We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep in Mind it's a Historic Hotel”
Review of Stanyan Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanyan Park Hotel
Ranked #152 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
338 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Keep in Mind it's a Historic Hotel”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here due to my husband having a procedure at UCSF Hospital. It was close to the hospital and one of the hotels they referred us to. It is a very old building, so yes it spelt pretty musty and the rooms were extremely small. I could of dealt with that, but the rooms all facing the inner courtyard there was no privacy at all. You could also hear everything going on in the other rooms. The only thing I really did enjoy was the fact that there was a bar, Kezar Pub next door, so I had a nice dinner and a couple of beers at the bar before heading back to the hotel for the evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rcjetskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    80
    48
    22
    18
See reviews for
44
70
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A historic hotel, takes you back in time. Desk staff very friendly. Rooms are small, as one would expect for a historic hotel. Room was clean with a flat screen TV. We had a double bed, desk, chair and room to walk around. We stayed there four nights and enjoyed it. Breakfast was very good a notch above most hotel/motel breakfasts. Wi-Fi did not work in room, but did at desk and breakfast room. Desk person said they are currently working on updating it, should be much better then. For an old country boy and girl from the hills of Ohio the price was quite high but reasonable for San Francisco, we understand.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wil43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel one night, and was excited to stay in a SF historic property...will never go back. This place is on the National Register of Historic Properties, looks great from the outside, but the inside hasn't been updated in many, many years. I felt like I was walking into the hotel from the Shining. The front desk staff was ok, definitely not the friendliest. When we entered the room the smell of bleach, old stale cigarettes, old curtains and old carpet was very evident - a musty, funky odor. The pink carpet was dirty and stained, and scratched furniture belonged in a cheap antique market. The whole place was just, ugh...especially considering the $200 + / night price tag. The continental breakfast was just OK. Good location next to the Park, but I think that this hotel only wants to cater elderly folks who are visiting family in the hospital - not the 30-something couple on vacation. Don't expect this to be a cool, vintage, or neat place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This charming but dated hotel is located about 3 blocks from UCSF which made it convenient for visiting my son. There are only about 3 hotels really close to the hospital. I first called The Carl Hotel and the
receptionist was really pleasant. She said the hotel was next to the metro and the outside noise
was rather loud to light-sleepers. The rates at the Carl were half the price of the Stanyan Park
Hotel and they gave a discount to UCSF visitors. She said that the Stanyan also gave a discount
so I called them. They first said that they are listed online as giving a discount to UCSF people,
but they didn't any longer. They had one room left on a Saturday afternoon that I was told was a
deluxe Queen room in the middle of the hotel - a very quiet room. The price was almost triple what the Carl Hotel quoted, but in desperation I booked the room so I could be close to my son at the hospital. When I first saw the room I was very disappointed. The room was very narrow,
and small. It was only large enough for one person, and I didn't understand why they said it
was a deluxe room. The furniture was too large for the room, the bed was uncomfortable, and there wasn't any
air-conditioning. There was a window that was open, without a screen that served as the air-conditioner. The room was musty and warm even when the outside temperatures were in the 70's. While it was clean, it certainly wasn't
worth the $175!!!!

They did serve a continental breakfast in the morning that consisted of some packaged muffins,
yogurt, some fruit, and coffee. The breakfast room was quaint, and I enjoyed reading the newspaper and having coffee but wasn't impressed by the food.

While the room was mostly quiet, I did hear people walking down the halls throughout the night.

The best thing about the hotel is that it is close to Golden Gate Park, the Haight/Ashbury district, and the hospital. There
is little street parking available, but there's a parking lot about 3 blocks away,

If you have a car, and don't need to go to the hospital, or do business in the area, I would stay further out of town where
the parking isn't an issue and where you can get a better hotel value.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any king sized beds available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The staff is friendly. Clean. It's next to Golden Gate Park and in the middle of town. Charming location but the place appears to be run a little on the cheap with slow Wi-Fi, tired furniture, old beddings, motel-ish continental breakfast etc.

Just a heads up on the area (which is not the hotel's fault), there are legions of homeless and vagrants nearby -- at Golden Gate Park and on the sidewalks very close to the hotel. But it is also a fun, interesting area right next to Haight Street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisazona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very pleasant staff, clean and quiet, directly across from Golden Gate Park and a block south of Haight St., during our visit the ice machine was out and the staff didn't seem particularly interested in meeting our need/request for it (for a swollen knee from walking), but suggested that I could go down the street to the Irish pub for some.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, don't get a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTuckG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here one long weekend in May and it turned out to be the perfect place for this visit as we were attending a wedding in Golden Gate Park. Our clean room was small, just one tiny window, and it was in a quiet area. The bed was OK, but a bit tired. Still, it was all we needed for we were out and about every day: one day walking up and down Haight Street exploring some of the great vintage clothing stores and of course Amoeba Music, another day walking into Golden Gate Park with visits to California Academy of Sciences and to the Arboretum. If you want to see some of the best Victorian architecture San Francisco has to offer, that, too, is easy and enjoyable walking distance from this hotel. Hungry for lunch or dinner, you have many restaurants to choose from as well as a Whole Foods a block away where we bought freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruits, and bread/bakery goods to supplement breakfast and for snacks. The best meal we had was dinner the Thursday evening we arrived when the food trucks were parked across the street. The baos we had from Chairman Bao were superb. We especially recommend the duck. Another great thing about the Stanyan Park is the STAFF! Really nice, friendly people--everyone was extremely helpful. On the so-so end of the spectrum: the breakfast wasn't great. Lots of white bread and bagels, small sugary pastries, watery juice, and OK coffee. Our room could have used some updating, or at least a new window shade which would have done a lot to improve the look. And, yes, the hotel is in an area where many homeless people live. If you are at all uncomfortable with this, then this location is not for you. And if you are looking for upscale shopping, better to stay in Union Square.
I gave the hotel a 4-point rating, but in reality it could be a 3.5. or maybe 3.75. With an improved breakfast, and a little freshening up of the rooms, it would be a very good, and with new beds an even excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigeon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#100 of 228 in San Francisco
463 reviews
Haight-Ashbury
The Metro Hotel
The Metro Hotel
#30 of 228 in San Francisco
465 reviews
The Richmond
Geary Parkway Motel
Geary Parkway Motel
#114 of 228 in San Francisco
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn & Suites San Francis...
#160 of 228 in San Francisco
126 reviews
Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 72 in San Francisco
108 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#19 of 228 in San Francisco
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanyan Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanyan Park Hotel

Property: Stanyan Park Hotel
Address: 750 Stanyan St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanyan Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Stanyan Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanyan Park San Francisco
Hotel Stanyan Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing