We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better”

Crab House at Pier 39
Reserve with OpenTable
Crab House at Pier 39 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 5,741 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Transit: F-Line & #15
Description: Great view & SF's famous Dungeness Crab served in seriously addictive garlic sauce make us the go to spot on scenic Pier 39 for casual dining.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We ate herein Feburary we had the Crab for 2 and the crab cabonara and our daughter had the fish and chips all was really nice except the seating area was cramped and could have done with more space our meal with soft drinks for 3 came to $120 ( i ate most of the crab myself) so if you like crab you need to oder more than the recommended portions ) all in it was a good experience but would be better if you make a reservation and get a table by the window!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allistercole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    568
    240
    79
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hanford, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had wanted to try this restaurant multiple times but never did until are last trip to SF. I was disappointed with the food and the service. The food was nothing special and highly over priced for what we got. The atmosphere was nice and the drinks and appetizers were good. Overall, will probably never return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MistyLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lathrop, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Crab Crab Crab ~ Wonderful Crab !”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We choose the $110.00 Crab for sharing for our family of four and it was more than we could eat but yet the perfect amount and worth the money ! The crab is perfectly seasoned with garlic, butter, and seasoning, no need for dipping. It comes to your table with the legs all separated in a large pile on a hot griddle still sizzling. Wonderful experience, Great service, only negative is the small tables and small space but still very enjoyable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DirectThreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Crab House”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Food was AWESOME!!! We had a wait of about 30 minutes, but was well worth it! Everything we had was superb!!! Would definetly recommend this restaurant!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Puueo_Lineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality food”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my crab stew. The food was top quality although I think my eyes maybe too big for my stomach.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lxyflippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab House at Pier 39 also viewed

 

Been to Crab House at Pier 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing