We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hey I' m impressed !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #63 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just got back from a Very nice stay. This hotel is cool and user friendly. Free net in the lobby ,friendly staff..cool but not "too" cool ..Great location. I ' have been around..better than most for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,763)
There are newer reviews for Stanford Court San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,871 - 3,877 of 4,768 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Perched on top of a hill over looking san Fran this hotel offers a very warm welcome with the most comfortable rooms, there is a huge bar area (drinks can be a little on the steep side) almost as steep as the hills outside, shopping area is only 5 mins down the hill and the bay area is a lovely walk to get to, 99% of the staff are wonderful and kind and helpful but 1 person lets the whole team down there, you'll figure it out! Over all this hotel gets 9/! 0 from me it lost 1 mark because I'm lasy and hate the walk back up the hill to the hotel, a really must stay at hotel, great place!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

As frequent Marriott Awards (Platinum) member I booked this hotel for a recent business/pleasure trip . I received communication ahead of time by the hotel regarding my stay and any wishes. I had booked a suite reservation and requested a view and high floor. I arrived at the hotel and was first put in a suite on the 6th floor with a city view that was less than impressive. I contacted the front desk and expressed my displeasure....they reassigned me to a corner suite in the hotel front and facing the Intercontinental Mark Hote 7th floor. The room was a big advantage over the first room assigned however was located next to the service alley which yes the trash and delivery trucks came at all times of the night/morning! I asked to switch but was told nothing else was available! I ended up buying ear plugs to deal with the noise! The Concierge Club was nice but overcrowded which seems to be the trend of the Marriott’s I have stayed at of late. This property is a tourist trap with lots of pre-blocked foreign travelers and airline pilots and flight attendants alike. While it is well maintained I did not find my stay to be up to the rack rate I paid and certainly not up to Marriott Platinum Service promises. Will not be returning to this property and don't recommend it and you can do much better with other properites such as the Place Hotel by Starwood or the W Hotel which recognize their frequent guests and provide much better service /accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEProfenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Renaissance for one night with my husband. The rooms are just beautiful, and the Nob Hill area is a great location. We were close to cable car stops, Union Square was a few blocks away and we actually walked to the pier from our hotel. I'd highly recommend!

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't face the courtyard. Try to get an outer facing room of the city.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichiganMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

As everyone says, this hotel is in a good location. It is right on the trolley line so you can get down those big hills if you are not into walking. We were here for a wedding so the group rate was lower than published rates. The place was clean, the staff was very friendly and attentive, the food in the restaurant was good. I would highly suggest getting a room on the perimeter of the hotel. Our room was on the inside, with a court view, but all the noise from the car drop off just funneled right up to our room...the worst being that blasted whistle that is blown about every 30 seconds to summons the taxis from out on the street. Suggestion to hotel...have the doorman call for a taxi or go out to the street to blow that annoying whistle. We were unable to switch our room because the hotel was full. so other than the noise from down below the room and hotel were excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A reasonable hotel, but overpriced for the room we were given. But what's with this short-sighted decision to rip customers off by charging them obscene amounts for in-room wifi? I experienced the same thing at the Renaissance at Times Square, New York.
By no-one's standards can nearly $16 for one day's access be considered reasonable. And the hotel has the cheek to define "a day" as noon to noon. So if you log on at 11.45am, sorry for you!
This is short-term profiteering in the extreme. My response is simple - Renaissance has lost me as a customer, forever. I stayed in small-town motels in other parts of the US where free wifi was the norm. Catch a wake-up, Renaissance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I find reviews for SF hotels to be mixed. This was my 2nd time staying here. The rooms are clean and well appointed with nice bedding. The location is very good I think (at CA and powell). Easy walk to the financial district. It is about 1.5mi to Fisherman's Wharf - walkable but you must traverse the hills of SF. Cabs are pretty cheap in the city and the bellmen will call one for you. The staff is helpful. Given the price and rating of the hotel I expect it to be clean with helpful staff - it definitely met and exceeded my expectations. Downside is parking is about $50 per day (for valet)...it's a nice but costly feature. It seems most hotels charge a lot for parking in SF. There is also an offsite option that saves you a few bucks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euro_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#23 of 229 in San Francisco
3,278 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 229 in San Francisco
4,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $177 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing