We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“European Hotel Experience in San Francisco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Gate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“European Hotel Experience in San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was our second stay (the other --- 15 years ago) and it was well worth going back. This is a small "hotel" (actually a B&B) that has a very European flair and ambiance. The staff is great, the breakfast is wonderful, and the location (close to Union Square) is very, very convenient for exploring downtown San Francisco. Only negative is that the rooms tend to be a bit small for American tastes --- but very charming and adequate for most folks. A great value while staying in downtown San Francisco.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_Langhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    212
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
108
375
54
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Pass, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights over the labor day weekend. We stayed on the first floor in a room with a queen sized bed and a huge claw foot bathtub. We were within 5 minutes of Union Square and there were several good restaurants within a couple of blocks. If you are looking for a hotel with 500 rooms, this place is not for you. If you are looking for a small, quaint place with a lot of charm and very helpful staff, then stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and it was at the back overlooking a garden. I did not see any other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDTQuemadotx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here March 2012 for 3 nights. Excellent value . The staff were very pleasant and were happy to answer questions about restaurants etc. The croissants in the morning were fresh and the cookies and tea in the afternoon a homey touch.Go to the Malaysian restaurant and the Thai restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliabritishcolumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We are returnig guests to this lovely hotel, although seven years had passed since our last stay, it felt like it was only a month ago. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by Halim, the evening concierge, and we immediately felt welcomed and at home. The next morning during the busy breakfast we met the owners' daughter Gabriele for the first time. She did her best to accomodate the many early risers who all headed down to the lobby for the tasty coffee and croissants, unfortunately all at the same time...it took a little caffeine and patience to be seated. The property is ideally located, within walking distance to many attractions and the cable car is just a half-street away. We love this place and would return yearly if it was only closer to our Montreal home...the afternoon tea and oatmeal cookies will have to wait, pity.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edouardhenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown,pa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We just returned from Labor Day weekend holiday with our 11 and 15 yr old, and had a great stay at the Golden Gate Hotel, walking distance from entrance to China Town and cable cars. The room configuration with one room queen and another with 2 twins sharing a bath with us and access to a hall bath too was perfect. Beds were super comfortable, buiding historic, charming and pristine. Kids loved the elevator. Pip the cat visited us regularly and every morning when the very charming, hands on owners came to serve breakfast, their very well mannered lab came too and visited. I am not a dog person but this dog is very nice and the kids were thrilled. Warm staff, delicious croissants and muffins(though some fruit or other healthy choice would be great too, but that's nitpicking a perfect experience!) included for breakfast with oj, coffee, tea. Afternoon tea with cookies lovely too. Thanks for a great experience in a lovely city.

Room Tip: tell them what you ideally want and they will make it happen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peoplesfamilytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I really enjoyed staying for three nights at this lovely old fashioned b and b. Rooms are clean and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast is good with as much coffee as you want although there is not much space. However space soon becomes available and it is great for talking with fellow travellers. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at The Golden Gate Hotel for two nights and would definitely stay there again. It's almost like staying with the family. The rooms are small but cute and very clean. We ended up having long conversations with the owner and manager over breakfast and afternoon cookies. The location couldn't be better, we walked everywhere - from Chinatown to the Fisherman's Wharf. No need to rent a car at all.

Room Tip: We couldn't get a room with a shared bathroom which are considerably cheaper and ended up with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Property: Golden Gate Hotel
Address: 775 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in charm, and character that evokes a feeling of a by-gone era, the Golden Gate Hotel is a favorite amongst new and returning guests alike. Centrally located just steps from Union Square and the enchanting ringing of cable cars, experience exceptional personalized service that makes this inn not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing