We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nude Beach”
Review of Baker Beach

Baker Beach
Ranked #36 of 728 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mile-long Baker Beach lies at the foot of rugged serpentine cliffs west of the Golden Gate. Large waves, undertow and rip currents make the beach unsafe for swimming, but it provides panoramic views of the Golden Gate Bridge, Marin Headlands and Lands End. You can fish or check out the shorelife along the beach and rocky shoreline. Restrooms and picnic tables are nearby.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The views are gorgeous, and the sand is close to parking, toilets, etc. Be advised if you have small children, the closer you walk up the beach toward the Golden Gate Bridge, the more likely you will run into nude sunbathers. It was pretty shocking the first time we visited. But it is one of the best views of the Bridge you are going to find.

Date of experience: July 2011
10  Thank imagesbylonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"nude beach"
in 47 reviews
"beautiful beach"
in 34 reviews
"the golden gate bridge"
in 246 reviews
"clothing optional beach"
in 7 reviews
"great view of the bridge"
in 10 reviews
"coastal trail"
in 9 reviews
"china beach"
in 8 reviews
"marin headlands"
in 21 reviews
"the pacific ocean"
in 13 reviews
"sunny day"
in 12 reviews
"lands end"
in 8 reviews
"take pictures"
in 9 reviews
"nudist"
in 38 reviews
"waves"
in 33 reviews
"nudity"
in 13 reviews
"rocks"
in 31 reviews
"surf"
in 15 reviews
Filter

615 - 619 of 839 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

Before I go any further, I must clarify one thing: I am rating Baker Beach as a nude beach only.

If you're female and are going to Baker Beach for the nude experience, I strongly recommend that you wait until one of the very few really hot days of the year (by SF standards, that's about 90 degrees Fahrenheit). On those days, you will get larger crowds, which means more nudists and a M/F ratio that maybe approaches 70M/30F. All other times, when the beach weather is foggy and cold, the "crowds" are sparse, the M/F ratio varies from 80/20 to 95/5, and you can count on there being lots of clothed men ready to gawk at any woman who removes her clothes.

Male nudists will have no problems, though be prepared for the M/F imbalance. However, I would advise any woman going to Baker to do so in a swimsuit, and decide once you're there how much you will expose. My wife, who enjoys the naturist experience as much as I, now goes to Baker mostly to accompany me, and leaves her bathing suit on at all times.

Date of experience: August 2010
17  Thank UncleAl3253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

had a picnic here our first day .... i liked the view of the bridge and the sand was clean but kind of grey and dirty looking. nice view that is for sure ....... I liked the shower and bathroom building...easy to get to on the bus ...but warning a long wait for the number 29 to get you there ...my adivse is to walk the 4 blocks to del mar from geary bus stop on 25 th..............If you like lighter cleaner sand and a nicer ocean feeling then go to Ocean Beach

6  Thank rlmptl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2008

There are several access points on Lincoln Blvd for walking to Baker Beach. The Sand Ladder was really steep, and as I got closer to the beach, the sand started giving out (although the definite steps are thin wooden blocks), so I used the Coastal Trail (closer to the city) to get there instead as it was much smoother slope. From the beach, there are beautiful views all around: the city, the ocean/shoreline, and the Golden Gate Bridge. It was so peaceful just standing there watching the waves hit the beach. There weren't too many people, which was nice. I would definitely recommend sunscreen for going to the beach or spending any extended time in the Presidio with all the reflective water nearby.

7  Thank interviewtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baker Beach also viewed

 

Been to Baker Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing