We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Victorian LLC

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Victorian LLC
Save
You added Red Victorian LLC to your Saves list
Ranked #26 of 75 San Francisco B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Had a great time. Stumbled onto this place while looking on yelp for a place. It it is a bare bones place but makes up for the lack with great atmosphere. Your basic needs will be met and if you keep an open mind, you'll learn a lot about yourself

Helpful?
3 Thank dbfridley
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    53
    27
    7
    19
See reviews for
21
64
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you want an upscale bed and breakfast, this is not the place. If you haven't experienced the Haight, this may not be the way. It is a very busy street during the day, with lots of fun, unique shopping and restaurants. At night it's a bar crowd with lots of, mostly, friendly homeless. The shared bath room was clean, but no shower. Had the feeling of sleeping in someones house that you don't know.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are noisy. No shower?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cctraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've read many of the reviews on the Red Vic before writing this and agree that the Vic may have some comfort issues with shared bathrooms, dust and the odd springy mattress. But you do pay bargain rates for a youth hostel style of accommodation. And it is totally unique. The culture and 'hippy' ambiance of the Red Vic hasn't changed over nearly a decade. It's staff are passionate believers in making the world a better place and work there for more than money. Very interesting guests gravitate to the Vic, and unlike other hotels, they actively encourage you to meet and bond with others. In our short stay we felt warmly welcomed and valued as visitors to a community of people.

Room Tip: So many to choose from! Each has a theme and are wonderfully decorated. My tip is to look at the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The owner has over the years evidently transformed this former doss-house into a landmark bed and breakfast and "peace" centre in the teeth of myriad financial, family, staff and legal problems, the details of which are all revealed in the ubiquitous in-house literature. This competes busily for wall and table space with the owner's peace posters, poetry and paintings, all of which are for sale. Though any non-guest looking to use the downstairs bathroom is met by a very unpeaceful and unloving "No Pay No Key" sign. My daughter and I stayed in the playground room, charming if a little dusty, however the bathroom opposite was dirty. A partly clogged shower stayed clogged with fallen hair from our arrival to departure despite several requests for it to be cleaned. Perhaps the point of places like this is that we should have cleaned it ourselves. The overriding impression of the Redvic is more hard-nosed entrepreneurialism than Summer of Love and in that context, less merchandising and more housekeeping would have been welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterFosterKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I've always loved San Francisco and even though I've visited there many times before, I never made it to Haight-Ashbury area. I'm sure other reviewers do a better job in describing the place in general, but I can't praise the staff enough. They really made everyone feel welcome and I felt like being long-life friends with many of them (Hi Kate & Danielle!), hoping to see them again soon :)

Unfortunately I missed the weekend breakfast discussions, but loved sunday meditation class after so many years. Tango lessons sound great too. Maybe it's San Francisco, the Height or the Red Victorian, but within just few days I met so many interesting people on the streets and at the Peaceful World Café.

On my stay, I managed to try out two different rooms and especially liked the Flower Child. There was a separate tour on which I managed to see plenty of other interesting, unique rooms.

I totally recommend visiting this place, do some soul searching and perhaps meet new people altering the path you're currently walking on

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aetfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

First off the location you can't beat! Especially if you want to meander up and down Haight street all day and your room is so close by. Myself and my 16 year old sister stayed here one night and felt fairly safe and comfortable. Fun experience for us. I would recommend using the parking lot a few blocks away, just be sure to drop it off before dark as you have to walk past the park and a little sketchy area. Service was very nice and friendly, we were down in the cafe when they were closing up and they offered us the left over muffins of the day. They were yummy so I bought one the next day for breakfast. They also offer free coffee or tea for anyone staying there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The price of the room is pretty awesome considering you are 100 yards from Golden Gate Park. You are also walking distance to almost anything from this point. It is half as expensive as staying next to the airport if you plan on traveling, plus they provide free breakfast and coffee in the morning. The hotel is full of wonderful art from Sami Sunchild, the owner of the hotel. This is truly a wonderful place to stay! HOWEVER, if you are not comfortable with shared bathrooms this isn't your place...all the bathrooms are shared...not that the bathrooms are attached to your room and some stranger is right there while you sleep, but the bathrooms are down the hall and you may have to wait for someone to finish taking a shower. This isn't a big deal for myself but I'm sure some people may not be comfortable. To that I say "WELCOME TO SAN FRANCISCO!"

Room Tip: The Peacock Room if you have a party of 3 or more. There are three beds and a wonderful interior dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#156 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 75 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 75 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Luna San Francisco Castro
#17 of 53 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
The Richmond
Geary Parkway Motel
Geary Parkway Motel
#110 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 75 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Victorian LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Victorian LLC

Property: Red Victorian LLC
Address: 1665 Haight St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2840 (Formerly Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast & Art)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Victorian LLC 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is not your typical hotel! Staying at The Red Vic is more like coming home to family and friends than checking into a hotel. We are a community that values collaboration, participation, and connections. We ask you to fill out a profile so we can share that information about what you're up to with other guests and residents, facilitating interactions and collaborations. This is a participatory space, and we hope it will be a platform for your creative projects and ideas. What do you want to create? The ground floor is a member-supported 3rd space for projects, gatherings, events and activities. There is a communal kitchen that is always fully stocked with food for everyone to use. Guests are also encouraged to attend or host an event. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast And Art
Red Victorian Bed, Breakfast & Art Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing