We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly atmosphere”

The Italian Homemade Company
Order Online
Ranked #7 of 218 Quick Bites in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Reviewed March 27, 2019 via mobile

We had lunch here, and ate at one of a handful of tables in this tiny family restaurant. Don’t let the size of the restaurant fool you, though, this place packs a powerful flavor punch, and the service is friendly. We had Caprese Flatbread and tortellini and we even added an extra order of the fresh flatbread! This was a great lunch with a fun mix of local guests and tourists. Order at the counter and grab a seat (if you’re lucky) at the window to enjoy people watching as you wait for your meal - there are also a couple of outdoor tables if the weather is nice and you’d like to eat outside.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Shannon0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 707 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2019 via mobile

Typically on my first day in town, after traveling in from the airport, I walk around China Town and Nob Hill. I often just walk into a place to eat. I’ve heard about this place and read reviews so it was a no brainer. Service was great, and quick. And the food was fantastic. Lots of choices so take your time looking over the menu.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank mattamus23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2019

We accidentally ran into this restaurant. The food tasted authentic, warm, tasty, and Italian to me. The restaurant also had some other ethnic beverages and items, also some old furniture. Also, the service was friendly and quick. Very modest prices.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aime A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019 via mobile

This is the freshest pasta we’ve ever had.
It’s really really good.
We did the pick a pasta-pick a sauce.
And the meatball platter.
It’s all really good.
Don’t miss this place.
Locals eat here.
And they are super friendly.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 407janetg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019

The pasta is amazing and the tiramisu is divine. We dined at The Italian Homemade Company this past weekend. I enjoyed every dish that my sister ordered. The place is casual but the pasta is so delicious. In addition to all the fresh pasta, must try their tiramisu, it's excellent and not too heavy. Really enjoyed my visit!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 3ChrisT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Italian Homemade Company also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The Italian Homemade Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing