We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, lovely B&B, highly reccomend”
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Gate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

A lovely B&B, antique lift adds charm, lovely old pictures on the wall, nice clean rooms. Very well located in San Francisco, very close to public transport, the cable cars, and a short walk to City Square, and a little longer walk to Pier 39 but still very pleasant.
A nice little touch is the big bowl of american jelly beans at the top of the stairs on the ground floor as you go up to your room.
Parking can be accommodated in the parking lot across the road.
We left our accommodation to the last minute, as we were playing our road trip by ear. The helpful staff could fit us in for one night and then kindly phoned a B&B 6 doors down where we were accommodated for the rest of our visit to San Francisco.
We will be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 748 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have stayed at the Golden Gate the past few times we were in San Francisco and found it to be one of the delights of our trip. The old hotel is full of color and character and even has a serene golden cat, Pip, as a greeter. Our room and bath were spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with quaint furnishings and nice touches. The clientele here is lively, but generally quiet and considerate late at night and in the early morning. Breakfast is offered in the downstairs parlor and the croissants are fresh and scrumptious! Historic photos of life in old S.F. cover the walls and transport guests to the turn of the century, while the grilled elevator is a living antiquity in itself. Staff are friendly and helpful as tourists choose from the wide variety of activities and sights in this world capital. In all, the Golden Gate is just a lovely addition to our visits.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotters910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My best friend and I chose this hotel for its great value and location and we're so glad we did! Upon arrival, we were greeted by Spencer who gave us a tutorial on the antique elevator and helped us with our bags up to the room. He also gave us the low-down on the resident cat, Pip, telling us he usually visits 4 or 5 lucky ladies a night. Pip is adorable and we hoped he would visit with us at least once during our 4-night stay. As it turns out, we were Pip's "chosen ones" (in the words of Spencer when we checked out) because Pip spent 2 whole nights with us!

We chose a room with 2 twin beds and a private bathroom. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. On the day we arrived, the city was experiencing some unusually hot weather and we called down to the front desk to ask for a fan for our room. We had the fan in less than 10 minutes...incredible service!!

The location of this hotel can't be beat! It's less than a block from the Powell cable car and 2 blocks from the California cable car. It's 6 blocks from the BART station to/from SFO (you can take the cable car down Powell) and within walking distance of Chinatown. The continental breakfast in the morning was a nice treat and gives you an opportunity to chat with people from all over the world. One morning, the owners' dog, Cookie, was in the parlor. I think this is the happiest dog I've ever met!

I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaConda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a great stay in San Francisco and particularly enjoyed our accommodation at the Golden Gate Hotel. It is well located with good access to transport and popular neighbourhoods. We stayed in room 407 , it was excellent with a very comfy bed and quiet. Breakfast was lovely with delicious croissants and muffins served with fresh orange juice and coffee. A very character filled comfortable stay. It felt like a home away from home. Easily recommend to any travelling couple.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember072520171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited the Golden Gate Hotel for only one night as we were passing through San Francisco. We arrived a little late...around 6:30 pm. You must push the buzzer at the door to gain entry; this is a good security feature. We were met by Seth who was very welcoming and helped us with our luggage and taught us how to use the 100 year old original elevator. It is a little tight getting luggage into it. He told us that tea and cookies are served between 4 pm and 6:30 pm but he would make sure that he extended the time for us. I am glad he did because the oatmeal cookies and tea really hit the spot after a long road trip. We enjoyed them in the little parlor where the continental breakfast is served.

We were also greeted by two others, Pip the cat and the dog of the owners. The dog, sorry I didn't get his name, was visiting, but Pip is a full time resident of the inn. The inn was built in 1913 and pretty much everything is original to the place. It is a very quaint, cozy establishment with tastefully decorated rooms. Some rooms have private baths and others have shared baths. The bathrooms have claw foot tubs and many rooms have bay windows. Our room had the feel of 1913 with a few modern amenities such as free wifi. Our TV was tiny but we didn't go there to watch TV so we didn't mind. We had a large bed with a comfortable mattress and nice linens; we had no trouble sleeping.

The next morning we went down to the parlor for breakfast and we had wonderful service and tasty croissants with tea, coffee and orange juice. Strawberry jam and orange marmalade was served as well. Everyone was friendly. Make sure that you get your parking pass validated if you drive in, the parking lot is across the street. There are a few parking spaces in front of the inn but must feed the meter except between the hours of 6 pm and 6 am when free parking is available. Seth told us that parking is enforced and tickets are issued if you don't feed the meter.

We enjoyed our visit and would highly recommend this little gem in San Francisco! Oh and I bought one of the T-shirts too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hrpamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This B & B hotel is centrally located only one block from the cable car line. The owners were very friendly and accomodating with directions and restaurant recommendations. The service was excellent. Breakfasts were continental, but the croissants were delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This place was great - especially what we needed after a long road (bicycling) trip. Clean, comfortable, and cozy. Our trip could not have ended more sweetly. I will definitely recommend the Golden Gate Hotel and I am looking forward to my next visit here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,474 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 230 in San Francisco
4,102 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#68 of 230 in San Francisco
1,718 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Address: 775 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $172 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in charm, and character that evokes a feeling of a by-gone era, the Golden Gate Hotel is a favorite amongst new and returning guests alike. Centrally located just steps from Union Square and the enchanting ringing of cable cars, experience exceptional personalized service that makes this inn not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing