We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a nice stay, clean & comfortable.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Gate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Had a nice stay, clean & comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2006

This hotel is conveniently located on Bush near Powell where you can catch the cable car to take you to any sights you want to see in San Francisco. The parking garage across the street was also convenient and less expensive than most in town. The room was nicely decorated - very simple, tiny tv, tiny bathroom. We were on the 4th floor which was a little warm the 1st night (no a/c) but finally did cool down late in the evening with all the windows open all night. We did not get a chance to interact much with other guests or the staff/owners - although checking in was easy and quick. We did not try the breakfast which appeared to consist of a croissant & tea (in our experience a B&B would have served a full meal for breakfast - so that was disappointing). Pip the cat was funny, following us up in the old elevator & into the room & out the fire escape each day. The price was great - especially compared to other places in town. Highly recommend Uncle Vito's Italian food across the street on the corner- excellent food at astounding value - especially the chicken fettucine alfredo! Also recommend touring the Liberty Ship Jeremiah O'Brien and the Sub Pampanito - great fun and very interesting.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank C-monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    212
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
108
375
54
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk River, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2006

We recently stayed at the Golden Gate Hotel for two nights. We booked it based on reviews from the TripAdvisor site, and we were not disappointed. The room was clean, and the afternoon cookies were great. We enjoyed the breakfast on our first morning, however we ventured down Powell to Sears Fine Food on our last morning in town. I highly recommend checking Sears out as well. We look forward to going back to San Francisco, and we plan to stay at the Golden Gate Hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jasonbB5782MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2006

My friend and I stayed there for 10 days in May and we were very happy with the place. They have the best beds, duvets and pillows, breakfast is very good and the people there are very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located two blocks from Union Square. We would definitely stay there again if I went back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank icollot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2006

Great location, great price, but the greatest thing of all is the positive energy that goes there. Really a place where you feel comfortable and happy. Owners and staff very friendly and helpful as I have never seen in any other hotel. Pip the cat and Humphrey the dog are so sweet you want to stay there a couple more days just to be with them. Rooms decorated with antiques - I love it! and very, very clean. Our bathroom was very clean too. Oh, and they serve the best croissants for breakfast. I left my heart in San Francisco and some day will come back. And, of course, will stay at this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ASSDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2006

This hotel is just what you want. Its more for couples, singles, and groups traveling together rather then a family hotel. I say this because the rooms are simple, and comfy, but there are not a lot of amenities for kids there. They serve a great simple continental breakfast where you sit together with other guests (if you can't handle that - eat out). The owners are sweet and very helpful. Parking garage is easy in and out on other side of street and less expensive then staying at bigger hotels where you valet. Will stay again.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank kirk20003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2006

We have just returned from our second visit to this lovely B&B. We would not have considered anywhere else. It is good value, conveniently situated and the staff could not be more helpful. The relaxed atmosphere means that guests can meet up and chat in the large hallway area during breakfast or tea. The tea is especially welcome after a hard day's sightseeing!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FinnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2006

I booked this hotel based on reviews here on triparvisor. Traveling with my husband and 2 kids, age 9 and 13, we stayed in 2 street facing rooms on the 4 th floor for 3 nights. They were charming. Wicker and antique furniture with great San Francisco bay windows. The rooms are very cozy and the bathrooms small, but if you want to have the real SF experience...this is the place. If you want a large room with cookie cutter furniture...stay somewhere else! Down comforters and pillows on the beds were nice, too. Street noise was there, but not really an issue and no more than you would expect in any large city.

Parking was a breeze at the garage directly across the street and a very reasonable $18 a day. Breakfast was coffee, tea, juice and croissants. Afternoon tea was homemade oatmal raisin cookies and orange tea. Nice to come home to after a day of adventure. The hotel had a laptop that was great for checking out restaurants and booking reservations. Lots of SF travel books in the parlor to check out, too.

The antique elevator and Pip the cat were also an added bonus.

As far as location, it is the best. Half a block away is the cable car stop and 2 blocks away in one direction is Union Square and the other direction is China Town. We bought 3 day cable car passes and rode them everywhere. We really only needed our car to drive out to the Richmond District to visit a favorite restaunt of ours, Pacific Cafe (best fresh fish in the City) and to the Exploritorium (great for kids and kids at heart) , the Zoo (don't miss the tiger feedings) and the Golden Gate Bridge. One morning we took the cable car down to Washington Square to watch the tai chi in the park and have breakfast at Mama's (the best breakfast anywhere!)

San Francisco is a favorite of ours having lived there in the late 80's for 4 years. We have stayed at many different hotels visiting each year and would not hesitate to stay at he Golden Gate again. It was a very friendly, clean and inviting hotel. LOVED the location.
Our last trip we stayed at the Orchard on the next block that also has a great location, but will never return based on the general uncaring attitude of the staff. Also, parking there is $30 + and they use the same garage as the GG.

Yes, we left our hearts in San Francisco!!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jet Nag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Property: Golden Gate Hotel
Address: 775 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in charm, and character that evokes a feeling of a by-gone era, the Golden Gate Hotel is a favorite amongst new and returning guests alike. Centrally located just steps from Union Square and the enchanting ringing of cable cars, experience exceptional personalized service that makes this inn not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing