We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, convenient”
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Gate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 73 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cute, convenient”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Small hotel, charming decor, breakfast included, and resident cat. Nice. Oh, also an elevator that's about 100 years old! My room was very clean, and charmingly decorated. The shared bathroom was just down the hall. Breakfast was a bit busy but they let me take mine up to my room to work. I liked that. In general the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have great street views but my room on the back was quiet. I expect there is a toss up he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    215
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
110
380
55
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you are looking for a flat screen tv, or a safe, go elsewhere. If these things are not high on your list of priorities, then you can't go far wrong with the Golden Gate.

The room was spacious, sparkling clean and had a very comfortable bed. The location was fantastic, the staff friendly, and the décor charming. Pip the cat is a real sweetie.

The only reason I've given a 4 rather than a 5 is the flaky wi-fi - it doesn't reach beyond the 2nd floor. As it's pretty cheap and easy to have a repeater station, there isn't really an excuse for this nowadays.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mebanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Did lots of research for hotels in San Francisco knowing that as we were travelling in June it could be expensive. My fiance found this little gem having read a book by a well known English car show presenter who recommended it, so decision made. We were not disappointed. It is not a 5 star deluxe hotel, but a quaint bed and breakfast with a fantastic old fashioned lift and creaky stairs up to the 4th floor where our room was. The breakfast area is small but a great way to meet other residents. It's in a perfect location in the city, with everything easily accessible.

Will definitely use this place on our next visit and look forward to seeing Pip the cat again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SM_travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We just returned from 4 day family vacation in SFO with two teenagers. Stayed at the Golden Gate Hotel. WE LOVED IT! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Check in and check out went smoothly.
Hotel employees all friendly and helpful.
Daily breakfast was perfect, at times a bit crowded. It always worked itself out.
Great location. All the shopping you could ever want just a few blocks away. Good access to public transportation. The Powell-Hyde cable car was always difficult to catch. We used other modes, like buses and street cars. The California CC line was always easy to get on. Highly recommend a 3 or 7 day Muni Passport.
Dining near hotel: Highly recommend - Uncle Vito's, Persimmons.
Rooms: Perfect, my wife and I stayed in one room and we put our two teenagers in another.
Rooms were clean, WiFi worked great and cool bathrooms. The cat visited our room several times a day.
Great experience, highly recommended.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center. We walked our way in SFO to fitness. We had a room on the first floor f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Well situated on Bushstreet , a near 5 minutes walk from ChinaTown and a 10 minute walk from Union Square with a (valet) parking across the street , we chose this hotel for its location and positive reviews.
To be honest, the overall experience was a little disappointing ( for me as wel as my wife) perhaps because of the (obviously too high) expectations.This hotel is in fact a bed and breakfast, which it says so on a plate outside near the entrance. with a very tiny space across the receptiondesk, with 2 tables (for 5 persons each) where you could enjoy the complementary breakfast (orange juice with croissants and pastry)together with other guests. In the morning the small hall was therefore always crowded with guests who had to wait for a place at one of the two tables.We didn't like this concept and made use of it only ones.
Reception(by the manager) was very friendly and helpful.We were on the 4th floor.You could get there by taking the creaking stairs or the really antique double doors 2 person elevator.Room was small. Bath room ditto.Had an old fashioned bathtub with a curtain that couldn't close completely as a result of the construction.The twin beds were fine. Room was though clean, a little outdated .There was a small tv that worked fine, but no fridge,safe or coffeemaker. We didn't have a street view but a backview, nothing worth writing about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchrob01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I selected this hotel because of the positive reviews and was not disappointed. Friendly, helpful staff, great location and a unique feel about the place. OK the rooms were a little small but there was everything we needed and we were lucky enough to have a shower in our room. The nice about an intimate setting is that you get a chance to interact with other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyandAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel is an old house that has been converted into individual rooms and suites. We opted for a room with a shared bathroom, but never had trouble waiting for a shower. There was a sink in our room and a comfortable bed, reading lights, TV, etc. The room we stayed in was small, but we didn't pay much for the location and the safe, charming atmosphere. There is a tail-less cat that lives in the hotel (but does not bother you if you're not a cat person), fresh cookies each afternoon, and croissants, coffee and juice for breakfast. I wish we could have stayed longer. Convenient to BART, easy walking distance to many attractions, yet not in the heart of the tourist zone itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Property: Golden Gate Hotel
Address: 775 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in charm, and character that evokes a feeling of a by-gone era, the Golden Gate Hotel is a favorite amongst new and returning guests alike. Centrally located just steps from Union Square and the enchanting ringing of cable cars, experience exceptional personalized service that makes this inn not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Golden Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing