We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great b&b” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Gate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

GGH is a great bed and breakfast. Pip greets every patron but hardly moves from the fireplace! The employees are helpful in navagating the city and great with recommendations. We have met some wonderful people over breakfast and high tea! Definately worth looking into if you come to SFO!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joeut1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    209
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
105
371
52
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
843 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,078 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Golden Gate for 3 nights and loved it.
The Golden Gate is in a great area close to Union Square, Chinatown, shops, restaurants,bars and the cable car.
We had quaint but small rooms at the back on the 3rd floor which were quiet, clean and had lovely decor.
The bathrooms were tiny but but clean.
The king size beds were comfortable as were the pillows.
The rooms had TV and free Wi Fi which worked better in reception.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the resident cat and dogs were a joy to be around.
Breakfast was tea/ coffee/ OJ, muffins and croissants in the communal dining room go early as there is a queue.
All in all this is a lovely place to stay and we would all highly recommend you stay here when in San Francisco, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel on the upper floors as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I and my extended family have been coming to the Golden Gate for years, and I can't recommend it more. Several of my nieces and two nephews have met Pip, the resident cat, my sister and her family have stayed there as did my late mother. It is very people friendly, and I have yet to have a bad experience. It's location is perfect for Union Square, Chinatown or the cable car line. It is only about a half a mile from the Powell BART station for the carless guest, and there is a convenient garage just across the street for the driver. On my last visit I was alone and noticed how easily the other breakfast guests and hosts included me in their conversations. A wonderful interlude in a busy round of Christmas visiting!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I found this wonderful B & B (not a hotel really) more than a decade ago because I was charmed by the idea of the cat (!) and have stayed there every visit since, whether coming from Colorado, Dubai or Kazakhstan. I have friends in the Bay area and choose to stay at the Golden Gate and pay so I can experience the city rather than take a free stay in East Bay. I have never been disappointed. The rooms are Old World comfortable, the breakfast fine and given to conversation with other guests, and the hosts could not be more welcoming. On one stay, the cat even chose to sleep in my room (I am an ailurophile). The location is ridiculously great: close to Union Square, Chinatown, Grace Cathedral and more. I could go on forever about this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I loved the Golden Gate Hotel and we highly recommend it. The proprietors were warm and friendly, the orange cat 'Pip' was always there to greet us. Our room was fresh and clean, the bed had a comfortable mattress, cozy down quilt and squishy pillows. We stayed in a room with a shared bath, but never had to wait and the bathroom was always spotlessly clean. The warm croissants and muffins in the morning, served with butter and jam and excellent coffee and tea were the perfect way to start the day. In the afternoon there were oatmeal raisin cookies, and I loved the jelly-bellies on the stairway shelf. The whole ambiance was wonderful, from the antique elevator to the interesting collection of photos on the hallway walls. The location is perfect, just a few blocks from China Town, Union Square and Bart. The Golden Gate is definitely a San Francisco find.

Room Tip: Rooms with shared baths are on the side of the building and ours was very quiet and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhessdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you're after an authentic San Francisco experience, this is it. Beautiful european-style B&B with really friendly owners. It has a real home from home feel - the tea is served in teapots with tea cosies on and there's even a cute hotel cat called Pip! The location is superb – close by to some good restaurants (try Roxanne's on the corner nearby the hotel), and the waterfront is only a couple of blocks away. The street is quiet and clean. Three tips for an authentic experience: 1. Go and see the cabaret show Beach Blanket Babylon. 2. When you go on a tour of the Redwoods, book with an independent company (the Golden Gate will let you know the details) 3. Walk, walk, walk everywhere!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salgal701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having now come back to this hotel on holiday for the 4th time in 5 years it's only fair to write a review on how good this place is.
It's location is perfect - only a few blocks up from Union Square and a few yards away from the cable car line it is far enough away to be a quiet retreat - especially with a room at the back.
Although it's a hotel it has the intimate B&B feel with a continental breakfast and teas and cookies in the afternoon which gives a chance to talk to other guests and share their experiences.
San Francisco is an amazing city and this place makes it all the more special, can't wait to go back and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else if we did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,580 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,621 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Property: Golden Gate Hotel
Address: 775 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in charm, and character that evokes a feeling of a by-gone era, the Golden Gate Hotel is a favorite amongst new and returning guests alike. Centrally located just steps from Union Square and the enchanting ringing of cable cars, experience exceptional personalized service that makes this inn not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing