We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with view on the skyline”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #66 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Pros:
- friendly staff
- very clean rooms (!)
Cons:
- no sound proof windows for which reason you heard the cable cars running (the hotel is located next to two cable car lines)
- no breakfast buffet offered
- comparable expensive valet parking
- located on a hill which requests taking a taxi or cable car to go to the sights, respectively come back to the hotel after a whole day of sightseeing.
- restaurant is expensive

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosmopolit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Cosmopolit G,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and that the staff was friendly and helpful. I apologize in regards to any street noise you may have heard in your room during your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,903 - 3,909 of 4,878 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

This has always been an elegant, upscale pricey San Francisco flagship. On a recent business trip I spent nearly a week there. Service is cheerful, rooms are spacious, bedding is comfortable. However the rooms facing the courtyard are dark to begin with,and my room's lighting was so sparse, dim and poorly located that I needed a flashlight to look for something in my suitcase or the drawers. When I asked if there might be a brighter room, I was offered one at a $30 upgrade (which I declined as this room was nearly $300/night). It was impossible to pack or unpack other than in daylight and on the very early mornings that I needed to get to a meeting early, getting dressed was a real challenge. Ice is only available several floors away. I do believe whomever designed this room was never required to stay there. I would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Supposedly, rooms on the outside perimeter are brighter but noisy because of the cable cars. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Andrea G,

Thank you for your comments. I was disappointed to hear about your experience in your room with the lighting. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further and can be contacted at sfdiscovery@renaissancehotels.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is very modern. Reception lady was so friendly and helpful. She pointed out all the nice restaurants and places to visit on the map and explained to us the easiest way to get around the city. The bed and pillow were very comfy. Our room was on the top floor, with nice view of the bay.

We booked the hotel for one night at an expensive rate a few month before our trip. My sister in law booked the same hotel last minute and paid half of what we paid. Wifi and internet were not included in the stay. You have to pay a daily usage rate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YangCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear YangCheung,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am so happy to hear that our staff was so helpful and that you enjoyed your room. Being on Nob Hill does have the benefit of having such great views of the city and the bay. We also do provide free wifi in our lobby. I am sorry if that was not brought to your attention. Rates can also be subject to availability and time of booking. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further and can be contacted at sfdiscovery@renaissancehotels.com. Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Renaissance Stanford Court is a nice old place that evokes the classic San Francisco of Dashiell Hammett and Alfred Hitchcock. And I don't mean "old" in the negative sense. It's the kind of place they used to build, with solid wood doors, brass knobs, and real curtains. It's a solid, long-standing building that's seen San Francisco change into an international destination. And I don't mean "old" as in run-down. It's recent had $35 million in updates.

No, what you get here is a beautiful hotel experience in a venerable building located in one of the most beautiful parts of one of the world's best cities. On top of that, prices are very reasonable for SF. Hard to beat.

The rooms are spacious with views that range from very nice to jaw dropping depending on the location of your room. The food was excellent and the service superb. The courtyard makes dropping off, picking up, and parking a breeze in this city-with-no-parking-otherwise. And if you're here on holiday, the hotel sits at the intersection of two cable car lines and lies within walking distance of many of the city's signature attractions.

My only complaint -- and it's a stretch -- is that this hotel is on top of a steep hill. No surprises, right? This is San Francisco. But if you don't have a car (and you don't really need one if you're staying within the city), you're going to find yourself walking down the mountain and back up the mountain periodically. If you're cool with that, then this is definitely a great place to stay. I looked at it as a way to work in a little exercise and I'll definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: High rooms on the Northeast corner would seem to have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabbit43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne S, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Rabbit43,

Thank you for your outstanding review. We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor. I truly enjoyed reading your review, and you highlighted excellent points about the hotel. I am so happy you enjoyed the views and the charm of the Stanford Court. Thank you again for your wonderful feedback and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were in San Francisco for a wedding the weekend of 26-28 October 2012 and used Marriott Rewards points to stay at the Stanford Court Hotel. It was an exceptionally clear, sunny weekend in The City (as we used to refer to it; God forbid anyone would say "Frisco"). Checked in early Friday -- 10am -- but the desk clerk clicked around and got us a nice room. Hotel is older but very well maintained. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. Had a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPKerrCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne S, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear TPKerrCA,

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate an early check in for you so that you could explore the city and enjoy the room. I will share your wonderful feedback with our staff. Thank you so much and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next trip to San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nob Hill hotel, next to Mark Hopkins and Top of the Mark. Near Old St. Mary's, the first Cathedral in California. Walking distance to Chinatown. The rooms are really good sized. If you're familiar with hotel rooms in NYC this will seem Mansion-size! Two full/queen beds and two over sized chairs with ottomans and still the room had plenty of space to walk around.Staff and room service are gracious and helpful. Beds were very comfortable. I could hear some hall activity if that is a complaint so be it. But I expect that in a hotel with hundreds of guests.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalycalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne S, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Dalycalifornia,

Thank you for your comments. I am so glad to hear that the location of our hotel and the room size worked out so well for you. I will share your kind words with our staff. Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next trip to San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location at the top of Nob Hill. We booked a suite with a beautiful view of the bay. The staff overwhelmed us with great service. Would stay there again! Loved having late night cocktails at the Top of the Mark right next door....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne S, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Jamie B,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience about your recent stay with us. We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience. I cannot wait to share your kind words with our staff. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#68 of 230 in San Francisco
1,718 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#97 of 230 in San Francisco
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $148 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the new Stanford Court! We are excited to share our multi-million dollar transformation that includes updates & revamps that transcend to our lobby, café , bar, porte-cochere, & fitness center. Guided by the design concept of "where tomorrow meets yesterday," the newly renovated Stanford Court integrates Nob Hill's grand history with the innovative and tech-focused spirit of today's San Francisco. Expect cool graphics, a new modern color palette and nods to our past. Our new 1500 square foot Fitness Center features state of the art equipment including interactive Kinima stations offering personalized workouts and floor-to-ceiling windows that fill the space with natural light and views of the famed cable cars. As always, guests will find their stay here enhanced with inspiring innovations, sophisticated technology, and a taste of the Bay Area's cultural connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing