We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go ahead and sign your name at the sidewalk!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katana-ya

Katana-ya
Ranked #591 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Union Square
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go ahead and sign your name at the sidewalk!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Don't even worry about having to wander around for awhile, but make sure you check the list from time to time! The ambiance is lacking, the space is smooshed, the service is EH...but when you take your first bite, you will come back again and again! Make sure you get the ramen at least ONCE, and Siracha is on request! Bon Apetit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank peelbuhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    123
    31
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
534 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Excellent ramen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Authentic restaurant with open doors until late at night, friendly and professional service and a wide menu with very interesting proposals. Food is excellent, ramen outstanding and huge! Price is appropriate, not expensive. It's a good choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheEmptyQuarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stopped in after lunch time to avoid the crowds, while I was staying at the Adagio hotel a block away on Geary Street. No problem getting a seat. I had a craving for ramen, and found a variety of ingredients and broths to choose from. My bowl of Katana Ya ramen was delicious, rich, filling and just what I was looking for. Service was quick and efficient but not unfriendly, and the bill didn't put a dent in my wallet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ToAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Yorj
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Supper yummy Ramen/Izakaya fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

You have to wait outside which can be annoying. The service was fast, not its not for a leisurely meal. The appetizer also did not come out first. But the food was great and fairly inexpensive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dansh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Average..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The food was very average and there was nothing special about it. Coming from Asia i am used to full flavor asian foods so i would say it wasnt great but it wasnt terrible. A Russian waitress though wasnt very helpful when my wife tried to ask for chicken in her ramen instead of pork so we told her to give us a couple more minutes. I then spoke to the Asian Server who said it could be done.. but it will cost $3 extra.. we said no problem. So if she troubles you, just look for an Asian who knows what he's doing. :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ineedsoftbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katana-ya also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Katana-ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing