We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bet in San Francisco”
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Gate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best bet in San Francisco”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Here for a day to see this city. Home style hospitality, friendly atmosphere. Close to Union Square and great restarants in the area. This 100 year old hotel is modern witty free wifi and quaint with a three claw footed tub. As one guest shared with me, this is the only place he stays in San Francisco. Check it out for yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TerrySchaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    216
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
111
381
56
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas (near Houston)
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Charming family-run hotel. We had great rooms and service - one reviewer mentioned the view, but we were having too much fun to worry about that - the resident cat visited our room (at our invitation) and the resident dog would great us in the morning. I have recommended this place to several friends who have all enjoyed their stay as well. Close to Chinatown and and easy walk to cable cars. Do yourself a favor and give the big chains a miss and stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrasworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damariscotta, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I recently had a wonderful stay at the Golden Gate Hotel. From the moment we arrived we felt at home. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful and the other guests were delightful. We were given great tips for ethnic restaurants, the location was outstanding and the bed was very comfortable. We would not hesitate to return if we have the opportunity to travel back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madurai86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here several days in March and were warmly welcomed by Halim and all the staff members. It was centrally located, walking distance to cable car, Union Square and Chinatown. It was charming and we loved the unique touches of the antique elevator and decor.
My only suggestion would be to add some fresh fruit and yogurt options to the delicious muffins and croissants at breakfast. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebFC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was friendly welcome late at night, and the whole stay was a real pleasure. The room was small but very cosy, with a fluffy down. Nice to come back "home" to a cat and homemade cookies. The people running this place are very kind, so are the customers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights -- was in for fun and a work conference. Rooms are small but very comfortable. I had a room at the back (away from Bush Street) which was quiet. Location is ideal for Union Square -- there is a cable car stop on the corner! Staff were amazing -- always ready to help with directions on how to get to your destination or with a recommendation for restaurants or activities. Breakfast was croissants (the almond ones were delicious!)/muffins and coffee or tea. They also had an afternoon tea with fresh baked cookies. Pip (the resident kitty) helped to make it feel more like home. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights while he attended a work conference at the Moscone Center. It is a very quick walk to the financial district and Chinatown--we loved the location. The rooms are small, but very charming and clean. The staff is SO friendly and helpful. On our last morning, we rented a car to drive out to Muir Woods, and they offered to fix us up with coffee, muffins and croissants to go (we accepted!). We just got back two days ago, and I have already recommended this hotel to a friend who is traveling to San Francisco soon. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Save money by choosing a room with a shared bathroom--we never even saw the other people from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melanie4118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,078 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
1,145 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Property: Golden Gate Hotel
Address: 775 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in charm, and character that evokes a feeling of a by-gone era, the Golden Gate Hotel is a favorite amongst new and returning guests alike. Centrally located just steps from Union Square and the enchanting ringing of cable cars, experience exceptional personalized service that makes this inn not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing