We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miss it!”
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Gate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Miss it!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a pleasant four nights stayed here. Been to a couple of hotels around the world but this is the only hotel that has left very fond memories. Haven't had shared bathroom for years, it's quite an experience but no issue at all. A very homely place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mint777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    219
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
112
384
56
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great atmosphere, friendly welcoming owners, very comfy bed and good breakfast. Great place to stay, near to shops and attractions. complimentary wifi was a bonus and the big ginger cat was lovely though not overly friendly. other staff were friendly and helpful too. A very homely kind of place so especially good for the solo traveller. Good value, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jub07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the end of June 2012 for 3 nights. We have fond memories of Pip the cat and pots of peppermint tea made by Halim when we came back from our days adventures. Halim is a real asset to the establishment. This B&B was friendly, a warm atmosphere was created by the staff which flowed to the interactions between guests. The room was compact but suited our needs. The only point we'd suggest for improvement would be some variety from toast and croissants at breakfast e.g. some fruit or cereal. The presence of the animals (we only met the dog on our last morning) helped to make the place more homely for us animal lovers. We thought it was good value for money and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZaraMarque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We spent three nights at the Golden Gate. It was a great experience. The staff has to be the friendliest hotel staff I have ever met. They all went out of their way to help us, from moving luggage to standing outside on the street to find our taxi to offering great local restaurant and pub tips. While we only got to enjoy it once, the hotel offers tea and cookies in the afternoon.

The hotel is inviting, especially with the friendly cat Pip in the lobby. Generally, he just ignores the clientele coming and going. There is a lovely ancient lift that takes you up to your floor if you wish and the hallways are covered in framed black and white images from SF's past. Our room was on the back side of the property and was clean and had plenty of space. Our private bath was small but clean and the shower plenty hot enough.

Breakfast was excellent, although continental. The coffee was strong and the croissants warm and filling. Uncle Vito's Italian across the street on the corner was a perfect late night dinner after a busy day.

For our first trip to SF, it was fantastic to find what was really a Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the city, just down the (steep) street from Nob Hill and close to the cable car and bus lines. We much prefer the laid back personal touch of a hotel like this, rather than four or five star chain hotel. Seems to be popular with the European travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Gate Hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The front desk staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room was small but had a little shower and a sink and the bathroom was down the hall. Pip the cat stayed with us 2 nights in a row and he is a very sweet kitty but if you dislike cats don't stay here because he will knock on your door at night if you've been selected and he will most likely beg food from you during breakfast.

In terms of amenities, it is extremely close to Powell St. where you can walk downhill to Union Square and all the shopping (and hordes of tourists) you may desire, you can also catch the Powell-Hyde trolly here or go down to Market/Powell to get it at the starting point.

Please be weary of people who seem like they work for the trolly company, as we saw a man who would ask people if they had tickets and lure them away from the line and inform them to walk up to the next stop to hop on the trolly and then request payment for the information. Also note that the Tenderloin district is just off of Powell St. near Market St. and you will want to avoid that area, especially after dark.

All in all for what we needed it was a good stay that allowed us to see a different SF neighbourhood, that allowed us to catch the BART, Busses and Trolly to all our destinations. If you're looking for a place to just sleep, this would be a good place to do it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FidgeFodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City MI
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Almost hate to tell too many others about it; what a gem. My room, clean and fresh, had a sink and a shower. The toilet 20 ft down the hall also had a shower and was shared with two other rooms, but I never had to wait. Delightful breakfast and breakfast room. Kind, helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loulou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

For those unaware of this type of lodging, San Francisco is populated with all the name brand grand scale hotels. But it also has a good amount of these smaller established spots, many three and four stories tall, with maybe 20 rooms. They almost look like row houses, but have always been commercial accommodations. There are some that are very new down by the Westfield Mall. Golden Gate is in the Knob Hill area, and is one of several on Bush Street alone. What sets it apart is the ambiance. The cat and dog are just as much a part of the life as the staff (engaging but not overpowering), the birdcage-style elevator, and the breakfast of fresh baked croissant rolls, preserves, and drink, as well as afternoon tea. Another great feature is the number of people from other parts of the world. Since everyone dines together, friendly exchanges are inevitable. People don't generally come to San Francisco to sit in their rooms. They come to see the sites and experience the many great things a great city like this has to offer. If you are one of those who have to stay in the lap of luxury, don't waste your time reading further. If, however, you like fun and are open to a place that is nice but a bit off beat-- more like a bed and breakfast than a 5 star-- then the Golden Gate Hotel just might be the place for you. Like us, I'll bet you come back again and again.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the street have better air flow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docmartin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,235 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 229 in San Francisco
1,192 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
470 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Property: Golden Gate Hotel
Address: 775 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in charm, and character that evokes a feeling of a by-gone era, the Golden Gate Hotel is a favorite amongst new and returning guests alike. Centrally located just steps from Union Square and the enchanting ringing of cable cars, experience exceptional personalized service that makes this inn not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing