the waterfront area. Chinatown is a few blocks away and the Powell Street cable car line is steps from the front door.

At the time of my February 2008 visit, the Stanford Court was undergoing renovation, scheduled for completion in Summer 2008. The renovation will be welcome, because furnishings have grown a bit dated and changes are needed to return the property to peak condition. As a result, my usual 5 star review has been downgraded to 4 stars, with the expectation that the renovation will give the hotel its usual 5 when complete.

The Stanford Court is quiet and dignified-- great for business and leisure travelers who want a classic property that offers a comfotable stay with understated elegance and hospitality. Here is hoping that the 2008 renovation will add to the luster of the Stanford Court-- from the plans posted for guests, this seems likely to be the case.

  • Liked — Location, comfort, service
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousTravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,006
    1,520
    545
    199
    122
See reviews for
923
1,556
211
1,127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

Requested a good view and received a room on the top floor looking over the bay. Wonderful view. Everything was great! Location was perfect alongside hotels that cost much more for about the same thing. Staff was great too. My last two times in San Francisco, I stayed at the Ritz. They are out of my price range now, but I was very happy here.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank pekingeserescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joisey - the Corruption State
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Booked via Marriott.com and got a price quite a bit lower than the super-luxe hotels in the Financial District and/or the high-end tourist hotels on Russian Hill or Union Square. Interestingly, the location of the Stanford Court is just as good, as it is essentially within a 5~10 minute walk of all of these points!.

This is an older building, built around a courtyard, without the 40 stories that offer spectacular views of the Bay or Telegraph Hill, but it is 2nd to none regarding location, appointments, convenience and service. Biggest test in these older buildings are the bathrooms and the "corner" areas -- bottom line, they passed. The property has been nicely updated and all the modern amenities are in place.
.
In very few cases, I say this, but I would DEFINITELY seek and attempt to stay in the Stanford Court on my next trip to San Francisco.
.
Granted, the property is still a bit challenged by the history (this can be a plus, if one likes that sort of thing) so there isn't a super-sleek multi-story lobby, or a chi-chi destination restaurant or bar. (they happen to be just outside less than 2 blocks away!).

In my too-brief 14 hour stay, I also experienced EXCELLENT service by a staff that obviously gives a hoot about the comfort of its guests. Several above & beyonds that made my too-brief 14 hour stay quite comfortable and leaves me wanting more. Great value for a perfectly located hotel that does not disappoint.

  • Liked — Location, quality, service
  • Disliked — Older, somewhat dreary, albeit historic, architecture.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Marriott_Devotee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our trip away to get married. So you can imagine, I wanted everything to be just right for our special trip! I spent ages researching on Trip Advisor, to decide which hotel to stay in for our special time away.

The hotel didn't dissapoint at all........

Public areas: Clean, tidy & spacious.
Room: Clean, comfy bed, nice bathroom, big wardrobe & never heard any noise from other guests. View was OK, nothing special but we never asked for any particular view.
Location: I don't think it could have been better, excellent for the Cable Cars - (Powell/Mason, Powell/Hyde Cable cars stop right outside the hotel). You could walk down to the Pier 39/Fishermans Wharf area in 10 minutes - then get the Cable car back up. A good restaurant in that area for a lovely breakfast /lunch is the Eagle Cafe. We did try to get into Mamas on Washington Square twice, but the queue was too long and we were too hungry - we went twice to the Eagle Cafe as it was so nice, with little waiting time. Also, you can walk to Union Square too, again roughly 10 minutes. However, if you do want to be in the bustle of it all, it is located that bit further out of the tourist areas. We wanted to be a little bit away from the tourist areas, so we were very happy with its location.
Staff: Friendly at all times, concierge very helpful with restaurant bookings and directions. Alfreds Steakhouse was very nice for our last night - what a steak!

Overall, a well kept hotel, with good staff in a great location.

If I was returning to San Francisco, I would stay in this hotel again without any hesitation.

One thing I would recommend for you to do, and this isn't hotel related - if your heart is set on visiting Alcatraz, book it before you leave. We were lucky that we were there for 4 nights, we went down to the Alcatraz tour area on our first day, and it was booked up for two days, luckily we managed to go on our last day on the day tour. I couldn't believe how booked up it was when we got there, even the next available Night Tour was a week away! Also, allow enough time for the Alcatraz visit we were there for hours, and thought we would be in and out within the hour.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank what_beach_next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed at Renaissance Stanford Court the first 2 nights of our vacation and would definitely go back. We stayed on the 1st floor.
The room was very big and best of all clean! We had an "accessible" room which meant we had a 5' walk in shower. The room came with standard ammenities plus VERY comfortable beds with plush pillows that were useful when sitting up in bed reading. The only complaint I had (I am a very light sleeper) is the trolley noise as it went by our room very late & very early. It wasn't that loud as my husband & 2 kids did not wake up. We did not hear any noise from outside of our door.
The workout room was fab! Small but fab. There was a bowl of apples, I think there were 6 machines, all had tv screens to watch, free weights etc. It was also very clean.
The staff was helpful & having the trolley right outside of the door proved to be very useful when wanting to head into the city.
The cost to valet the car was about $45. When we arrived it was raining, the entrance/front door area was essentially underground which was nice when getting in & out of our car during the rainy times.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlegirl1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2008

We arrived from Tahoe, the valet and bell hop were courteous and swift with handling our items and moving us to check-in where the clerk was kind and friendly. We requested a quiet room and had no trouble receiving it. We were very happy with our stay, the staff and room service. We would stay here again in an instant. It is "Old San Francisco", located at Nob Hill, near Grace Cathedral.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank DianneTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in late November 2007. A great location for the cable cars and easy to get around. The way the pound is against the dollar the rate was very good but the hotel is just worn out. Our bedroom was a suite with a large sitting room. BUT the TV had been removed and a hole just left. The furniture was tired. I was bitterly disappointed

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Coolmover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,749 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Property: Stanford Court San Francisco
Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing