We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service and Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #49 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Renaissance title says it all about this hotel. Located in the heart of San Frnacisco, it offers completely modern facilities with highly professional standards of service, and just outside its doors are the streetcars that make SanFrancisco so famous, and the atmosphers of the city's cultural diversity.
Just a stone's throw fom the city's famous Chinatown, and a couple of blocks from a large variety of restaurants and cultural sites, the Standford Court offers everything a person could want in this exciting city within walking distance, a short streetcar ride, or a very reasonable cab ride. (Just ten bucks takes you all the way to Fisherman's Wharf and all the attractions of that world famous location.
The rooms are meticulously clean, the service is excellent, security is top notch, and the food is excellent. The atmosphere adds to these services.
We highly recommend staying here while in San Francisco, for you will feel totally relaxed in a hotel which places its guests' services at the highest level.

Room Tip: Request a room looking towards the harbor for an excellent view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne S, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We are very fortunate to be centrally located in the city and to have all three cable cars so easily accesible to our hotel. It is so nice to hear that you were able to discover so much of San Francisco. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback and we look forward to having you back on your next trip to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,939
    1,444
    514
    180
    107
See reviews for
876
1,475
204
1,076
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a lovely first welcome to the west coast of America. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the room was fantastic. large and a very comfy bed. We had a view over the city and could even see some of the bay. The food here was very good too and the waiters so charming and friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne S, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Our staff will be so happy to hear them. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as our restaurant Aurea. I hope you were able to take advantage of our new daily happy hour from 4pm to 7pm. We have recently added some new signature sliders created by our Chef Michael Koenig. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed in for 3 nights in Sep '12 as part of a road trip around California.

The Good
After 14 hours of flying a comfy bed never felt so good!
Nice room; quiet, clean, roomy and a big bathroom.
Perfectly located 3-4 blocks from Union Square down hill and central for all San Fran attractions.
Both tram lines run outside the hotel making it so easy to hop on down to either Fishermans Wharf on the Powell – Mason line or the Embarcadero on the California line.
Some nice spots for breakfast nearby – make sure to go to Roxanne’s Café 2 blocks on the way down to Union square for the best Californian omelette or get on the Powell – Hyde line and ride to the last stop for a super breakfast at the Beuna Vista café…bacon, grits and eggs…yum!

The Bad
Not a whole lot of character to the hotel…felt like a typical corporate hotel to me.
As you are near the tram lines you will hear the trams ringing in your room if you are in a room looking outwards onton the street…but hey that’s why you are in San Fran right!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Portofella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Over the years, I have always thought fondly of this hotel, which a company I worked for in the 1970s was instrumental in creating out of a office building. What is nice about the place is that it was redeveloped by a master developer with extremely experienced consultants. That means that nothing was left to chance, Even now, the lighting and amenities ( a fountain under a stained glass covered couryard in the arrival area), beautiful rooms ( the junior suite is a great deal for anyone planning to stay a week or so), the lovely arched entrance and everything. There is also a very good world class restaurant with great dishes tuned into northern california culture ( the lamb is prefect every time).
The best thing, not immediately apparent, is that you are on the top of nob hill, at a street car ( trolley) intersection, and you avoid all of the complications of shall we say, increasingly larger hordes of people groups below knob hill on union square. You are right across the street from the Fairmont and near the Mark Hopkins, places where you less discerning friends will be staying at.

Room Tip: try the junior suite. There are only five of them or possibly 10 in the plan for the hotel.rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberts330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is in a nice location, from the airport it is about a 50 dollar cab ride, I was greeted warmly by the front desk, and proceed to my room.

Many reviews have said the rooms were small, but mine was very large and nice! I guess it depends on where they place you.

When I looked out my window I can see the bay in the distance ( see photo) and then I could see the trolley cars. It was very cool to hear the trolley cars at first. However, the big downside about my room with the view was the street noise from the trolley cars and the traffic. That was a BIG downside of my room. Beyond that my room was VERY nice, clean, modern, large, and comfortable.

I did eat at the restaurant , honestly GO OUT!!! Its not that great, not bad, just not great. I was just too tired to go for a walk.

The location is good, you are literally 5 minutes from China Town and 10 minutes from Union Square. Its a walk down the hill, the downside is the walk UP the hill. The hills are a killer, I took a cab back :)

My only main complaint was the concierge, was not the best. He didn't really have any good research on the city, I would encourage you to research places to eat/sights to do before you come.

The hotel is great, nice location, clean, and I would recommend it,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simpleohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The history of the hotel (and the area/Nob Hill) adds to the ambiance of this place. The hotel is very quaint, very welcoming and comfortable. The staff was awesome. The woman that checked me in actually walked to my room with me to verify it had been cleaned (I checked in early). She gave me the history of the hotel and the other hotels in the immediate area. The rooms were comfy and not too huge. The size isn't an issue. In fact I don't like over sized rooms-what's the point? Wasted space. The Aveda ammenities are nice to have as well. I didn't have any issues with noise as I was facing the inside (not the street). Sure, no view here but it was quiet. Parking was fine. It's also within walking distance to some great restaurants and coffee shops etc. Then again, pretty much every place in San Fran is a "good location". I really like being up on the hill. The ONLY reason I did not give this five stars was because I did not have the opportunity to eat/drink. I plan on staying here again and will be sure to enjoy the restaurant. Great place to stay! Easy to find/get to, and really comfortable with GREAT staff.

Room Tip: If you're worried about noise request a room that doesn't face the street. No view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookersclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

After much research, we decided on the Stanford Court mostly for it's location. The club level room was nicely appointed, but definitely on the small side for 3 people (we had a roll away for our son in addition to the king bed). Club level offerings were plentiful for breakfast- oatmeal, bagels, pastries, fresh fruit, along with juices and coffee/tea. The lounge itself was so pleasant-very bright with beautiful city vistas, and lots of tables and comfortable chairs. The afternoon snacks and honor wine bar featuring some great California wines was worth the upcharge in rates.

The close proximity to the Cable Cars was one of the reasons we chose this hotel, and it was fun to see them right out the window. It was also a quick walk to great shopping and dining down the hill to Union Square.

The parking charges were a little steep, but equivalent to any other big city. Valet and bell staff were very courteous and quick.

This is a solid choice in a city with many hotel offerings. Give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calypso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,061 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Property: Stanford Court San Francisco
Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing